We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big rooms, good service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Priceline.com
and 8 more sites!
theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   201 N. State Street, Chicago, IL 60601   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
1893 World’s Fair Offer
Ranked #33 of 167 hotels in Chicago
Porto, Portugal
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Big rooms, good service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

I was at the The Wit for an entire week on a company training program. I have some complaints about the service offered to the group, but I will ignore this for the sake of this review, since I don’t know how much responsibility lies with the hotel (e.g., one of the breakfasts was a Mexican breakfast and there were no basic options such as oatmeal or toast, even when asked for!).
Check-in was quick. We were given a high room, with great views over the city. It was big, very comfortable, and clean. I must give the hotel extra points for the great desk in the room – I believe it was the most comfortable working space I’ve ever found in a room. The chair was comfortable and it had proper lighting. Also, the room had a mini kitchenette, with refrigerator and microwave.
Reception/concierge were great. We received a lot of packages during our stay, and they immediately brought them up to our room. Great job!
Location was also good, right next to a tram stop, and within walking distance of the Magnificent Mile and of Millennium Park.
I didn’t try the regular restaurant. We had all the meals with the group – food was good, although choice was a bit awkward sometimes. I also didn’t enjoy that sandwiches were always full of sauces or cheese (no healthy options).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TadStricker, Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide the thorough feedback from your week long stay at theWit Hotel. I will certainly pass along the kind comments to our reception and concierge staff. I am so glad to hear that they were able to provide efficient and thoughtful service. This is exactly what makes theWit "More Experience Than Hotel."

We do host many groups and functions here at theWit, and each group chooses the dining options from our very large and expansive banquet menu. I am sorry that these particular meals did not meet your dietary needs. I would like to share this feedback with the event planner for your group, but need some additional information as to which group you were specifically with. Our award winning chef is able to meet and accomodate any dietary restriction with some notice.

Please feel free to contact me directly. Thank you again!

Best Regards,
Tad Stricker
Director of Operations
tstricker@thewithotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,083 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    648
    284
    99
    28
    24
See reviews for
168
382
72
312
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

This is not a hotel for business travelers who need to work and sleep. Upon on arrival the maid was in the room next door and had the TV on, which was so loud I first thought my radio had been left on ... tonight, the gentleman in the same room can be heard in conversation and all other ways. While they project an ambience of hip, cool, high-end, etc. it's just a veneer if you're just looking to get some rest.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TadStricker, Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you for the feedback. Please note that for those sensitive to sound/not sound sleepers, we can offer rooms without connecting doors, and other rooms with variable exposures to the city. Additionally, with the double-paned windows of differing dimensions, we have taken steps to be the most-sound proof environment within city hotels. As a last additional option, we do offer complimentary WIT ear-plugs. Our goal is to make each guest stay the most comfortable and enjoyable experience possible.

Thank you again, and please feel free to reach out to me directly in the future so that I may ensure your complete satisfaction.

Best Regards,
Tad Stricker
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I have visited this hotel location many times but had to write about the attentiveness, dedication to customer service and friendliness that front desk staff Mallory Krugman provided upon my last visit. I appreciate good customer service and I must call it out when I see it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PFamilyMiami, General Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thanks, yet again, for the great reviews this week. We will, asbolutely, acknowledge Mallory and the other stars mentioned. Likewise, we review each critique with the team. We are thrilled at all the genuine, positive feedback regarding experiences at theWit and in the heart of Chicago.

As we've reminded folks before on this site, we do have a variety of room types and locations and so be sure to discuss with our team at the time of booking and/or arrival to ensure that we select the right one for you!

We appreciate the feedback.

-theWit Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Full Time Business Traveler: theWit is a superb hotel on many fronts. However, depending on the type of traveler you are, there are considerations to make before choosing this mostly superb hotel.
The hotel is 27 floors and is an attractive building with a stylish design around the first floor. It is a very stylish lobby, good elevator service (it requires a key to stop in a floor with rooms).
All staff was highly professional and friendly. Every cab gets hailed for you, every door opened, reservations for dinner made for you, recommendations for things to do, extras brought to you right away when you want them, even the revolving door will frequently be given a push for you. ((Side note, there is the most impressive Walgreens only a 2 minute walk away. One does not think high end when they think Walgreens but this is VERY high end. Groceries, impressive win selection, deli with high quality offerings, this place will giver your store needs completely.))

