We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel with a great rooftop bar...poor internet speed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton to your Saves list
theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   201 N. State Street, Chicago, IL 60601   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Park and Chill Savings
Ranked #38 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
635 reviews 635 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
250 helpful votes 250 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel with a great rooftop bar...poor internet speed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

I love staying at The Wit when I am in town. It is a great, swanky hotel with a lot of character and a wonderful rooftop bar (great in summer and winter). The wireless internet is extremely slow and kept disconnecting me which made it quite tough to work in the room so that should be improved. There rooms are also a bit noisy but it is a city so it is to be expected. Overall, if the internet speed could be improved in the rooms, I would give it 5 stars. Hopefully it gets better by the time I am back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    808
    375
    130
    44
    32
See reviews for
219
460
88
422
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

This hotel is promoted as being a 'boutique hotel'. Really, it is pretty ordinary, and somewhat overpriced. The staff was excellent, friendly and helpful. Things we expected to find in the room: luggage racks, refrigerator (not the minibar), and coffee maker, were not. The location is excellent. A mixed review.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager201, General Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear JS7301970 ,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of our hotel. I am not quite sure what you were looking for as far as a boutique hotel? Our clientele place us in the Boutique category; but you are correct that a 300 room hotel is not quite boutique. We certainly offer much more than a boutique hotel experience and hope that you were able to enjoy our restaurants, spa and rooftop lounge.

In regard to your expectations of the in room amenities, we do have coffee makers in every room (located next to the mini bar) and refrigerators are available upon request for our standard rooms. Many of our suites and upgraded accommodations have kitchenettes which may be more suitable for you if you choose to stay with us again.

Thank you for your comments regarding the staff, I will share them accordingly. We hope to see you again if your travels bring you back to Chicago.

Sincerely,

Ryan Kingston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stayed this past weekend while visiting our son who is currently studying in Chicago. We were greeted curbside by a friendly and very attentive valet staff. The escorted us to the front desk where we were greeted by a very welcoming attendant who promptly offered us their signature warm chocolate chip cookie. We were shown to our room which was very nice and comfortable. After an afternoon of shopping on Michigan Ave. my wife and I returned to the hotel and decided to take in the view from the 27th floor lounge. The views were stunning and again the staff was very friendly and attentive . We had a wonderful breakfast at the lobby restaurant , State & Lake which was very tasty. Overall, we were very happy with our stay. The only negative was the price of parking at $56/ night which is more than we have paid at comparable Chicago hotels.

Room Tip: We stayed on the ninth floor which was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager201, General Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Tim S,

Thank you for your feedback and comments regarding your stay in Chicago. I am glad that you enjoyed the food and services throughout the hotel. As well, that you were able to enjoy the views form ROOF.

Unfortunately, the parking expenses in the local market continue to escalate and we are charged accordingly. I hope this does not deter you in the future. If at all possible, the hotel is convenient to both airports through the train system which deliver you to our doorstep. This may be an option for you next time?

Once again, I am glad that you enjoyed your experience and hope you will come back and visit us soon.

Sincerely,

Ryan Kingston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

What an amazing hotel! Alex was such a great person to arrive to after a long day of work and travel. He was just so pleasant! Alex made sure I knew all about the roof top bars, where I could grab a bite to eat, etc. The Wit is convenient to everything-the perfect part of town.

I also really appreciated the follow up-I feel this hotel wants to be the best they can be.

I will definitely be staying there when I visit Chicago.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager201, General Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear cm n,

I truly appreciate your comments about your stay at theWit. Yes, we continue to strive for perfection in an unpretentious manner. I will pass along your comments to Alex and am glad that you had the opportunity to meet him upon arrival.

We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Ryan Kingston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Stayed at The Wit while in town for a conference. Very hip and trendy hotel that was perfect for my needs. What I really needed, though, was an early check-in as my meetings started around noon and I was landing at O'Hare just after 9 AM from the east coast. Needless to say I was going to be tired and needing to refresh before my day and night of meetings, etc. Front desk wasnt able to promise anything until my day of arrival, but when I called early that morning I was told that I could guarantee a room upon my arrival if I "downgraded" from a king-bed to 2-queens. That was fine, so I took them up on the offer and everything was great from there.

Had 2 meals in the hotel and all of the food was delicious. Echo others sentiments about the ROOF bar being cool and had no issues of my own w/the elevators, so I cannot speak to that.

Would recommend.

Room Tip: My room was on the 14th floor and had no issues w/noise from any sides (top/bottom/neighbors/hall) o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I really enjoyed staying at this hotel. The location is ideal, the brown, purple, and pink subway stations are literally out the front door, and only 2 blocks away from the blue line (which you can take to/from O'Hare).

The staff, Danielle, Joel, and others were very friendly, helpful, gave great restaurant recommendations, and greeted us everytime we walked through the door.

We had a great time in Chicago, IL and being at this location helped us experience Chicago very easily.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I visited Chicago this weekend and stayed at theWit...it was fabulous! I used a pretty big chunk of my Hilton points but have to say it was well worth it.The Staff was awesome from the time I arrived and that continued throughout my stay. The corner King Spa room on the 14th floor overlooking the Chicago Theater to the left and a canal with expensive yacht's to the right...not to mention the great view of the Architecture all around was beautiful especially at night.

The bed was comfortable and the amentities in the bathroom were very functional. I loved having a huge tub and walk-in shower. Had the Spa turn my bathtub into a little oasis...they brought a variety of pack of Eucalypts oil, bath salts and body moisturizer that was nice. This was a little on the pricey side (about $35 + tip) for the amount of products that were given but it was an experience...wouldn't necessarily order this all of the time but enjoyed the serenity.

The Staff was knowledgable about the area and gave some good recommendations and directions on how to get there. The Concierge even helped me buy tickets to a live comedy show (Cedric the Entertainer & Friends at the Arie Theater). The Rooftop Bar was nice and the drinks were really reasonable however the techno house music really isn't my thing. The bar/club had that Vegas feel and would have probably been more enjoyable for me if I was with a group or significant other...but I was a table for 1 this weekend! It appeared to have some interesting menu items too for a club. The decor and ambience was nice!

I eat at the restaurant twice it was pleasant. Can't say it was the best meal of my life but overall pretty tasty! Elle was awesome!

So anyway, definitely two thumbs up to theWit! The location is great...I walked pretty much everywhere and when I did have to take a taxi, it was always within $10-15 each way.

S/O to a few people:
Jonah - Bell Hop
Elle - State Lake resturant
Kyle - Front Desk
Christopher or Christian - Valet

Thanks for an wonderful weekend!

Room Tip: Corner rooms/suites have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton

Address: 201 N. State Street, Chicago, IL 60601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#23 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#24 Business Hotel in Chicago
#31 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#46 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
theWit is intelligently renewing one of the original "It" locations on the corner of State (the great) Street and Lake. Its history is rich with artists, theatre people, journalists and musicians as it is nestled between the theatre district and the river. Blending the amenities of a resort with the flair of a boutique hotel, theWit has brought a new energy and vitality to the downtown Chicago Loop. Striking design, unparalleled comfort, and remarkable services create a dramatic sensory experience. This is a destination for anyone who gets "It" or at least wants to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thewit Hotel Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.