We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful room and view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton to your Saves list
theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   201 N. State Street, Chicago, IL 60601   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Park and Chill Savings
Ranked #38 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Lexington, Kentucky
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful room and view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Here in Chicago for a weekend.Attended a concert at the beautiful Chicago Theater .TheWit is a very short walking distance.I would definitely stay here again because of the very friendly staff at the front door,the front desk, the cleaning staff, and the concierges.I got the junior suite with king size bed and a couch that folds out.The room is beautiful and very modern and the view from my big window was spectacular especially at night.Breakfast downstairs was excellent, yummy egg white omelet with kale,squash,and goat cheese .Excellent stay with easy access to L train and Gino's East Pizza.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager201, Guest Relations Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Becky D, Thank you for taking the time to review theWit Hotel Chicago. We are ecstatic to hear that you were able to enjoy all that theWit has to offer including our great suites and breakfast at State & Lake Chicago Tavern. Our excellent location makes it easy to enjoy all the great local attractions and flavors of the city. We cannot wait to welcome you back to theWit! Warm Regards, theWit Guest Relations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    808
    377
    130
    44
    32
See reviews for
219
462
88
422
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Bend, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

My husband booked this hotel for our first wedding anniversary and we were treated extremely well during our stay. We arrived to Downtown Chicago at 1:30pm, and to our delight we were able to check in early! We had requested a room overlooking michigan avenue and the chicago theater and got a corner room with both! The service was excellent- anytime we needed something from the front desk we had it within a few short minutes. We enjoyed the ROOF (get there when it opens if you want to sit down) and room service before check out! We would DEFINITELY stay here again. Thank you so much theWit for an incredibly memorable first anniversary!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager201, Guest Relations Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Tony C, It is our pleasure to have hosted your stay while you were celebrating your 1st Anniversary! We hope it was all that was expected and more. We are thrilled to hear our Staff was able to make it as special as possible, and that you enjoyed ROOF and our great In-Room Dining options. From everyone at theWit, we thank you and wish you the happiest of 1st anniversaries! Best Regards-theWit Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon Hills, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

we frequently attend events at the Chicago Theater which is within feet of the the Wit. The location is great for all of the mag mile including restaurants. Check in is efficient and all staff including valet, bellmen, desk and housekeeping are some of the best I have experienced anywhere. State and Lake restaurant provides room service which actually delivers on time.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager201, Guest Relations Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Paul W, Thank you for reviewing theWit Hotel Chicago! We are elated to hear that you were able to enjoy our convenient location as well as all the local attractions. We thank you for choosing theWit and look forward to your next return visit. Best Regards-theWit Guest Relations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

I really enjoyed my stay. The staff was courteous, pleasant, and helpful each time I saw them. They were also very responsive, and extremely professional. The room was clean and very nicely decorated. The linens and pillows were AMAZING.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager201, Guest Relations Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Shekida S, Thank you for your kind words about your experience at theWit Hotel Chicago. The staff is thrilled to hear your wonderful review. We look forward to welcoming you back soon to theWit!- Best Regards-theWit Guest Relations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

The desk staff was great. Danielle was so friendly and helpful. Joel at the concierge desk was most helpful helping us get great tickets to the Chicago Theater to see Jeff Dunham. Only negative - the eclectic looking sinks in the room were sloppy and shallow.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager201, Guest Relations Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Janice, We would like to thank you for taking the time to review theWit Hotel Chicago. Danielle, Joel, and the entire staff are glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us. We hope you were able to thoroughly enjoy our great location right next to the Chicago Theatre. Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Warm regards, theWit Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Absolutely loved our stay at theWit! Great contemporary hotel with a fantastic location and service. My wife and I came in from the suburbs to celebrate our 25th anniversary and had a blast. The roof-top bar was a fun place to people watch and enjoy the phenomenal views. The Concierge, Sean, was wonderful and did a great job of making us feel welcomed...including snagging us reservations at a popular restaurant at the last minute. Would definitely recommend upgrading to a suite. So nice to have a room to spread-out after a long day/night of enjoying the city.

Room Tip: Roof-top club is loud. Wouldn't recommend staying on top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager201, Guest Relations Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Mikeintheburbs, Thank you for taking the time to review theWit Hotel Chicago. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our great location and fantastic ROOF. Sean is humbled by your kind remarks and proud of the great service provided. Once again, we thank you for choosing theWit and we cannot wait to welcome you back soon. Sincerely, theWit Guest Relations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

I will be returning! The most kindest team of hospitality professionals I have every met! I truly mean that! From the curb to my room, I was impressed with their efficiency. Made to feel like a celebrity. Spacious and comfortable room and bed. I plan to come back with my family! My colleagues from New Orleans thanked me for the best experience and location. Please check out the restaurant State and Lake, good food. Go the roof, the views are spectacular. Location, Location, Location. I thought being near the train was going to be a problem, it was not at all!

Room Tip: The rooms in the teens have the best views of the Chicago River, Skyline and Gold Coast Area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager201, Guest Relations Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear Steffie62, We are so pleased to read your kind words about your experience at theWit Hotel Chicago. Thank you for recognizing the talents of our staff as we do consider them all valued employees and we are very lucky to have them on our team. I look forward to congratulating all of them on your behalf. We are thrilled that you enjoyed State and Lake Chicago Tavern and ROOF, elected Top 3 Rooftop Bars in the World by Travel & Leisure Magazine. We eagerly look forward to welcoming you back soon. Sincerely, theWit Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton

Address: 201 N. State Street, Chicago, IL 60601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#23 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#24 Business Hotel in Chicago
#31 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#46 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
theWit is intelligently renewing one of the original "It" locations on the corner of State (the great) Street and Lake. Its history is rich with artists, theatre people, journalists and musicians as it is nestled between the theatre district and the river. Blending the amenities of a resort with the flair of a boutique hotel, theWit has brought a new energy and vitality to the downtown Chicago Loop. Striking design, unparalleled comfort, and remarkable services create a dramatic sensory experience. This is a destination for anyone who gets "It" or at least wants to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thewit Hotel Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.