We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice (and busy) place inside the heart of Chicago.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton to your Saves list
theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   201 N. State Street, Chicago, IL 60601   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Park and Chill Savings
Ranked #38 of 176 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A nice (and busy) place inside the heart of Chicago.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

A nice place inside the heart of Chicago.
Good room size. Good furniture quality. But nothing out of the extraordinary.
Everything was clean and tidy.
The in-room mini-bar contains a lot of fun stuff.

The wifi is only free in the lobby. Otherwise you have to pay to access it from your room.

The bathroom is classy, and the shower big.
But, the one in my room has a mostly clogged drain.

The staff is very helpful. They are always ready to help with everything.

This hotel is a highly popular place, mainly for his top terrace at night.
So, be ready to encounter a lot of traffic inside those walls.
The lobby can be pretty busy from time to time.
But, the room levels are always quiet and calm (room level are locked with the room pass).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager201, General Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Martin T,

Thanks for taking the time to post a review of our hotel and to provide some specific areas for improvement. I am also pleased to learn that you found our mini bar items Fun! I appreciate the comments and we will look into the bathroom shower drain immediately.

We hope to see you back at theWit if your travels bring you back to Chicago.

Best regards,

Ryan Kingston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    848
    391
    133
    44
    33
See reviews for
227
484
90
437
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

This hotel is lovely. It is in a great, great location. It has a rooftop bar with incredible views of the skyline and Chicago's best dressed (We were there on a Friday night in the summer and it was packed). The room was clean, well-appointed with a great view.

These are all reasons to bump this property to the "very good" or "awesome" category but I could not get over that I could tell you scene by scene the drama that my neighbors were ensconced in. First the fight, yes there were raised voices but they were not screaming. We heard them getting ready for dinner, the blow dryer, the TV and then later in the evening when we returned from our night out we could hear their nighttime activities and I guess I am happy they made up! Nonetheless it did not give us the comfort that we had any privacy and that was unnerving for a romantic weekend. Maybe it was because our room had an the two way door that could be opened to adjoin?

I liked the property and will probably give it another shot-hopefully in a quieter room!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager201, General Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear SalsaPicante78,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of theWit hotel. I am pleased to learn that you found the location to be "great" and you enjoyed your experience at ROOF. Yes, Friday and Saturday nights create a lot of energy around the hotel and we enjoy hosting Chicago's best dressed.

On another note, I am sorry to hear about your experience with your neighbors in the adjacent room. I sincerely apologize if their behavior impacted your experience. We do have a guest conduct policy in place and would have been happy to contact the guests and provide a friendly reminder. We do not typically receive negative comments about connecting doors; however, I will make sure we visit the room to verify the soundproofing is in place and has not been disturbed.

I do hope you will consider theWit when visiting Chicago again and allow us to ensure you have a terrific stay. Please feel free to respond to my note and I will have our Guest Experience Architect follow up with you personally.

Sincerely,

Ryan Kingston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collinsville, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

This is a clean safe place to stay in Chicago. The hotel staff is helpful and very accommodating. The restaurant has a varied menu and the food is hot and delicious. The rooms are clean and quiet. The bedding is crisp and comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager201, General Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Rita K,

Thanks so much for your review, it is greatly appreciated! Chef Evan will be pleased to learn that you also enjoyed the food during your stay.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Ryan Kingston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Top Contributor
235 reviews 235 reviews
227 hotel reviews
Reviews in 126 cities Reviews in 126 cities
271 helpful votes 271 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

You are a block from the blue line (train to the airport). You are a block from Wacker (a main drag). This is a good hotel - good location. The rooms are a bit small - but it's Chicago. The finishes are nice. There is a well-known rooftop bar - perhaps the only rooftop bar in the area. The lobby is tight but efficient. Cabs are available and service is excellent. Restaurant is good and not terribly overpriced.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager201, General Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear sbccc,

Thanks so much for your review, we are glad that you found our location adjacent to the blue line convenient. Many of our guests utilize public transportation to beat the traffic in Chicago.

I hope you had a chance to see the incredible views from ROOF on theWit. If not please make it a priority on your next visit as it is rated #3 in the world by Travel and Leisure magazine.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Ryan Kingston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

When attending a convention the Chicago Hilton sold out all of the rooms offered at the group rate and sent us to the Witt. We needed to be in a certain location. The price was $100 more a night. When checking in another couple told us the elevators were a nightmare. Wasn't sure of what they meant until I tried to get ice on the next floor. They are key operated but it doesn't always work unless you are going up. Also the maid service was not very good and the air conditioner fan would never shut off when on auto. The upstairs bar might be okay for foo-foo drinks if you are under 30 but not for an after dinner drink - it was not stocked very well at all.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager201, General Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide some feedback about your recent stay at theWit. I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience the elevator security system may have caused during your stay. It is intended to provide a higher level of safety and privacy for our treasured guests.

