We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For a drink at the rooftop bar, yes, for business no” 3 of 5 stars
Review of theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton to your Saves list
theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   201 N. State Street, Chicago, IL 60601   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Park and Chill Savings
Ranked #36 of 172 Hotels in Chicago
Singapore
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“For a drink at the rooftop bar, yes, for business no”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

That's a very fancy hotel for sure. Except that I was there on a business trip...
Wifi is not free (only in lobby), there are no slippers in the room, not even a spoon (hotel management obviously wants to discourage guests from bringing their food from very nearby Walgreens), no complimentary bottle of water (only $6-Fiji), bathroom is design-ish but not convenient with the very shallow sink and super heavy shower head.
Telephones are also fancy but so bright and glowing at night I have to cover them with the room-service menu.
On week-end nights, 2 of the 4 lifts are privatized for the rooftop bar, too bad for hotel guests, have to wait!
Overall, very convenient location for my work (and for jogging at Millenium park too) but more trendy than convenient, and it does not come cheap with all the extras.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    775
    349
    123
    39
    31
See reviews for
206
446
85
398
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Weston, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I had 10 executives at meetings at the Wit Hotel for 2 days. Very good organization by the staff at the Wit. Food was great and meeting room was clean and quiet and we were well take care of. I would recommend this hotel to both large, medium and small business groups.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Fantastic location and a warm welcome on arrival. I was over in Chicago for work and the hotel ticked all the right boxes. I would have given the hotel 5 stars but a couple of small things let us down during our stay; my colleague did not have their room tidied and I am always thrown off when Wifi is not included in the package. I am aware most US hotels don't offer this service and my response is always why? For a few extra dollars in the overall rooms charge I would be much happier as opposed to having to pay for 24 hours access. Its all about perceptions.

I visited the gym each morning and it was a great way to see the City wake up. Cold Water and Fresh fruit were also a bonus as they were on hand to have after my workout.

This was my third visit to Chicago and I would happily stay again if I were on business but inclusive Wifi would be great!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We had the opportunity to stay here for four nights while visiting Chicago and overall it was a smashing good time.

Staff: Wow, the management and training team do an excellent job of ensuring a consistent service level. Staff everywhere—front desk, concierge, bell stand, even people in the elevator!—were incredibly helpful and friendly. The same goes for the staff in State and Main restaurant.

Facilities: The place was very clean and looked brand new. Even though they have a hip rooftop bar (which attracts hipsters and d-bags who line up outside) they keep those people separate from the guests so it's never a problem getting to your room.

Highlights: Fitness center was great. I loved watching the elevated trains out the window. Staff was outstanding. Restaurant on the ground floor was not only beautiful but the food was excellent and the staff were outstanding.

Areas for improvement: Some of the rooftop guests get a little out of control. I had to take the elevator down with some guests who clearly had too much. I thought I’d get drunk off the smell of them!

Finally, the key card system on the elevator is the biggest mistake in engineering since the Tacoma Narrows Bridge! At least three times I ended up back on the ground floor because the person trying to get the card in (sometimes me, sometimes other guests) couldn't do it in time before the elevator just went back down. And the slot for the card was like 2 feet off the ground. I think it could be a little higher and still be ADA compliant. It was very poorly designed in my opinion.

Also , not a fan of all the sounds in the hallways…roosters, birds, crickets.

Nearby transportation: Red line train across the street, all the loop trains right outside the hotel. Blue Line from O’Hare is just a two block walk (to me it doesn’t even make sense to transfer to one of the other trains for just one stop…it’s an easy walk)


Overall impression: I'd stay here again and recommend it to anyone. Close to the Magnificent Mile, Millennium Park and a great Walgreen's, you can get anywhere you want in no time. This is a great place.

Room Tip: Get a high floor...facing the river is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkton, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Friendly staff, beautiful ambiance and a great location if you're going to a hockey game or just want to walk down to Michigan Avenue or the Magnificent mile. Train from Airport dropped us off within 2 blocks of the hotel as well. Very convenient

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TadStricker, Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Sherry-

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. theWit is in a great location, as you mentioned- close to the L, Michigan Ave "Mag Mile" shopping, and many great things to see and do. I'm so happy that your "EXPERIENCE" at theWit was amazing. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.


Take care,
Tad Stricker
Director of Operations
theWit Hotel- Chicago

312-239-9531
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Illinois, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

I and a colleague stayed at the Whit for a couple of days while in Chicago on business. Their service was great, the room was extremely clean, and the rooms were very quiet. It was also fun to have a good night spot so close(the Roof), which we visited a couple of times during our stay. The staff was friendly, and was knowledgeable about everything we asked. There was always lots of hotel security, from people outside the doors in front of the hotel, to keycard security in the elevator. We were highly amused by the peaceful sounds that they play in the hotel hallways(so quiet you could only hear them while in the hallway) Owls and night bugs in the evening, roosters crowing in the morning, and seagulls during the day. We cracked up at it. Hotel is extremely conveniently located! Lots of great shopping and food near State St, and lots only a few block away on North Michigan ave, and within brief walking distance to millenium park/Grant park.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We were very pleasantly surprised by theWit. The staff were very friendly (warm chocolate chip cookies and food and drink coupons were offered on check-in) and the rooms were clean, comfortable, and modern (new, modern European style furniture and lay-out). The location is great - in the Loop near the theater district and within a block of the river and the "Miracle Mile". The room rates are very reasonable for the quality of the room (but be aware of the $50 valet parking and the ubiquitous high Chicago taxes - nearly 13%). I should note that the sliding door for the bathroom is very heavy and somewhat difficult to slide with the small finger-hole slots, so it could prove to be a problem for children, older people, and/or people with arthritis. All in all, we were very happy with our stay.

Room Tip: As with many hotels in the Loop, the "EL" runs beside the hotel, so it could be loud for r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TadStricker, Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
I'm glad to see that you discovered theWit Hotel - and our philosophy of "More Experience than Hotel." It's no surprise to us that you had such an enjoyable time. Look forward to seeing you in the future!

Best Regards,
Tad Stricker
Director of Operations
theWit Hotel - Chicago
312-239-9531
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton

Address: 201 N. State Street, Chicago, IL 60601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#21 Business Hotel in Chicago
#22 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#28 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#44 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
theWit is intelligently renewing one of the original "It" locations on the corner of State (the great) Street and Lake. Its history is rich with artists, theatre people, journalists and musicians as it is nestled between the theatre district and the river. Blending the amenities of a resort with the flair of a boutique hotel, theWit has brought a new energy and vitality to the downtown Chicago Loop. Striking design, unparalleled comfort, and remarkable services create a dramatic sensory experience. This is a destination for anyone who gets "It" or at least wants to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thewit Hotel Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.