The room is very high tech, nice decor (a bit darkish), excellent outlet availability, great work area, window opens, nice views, top notch environmental controls, excellent A/V, very comfortable bed, superb toiletry offerings, fairly solid internet (upgraded speed choice), plenty of light (large windows with lots of sunlight when needed), light mood background sounds in the hallways
Again, just so much to like about this hotel. They really run a first class hotel.

However, for the toned down traveler be aware that a VERY trendy and popular night club is on the top floor. During the week you get music out front and 20 somethings with women in their 'best' clubwear. It wasn't a big issue for me, it's often part of downtown big city living. But on Friday that level went much higher. You may hear faint bass from the music from the night club if you are within 2 floors of the 27th. The hotel goes out of their way (understandably so) to also accommodate night club guests. A bit of a cold reaction from a large night club 'host' out front of the hotel gave me an odd feeling but not a big deal. Out front late-ish Friday night was lots and lots of club goers, music going, interesting people watch if nothing else.
If what i describe is your scene or you don't mind these kind of goings on, theWit is a fantastic choice! If you want something more toned down than what I describe (especially Friday and Saturday night), you might want to cross the river and choose Embassy or Homewood Suites or Marriott among others.
As long as that doesn't bother you, I highly recommend theWit.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

The Wit is well kept, well run, and has some great facilities - especially on the rooftop. Great place to stay on business, or to conduct business meetings. Also, since I was leaving right at rush hour, I walked the two blocks to the Blue Line station. I was at the airport and through security before my colleagues who took a taxi had even arrived - and they left 30 minutes before me.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

I spent a Saturday at theWit. The staff is very courteous, and very helpful. Our room was nice (very clean). I will say that the acoustics are horrible--we were on the 20th floor, and I was awakened no less than five times by police cars/firetrucks blazing by. I could understand that on one of the lower floors, but on an upper floor, not so much. The view from our room was good (overlooked Chicago River).We did not think a lot of the rooftop bar--supposedly one of the top three in the world. The bar at the Hancock Building has a much better view, and much better ambiance. Overall, I would recommend it, but for the price, I definitely prefer the Palmer House.

Room Tip: Ask for something facing Lake Michigan/Chicago River.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PFamilyMiami, General Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for the great feedback. Please note that for those sensitive to sound/not sound sleepers, we can offer rooms with variable exposures tyo the city. Additionally, with the double-paned windows of differing dimensions, we have taken steps to be the most-sound proof environement within city hotels. As a last additional option, we do offer complimentary WIT ear-plugs. Our goal is to make each guest stay the most comfortable and enjoyable experience possible.

Regards,

theWit Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We had a blast at our recent stay at TheWit. Such a cool, fun hotel and you couldn't ask for a better location. Just a couple of blocks from Millennium Park and Michigan Avenue. We especially loved the staff at State & Lake - just a great group of folks.

Our room was very comfortable with great views. Bathroom was roomy with cool fixtures.

We also enjoyed watching the people outside who were taking "the plunge" - wow!

Next time we're in Chicago, you can find us here :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton

Also Known As:
Thewit Hotel Chicago
Address: 201 N. State Street, Chicago, IL 60601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#25 Business Hotel in Chicago
#25 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#31 Family Hotel in Chicago
#33 Spa Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
theWit is intelligently renewing one of the original "It" locations on the corner of State (the great) Street and Lake. Its history is rich with artists, theatre people, journalists and musicians as it is nestled between the theatre district and the river. Blending the amenities of a resort with the flair of a boutique hotel, theWit has brought a new energy and vitality to the downtown Chicago Loop. Striking design, unparalleled comfort, and remarkable services create a dramatic sensory experience. This is a destination for anyone who gets "It" or at least wants to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton to your Saves list