Unfortunately, we did have an issue the past few days with one of the card readers. It was replaced yesterday and the other elevator card readers were also serviced.

I hope this experience does not prohibit you from giving theWit another try. I assure you I will follow up on your comments about the housekeeping services and your HVAC fan.

Once again, thank you for your comments and we hope to see you again while visiting Chicago.

Sincerely,

Ryan Kingston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Stayed at The Wit in early July for the first time and loved it. The hotel has a very trendy vibe and great location for sightseeing, shopping, and dining. I ate in the hotel restaurant for dinner and breakfast which was very good. The bartender was very helpful when I inquired about different beer choices. She asked me what I usually drink and then gave me a taste of a beer she recommended. For breakfast I decided on the eggs benedict which is athe BEST I have ever had anywhere...a must if you like eggs benedict!
We requested a room on a higher floor so we would not hear the train which was honored. The room itself was a nice size & nicely appointed. I didnt visit the spa however I did work out in the gym which was very clean & has a good array of machines. I could see the ESPN building and watched a basketball emerge from the building and sign autographs for the waiting fans.
The Roof bar was showing a movie the night we were there which was a very cool! How amazing to sit on the roof of a hotel and watch a movie with approx 100 other people in a very relaxed atmosphere.
Love this hotel and cant wait to return in Sept for Chicago Gourmet!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager201, General Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Jazzy310,

Thanks so much for your comments about theWit hotel. I am very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your experience; and most importantly that you are returning very soon. Hopefully, you will have the opportunity to visit the spa as it continues to receive rave reviews from our hotel guests and local clientele.

It is very exciting to hear that you enjoyed the movie night at ROOF. This is part of a series of events programmed to provide a different experience for our hotel guests that we are very proud to present. ROOF has become world renowned as a Rooftop bar; however, many people do not realize that there is something exciting and engaging happening every evening. Whether it be movie nights, Runway fashion shows, an acoustic guitarist, or now our NFL football on Monday evenings. Please check the website to see what is happening during your next visit.

Thanks again for the kind words, Chef Evan will ensure the Eggs B are up to your standard!

Ryan Kingston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

The hotel elevator is a nightmare with how you have to use your room card to get it to work. The room sinks are ridiculously long, so you are sure to get your clothes wet when you use it. The fridge is on sensors so you can't put your own items in it without being charged for moving things--you need to order another fridge from the desk for your personal items. Silly? Employees constantly bother you going in/out of the hotel because of the rooftop bar, which has long line around the side of the hotel to get in. NO POOL, NO SAUNA, NO STEAM-ROOM. There is cheap furniture and lights by the elevators on each floor, but no chairs as you wait for the elevator--and some goofy bird sounds playing in the hallways. The Renaissance Hotel across the street has an awesome indoor pool. Interestingly, the hotel windows open, so you catch catch the Windy City winds and storms which was pretty cool.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager201, General Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear PD L,

Thank you for your comments about our hotel. It is unfortunate you found our elevator security system challenging and I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused during your stay. It is designed to ensure your privacy as a guest in the hotel. I am also sorry to learn that you found the mini-bar system a nuisance, as it is intended to enhance your stay since we do not have to bother you to inventory the contents and charge your account. As you have noted we do offer complimentary refrigerators upon request and I hope this satisfied your needs.

You are correct, we do not have a pool; however, we do have an award winning spa that may suit your needs in the future.

Once again, I apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced, and hope that you will consider theWit when visiting Chicago.

Sincerely,

Ryan Kingston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton

Address: 201 N. State Street, Chicago, IL 60601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#26 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#27 Business Hotel in Chicago
#27 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#50 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
theWit is intelligently renewing one of the original "It" locations on the corner of State (the great) Street and Lake. Its history is rich with artists, theatre people, journalists and musicians as it is nestled between the theatre district and the river. Blending the amenities of a resort with the flair of a boutique hotel, theWit has brought a new energy and vitality to the downtown Chicago Loop. Striking design, unparalleled comfort, and remarkable services create a dramatic sensory experience. This is a destination for anyone who gets "It" or at least wants to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thewit Hotel Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.