We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing after a long business day” 5 of 5 stars
Review of theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton to your Saves list
theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   201 N. State Street, Chicago, IL 60601   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 169 Hotels in Chicago
Arlington, United States
1 review
“Relaxing after a long business day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

This is a really lovely hotel; clean, well-furnished, EXTREMELY comfy bed, great location in the city. I was there for a quick business trip and was pleasantly surprised at how relaxed and comfy I was. The room size was good too. Although I didnt get to take advantage of this "hip" place; had I had more time, I would have loved to check out the rooftop.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    764
    338
    122
    39
    29
See reviews for
203
441
82
388
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Champaign-Urbana, Illinois
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

This is a beatiful, modern hotel in the perfect location in Chicago. It's right by the State/Lake L station & The Chicago Theatre close to Michigan Ave, Navy Pier, etc. The staff were among the most friendly & helpful I've ever experienced. The room had a great view, trendy design, & was perfectly clean. Another benefit to staying at this hotel is that you have front of line privleges to go to the rooftop bar. The drinks are overpriced, but it's a fun & classy club atmosphere with beautiful views of the city. I will definitely be returning to theWit!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager201, General Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
We appreciate your candid feedback and are glad you enjoyed your experience at theWit and in Chicago. Come back soon!

Ryan Kingston
General Manager
theWit Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

This hotel was amazing. The spa king room is a perfect size and the bathroom was perfect I am very particular on bathrooms. The spa tub was perfect and the separate shower. The view of are room was great. The big King bead was so comfortable. N an amazing large TV. During are stay only upset was this hotel did not have free breakfast. Not even bagels or anything. But that's ok Are stay was great I would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jacksonville, fl
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed here the week of July 4th and couldn't have picked a better hotel. Despite having a lower level room (7th floor), the noise from the El was not a problem for our family. The city offered so much excitement for us that we slept soundly in the comfortable beds without ever hearing the din from the nightlife. The location was perfect, within walking distance of Millenium Park, the Riverwalk, and Michigan Avenue. We actually walked back from Museum Park, through Grant and Millenium Parks as well as from the Hancock Building down Michigan Avenue.
Though the room had a refrigerator, it was for the Hotel-offered snacks and beverages. We called the front desk and a refrigerator was delivered to our room for the duration. The room also had a coffee machine and hair dryer.
I visited the gym several times while staying here. It offers filtered cold water (Bring your water bottle) and clean towels. Several cardio machines are a available, 1 workout bench with sets of dumbbells up to 50 pounds. Also offers a separate room for 'yoga' which many used to warm up and for post-workout stretch. It provided yoga mats, foam rollers and a large workout ball.
The room was very clean and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The concierge helped us with recommendations for local favorites, local transportation to Wrigley Field, and reservations for the River Architectural Tour.
The hotel provided us with a daily credit toward breakfast at State and Lake. Though the breakfast was pricey, typically, we paid $16 out of pocket toward the difference and tip for a family of 4 (2 adults and 2 teenagers). There is a 24-hour Dunkin Donuts just around the corner on Lake Street and plenty of grocery stores around the area.
We also received free wifi. I believe this and the breakfast credits were because we are HiltonHonors members.
We didn't bring a car so I can't speak about the parking at all. One would NOT need a car at this hotel. The El, subway and bus are right outside the hotel.
We also only visited the Roof to check out the view so I can't speak of that.
We saved our Hilton points to help pay for this stay so I'm not sure of the actual price for this hotel.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking to visit the City. Thanks for a fantastic stay in an awesome city!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Great location, well appointed rooms, loved the welcome cookie. The breakfast was tasty. Have stayed here with work several times now. The towels have been a little dated, the spa service has been below expectation but nonetheless it's a very good hotel in the heart of Chicago. The rooftop bar is fab with really great service and a great snack menu.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chester county
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

A hip Hilton Doubletree hotel. Nice rooms, good staff. The overly teched up phones are a dark spot. Touch screens with a zillion features, none of which I need. The worst part is that I touched something and couldn't get a dial tone again. 15 minutes of screwing around with no results.

I do not need to have a learning curve with a hotel phone. I need to be able to pick it up at 3am and get a dial tone.

Also I never got my wake up call.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WILLOUGHBY, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

the Wit in chicago is the reason we come to Chicago every year..the hotel staff from the valet guys to the front desk are just top notch..we had a slight problem, and i mean slight, but the manager on duty corrected the problem fast and went over and above. i could go on forever about this hoted..highly recommend. thanks all at the Wit for a great stay!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton

Address: 201 N. State Street, Chicago, IL 60601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#22 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#23 Business Hotel in Chicago
#28 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#37 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
theWit is intelligently renewing one of the original "It" locations on the corner of State (the great) Street and Lake. Its history is rich with artists, theatre people, journalists and musicians as it is nestled between the theatre district and the river. Blending the amenities of a resort with the flair of a boutique hotel, theWit has brought a new energy and vitality to the downtown Chicago Loop. Striking design, unparalleled comfort, and remarkable services create a dramatic sensory experience. This is a destination for anyone who gets "It" or at least wants to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thewit Hotel Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.