We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great If You Are a Party Animal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton to your Saves list
theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   201 N. State Street, Chicago, IL 60601   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Park and Chill Savings
Ranked #39 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Frankfort, Michigan
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great If You Are a Party Animal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Great location. Terrific staff. Clean, urban chic, and well maintained. We stayed last weekend. The Roof is party central. Friday, drunk women were yelling at the top of their lungs in our hallway at 1:30 AM. Saturday the drum beat, I assume from a band at the Roof, continued until 3:30 AM. You may want to consider another hotel if you want a good nights sleep.

If nightlife is your thing, this is the place. We may try again on a weekday because the staff, location and rooms are perfect.

Room Tip: The lower the floor on the south side, the more noise from the El station. The higher the floor, (w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    805
    372
    129
    44
    32
See reviews for
218
458
88
420
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Olathe, Kansas
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

theWit is absolutely witty and adorable. I am in love with the hotel. Among the chaos of the City, you can find some rest and relaxation once inside the doors. The Bellmen always greet you with a smile and of course the front desk always makes you feel special when they greet you with the warm doubletree cookie. I always book a Spa King room. I enjoy soaking in the bathtub and just chilling after a long days of work. The ambiance is great from the birds chirping in the hallway to "theWit"of having a wake up call from Al Capone, Mayor Daley (the original) or President Obama. Staff recognize you quickly and always make sure that everything is going well with your stay.

Throughout the Winter I was able to get a Spa King on a high floor from $169-$179 a night. Unfortunately, it looks like they have moved to Spring/Summer Pricing which is outside of my companies price range so it will be a memory until the prices drop again or I visit on my own which I plan on doing. Definitely a hotel you have to check out and I highly recommend it.

For the work I do in Chicago, t he hotel is in a great location. Right on State and Lake across from the Chicago Theater. The only negative is the cost of parking which is Valet only and $50 bucks a night...but it's Chicago and you really don't need a car.

Enjoy!!

Room Tip: High Floors are best!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PFamilyMiami, General Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you, thank you, thank you and we hope to see you back soon.

Regards,

Mark Shouger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Iowa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Beautiful, helpful, friendly, and in a great Chicago location. Visited here for a work/play weekend and was thrilled with the experience. I'm confident I will definitely visit again and heard much of the same from my companions.
The Roof is amazing. The view from the top of the building was stunning. A truly great Chicago experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Wonderful hotel with a modern decor. Loved our room with the jacuzzi and plush king size bed! I defiantly made use of it since the weather was quite cold and windy. Rooms were cleaned daily and staff were friendly. We also stopped by the bar and met some nice people there. Great location also. We often spent nights wandering around exploring the city!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Have stayed here twice, once as a single in the junior suite, very large, and second as a couple in the one bedroom corner suite (which was a free upgrade from the junior suite). business in Chicago dictated the location, choice was between this and the Westin and this hotel just had much larger rooms for quite a bit less money. As a dedicated starwood guest, I rarely stay in other properties, but we are glad we did These suites have 2 TVs, are very large have city and water views, huge bathroom, tons of closets and even a small kitchen with a refrigerator and microwave. Its definitely worth the few extra $ for the suite. The hallways have nature sounds adding to the funky atmsophere of the place. The front desk and concierge couldn't have been more helpful. I left my phone charger at home and they lent me one for my stay.
As we did the bed and breakfast special, the breakfast was excellent. Superb pancakes, highly recommend them.
The location was perfect for us at State and Lake. Both subways and buses are at the doorstep. Huge Walgreens a half block away for snacks and water (so you don't need to spend $6 for the Fiji water in the room).
Decent fitness center with nice views when you work out.
Couple of issues with the wifi not working and then went to the business center and that was out as well. Thank goodness for 3G iPad, but that's really not okay. I really don't understand why nice hotels feel compelled to charge for wifi these days.
And if you are staying in a "spa room" I would expect bathrobes. If the wifi worked 100 % and was free and if there were bathrobes, I would have given 5 stars.

Room Tip: get a spa suite or one bedroom suite on a high floor with water views. One bedroom suite has less a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Bermuda
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

My Wit experience was fantastic. The hotel is right in the middle of downtown Chicago, close to shopping, restaurants, bars and the river. The room was large and very comfortable with artsy, eclectic furnishings. The floor to ceiling windows in the bath are second to none. The best part - it felt nothing like a chain. If I didn't know it was a Doubletree, I would never have known. I will stay here now every time I travel to Chicago!

Room Tip: Ask for a corner, floor to ceiling views on two sides
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PFamilyMiami, General Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thanks for all of these great winter reviews. We can wait to begin hosting guests for spring, summer and fall 2013. We look forward to new friends and repeat guests alike. Please be assured that 100% of Trip Advisor reviews are shared with all team members for congratulations and critique.

Regards,

Mark Shouger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed in the Spa King room for only one night, and I was very sad to leave once check out time came around. Our room was very spacious, floor to ceiling windows (we had a corner unit, which was awesome), and the best part...the tub. I don't usually take baths at hotels, but I could not resist this one. It was a true soaking tub, and had a great view of the city. The hotel is conveniently located to most everything you would want to do in downtown Chicago, and is right on the red line. The best part for me is that there is a Starbucks, Dunkin Donuts and City Target all within and easy 4 block walk from the hotel. I would recommend staying here to anyone; it was a truly great experience!

Room Tip: Corner units have great views. If you are a light sleeper, request a room away from the red line sto...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton

Address: 201 N. State Street, Chicago, IL 60601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#23 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#24 Business Hotel in Chicago
#30 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#47 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
theWit is intelligently renewing one of the original "It" locations on the corner of State (the great) Street and Lake. Its history is rich with artists, theatre people, journalists and musicians as it is nestled between the theatre district and the river. Blending the amenities of a resort with the flair of a boutique hotel, theWit has brought a new energy and vitality to the downtown Chicago Loop. Striking design, unparalleled comfort, and remarkable services create a dramatic sensory experience. This is a destination for anyone who gets "It" or at least wants to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thewit Hotel Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.