We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in downtown” 5 of 5 stars
Review of theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton to your Saves list
theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   201 N. State Street, Chicago, IL 60601   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Park and Chill Savings
Ranked #38 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Cary, North Carolina, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Best place to stay in downtown”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I've stayed in a few places in Chicago and this was by far the best. The location was excellent.One block from the Chicago river and only a couple of blocks from Michigan Ave. Walking distance (a good walk) to many attractions. Got upgraded to a luxury suite after speaking with the incredibly nice and accommodating reservations specialist. The room was huge and included a kitchenette and excellent views of the Chicago river and the river north area. We also got vouchers to eat in the hotel restaurant which was delicious. We unfortunately weren't able to take advantage of some of the other amenities such as the spa and the in house move theater but got to tour the property and see how nice they were. The lounge on the top floor, Roof was also very nice and provided a great place to visit after dinner since admission is free for hotel guests. This is definitely one of the best hotels in Chicago and I would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    808
    375
    130
    44
    32
See reviews for
219
460
88
422
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

From start to finish, my boyfriend and I were impressed with the Wit. Danielle warmly welcomed us and informed us about the restaurant and breakfast and the #1 rated rooftop bar, both of which we enjoyed. We will recommend The Wit to friends. Thank you for making our staycation that much more enjoyable. Nicole & Jeff

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morton, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Our family stayed here on a Friday night after going to a White Sox game. It was a great location to just jump on the train. We are Hilton Diamond and were greeted as such by the staff at the desk. In our room, they also had a box of delicious cookies that were made in Chicago. A nice, unexpected perk. All the staff were extremely friendly. The hotel is very clean and well kept. If you get an opportunity, eat at the restaurant, State and Lake. Excellent food, and excellent service. We will definitely consider staying here again for our next trip to Chicago!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

This place is a fantastic hotel in the loop. great rooms, fitness center and extremely quiet. The staff were very helpful. This place is a paradise in the heart of the loop. The lobby is beautiful and service is fast and efficient. They even let us check in 4 hours early.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TadStricker, Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for the kind feedback about theWit.

I'm so glad you got to EXPERIENCE our "oasis" in the middle of the city. I will certainly pass along your review to our staff.

I was also so pleased to see that we were able to have a room ready for an early arrival. We love being able to allow early check-ins, and our housekeeping staff works hard to get rooms ready early - just for this very reason.

If at theWit again, please stop by and say "hi!"

Take care.

Best Regards,
Tad Stricker
Director of Operations
theWit Hotel
312-239-9531
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We chose The Wit partially because of its central location, and it turned out to be an excellent choice for other reasons. We thought the value was good in terms of price/quality. Our room was furnished tastefully and was very clean. The maid service was excellent, as was the service in the restaurant. Food was very good, and judging by the lines of people waiting to go upstairs to the nightclub, it was definitely a place for people looking for a good time.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the view from our room on the 18th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TadStricker, Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank YOU for taking the time to write a review about theWit Hotel.

I am so excited to see that you were excited about your EXPERIENCE at theWit. I will certainly share your kind words with our housekeeping staff, and State & Lake Chicago Tavern servers. They relish hearing great feedback such as this.

As you took notice of, ROOF is very popular, and at times there can be a wait due to it's popularity. The 27th floor views are an amazing way to enjoy small plates, hand crafted cocktails, and selections from our extensive wine list. Remember - as a guest of the hotel, you do receive "priority access" to take an express elevator up to ROOF. This means you do not have to wait in the line, and there is never a cover charge for guests of the hotel.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Take care.

Best Regards,
Tad Stricker
Director of Operations
theWit Hotel
312-239-9531
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

theWit is a new-er extension of the Hilton family in Chicago. It is located in a prime location and is known for its rooftop bar called, Roof.

Upon walking into the modern and spacious lobby of the hotel, you are greeted by a number of employees and throughout your visit you are always greeted and asked how your stay is going. The onsite restaurant, State / Lake, is very good and reasonable for a hotel eatery. I had breakfast / brunch there and left satisfied each time...

If you have status with Hilton then you will be given some nice amenities (water, free internet, awesome butter cookies, breakfast, VIP Access to the Roof (bar))and stay on a higher floor -- this is my experience as I'm a Diamond Member w/ Hilton. The rooms are spacious and quiet (even with the Chicago Transit Authority loop train running right next to the building).

I would highly recommend staying here, even though it might be a little more expensive than other downtown hotels -- the location to shopping, theater district, transportation, etc.... Make this hotel (IMO) stand out and I will be back again the next time I stay in Chicago.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindenhurst, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Great hotel. Stayed downtown for the night before the Soldier Field 10 mile run. Because of the HVAC problem was not able to get much sleep. Hotel is really nice and the Roof seems really nice. It was a Friday night and the hotel seems to get a little "clubby" after 9, but thats by design...just not my scene.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton

Address: 201 N. State Street, Chicago, IL 60601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#23 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#25 Business Hotel in Chicago
#31 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#46 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
theWit is intelligently renewing one of the original "It" locations on the corner of State (the great) Street and Lake. Its history is rich with artists, theatre people, journalists and musicians as it is nestled between the theatre district and the river. Blending the amenities of a resort with the flair of a boutique hotel, theWit has brought a new energy and vitality to the downtown Chicago Loop. Striking design, unparalleled comfort, and remarkable services create a dramatic sensory experience. This is a destination for anyone who gets "It" or at least wants to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thewit Hotel Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.