We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice modern hotel in a great spot in Chicago” 4 of 5 stars
Review of theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton to your Saves list
theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   201 N. State Street, Chicago, IL 60601   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 169 Hotels in Chicago
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice modern hotel in a great spot in Chicago”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here as we had an event downtown, hotel is in a perfect spot to get anywhere in downtown. Service was great, rooms are very nice, bed was comfortable.

If there was only one downfall it would be is we selected a more upgraded room based off a picture their website had and when we got into our room that view was not there. When we talked they explained to us if you wanted that same view you would not get a view of the river, so we just stayed in the room, but I don't think we would have used extra points to get the room that we got.

Fun hotel, would stay again

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    764
    338
    122
    39
    29
See reviews for
203
441
82
388
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oak Park, IL
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

The hotel is near theaters and many fine restaurants. Staff very attentive. Check in staff very helpful. Rooms perfect. Restaurant in the hotel is very nice, good selection of food and wait staff courteous and helpful. Close to Michigan Avenue and near the boats for tours.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

Above average location with nice rooms, though some details are missing since becoming part of the Doubletree brand.
I've been upgraded the last couple visits which is very much appreciated, but the last time I stayed there, one of the showers was missing the shower head - how does that get missed...? That same bathroom had no amenities, and the bathrobes have been taken out of the suites.
My room service order was incorrectly made twice, so attention to detail needs to be addressed, though maybe that's what comes from being part of the Doubletree chain. It used to be better.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PFamilyMiami, General Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you for the detailed feedback. Service and details ARE critical to our success and items described are atypical of the attention our team gives to such areas. Our Doubletree by Hilton "CARE" philosophy and Wit "Whatever it Takes" philosophy are more in line with what our own expectations AND delivery typically are. Be assured that we have followed up, internally. Bathrobes are still, absolutely, provided in suites and the Doubletree cookie at check-in. We will correct and aim for 100%.

Thank you.

-Mark Shouger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

My wife and I really enjoyed staying here for 3 nights. The rooms were well furnished, a nice size and very clean. The conceriage was very helpful in making reservations for us and the front desk staff handled the only problem we had well. That problem was the wifi. Not only was it not free but they had a confusing 3 tiered pricing structure. After the first night of the base plan with poor wifi performance we switched to the highest level and got the same results the second day. I called the front desk and they removed all charges but allowed us to keep the access. No reason not to choose this hotel, I just hope the fix this minor issue to get my fifth star. Thank you for a great stay.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Nice central location. Clean and modern rooms. Had lunch at Potbelly's across the street. Within walking of main attractions in downtown Chicago. Internet access is charged PER DEVICE. For example, laptop, iPad, iPhone = 3x charge. Be careful!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PFamilyMiami, General Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you for the feedback. We are pleased to note that, based upon great guest feedback & system enhancements, internet connection (available at three distinct rate & speed levels based upon guest need) now include each guest device. There are no longer additional charges for additional devices in same room. We appreciate all comments.

-Mark Shouger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan, Kansas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Right up the street from several places like Macy's and Old Navy. Lots of eating establishments nearby, including the restaurant on the top floor. Awesome view of the city in every direction. Check in was quick and efficient, and room was clean and huge. Would definitely stay again!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PFamilyMiami, General Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
A Happy Holiday Season to all. We are thrilled to host and hear about great holiday, pre-holiday, business, event and leisure visits at theWit. Our team is highly committed to providing a first class, comfortable, enjoyable and personalized experience for each of our guests. We look forward to many first time and repeat visits in the new year.

Thank you.

-Mark Shouger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I stayed at theWit this month and LOVED it. It was a great location with pristine rooms and excellent service. We walked to all major landmarks and easily jumped in a cab when the weather wasn't perfect. Sleep quality was excellent, no problems even in the heart of the city.

Everyone at the hotel was extremely friendly and accommodating - I wish that the trip would have been longer.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton

Address: 201 N. State Street, Chicago, IL 60601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#22 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#23 Business Hotel in Chicago
#28 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#36 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
theWit is intelligently renewing one of the original "It" locations on the corner of State (the great) Street and Lake. Its history is rich with artists, theatre people, journalists and musicians as it is nestled between the theatre district and the river. Blending the amenities of a resort with the flair of a boutique hotel, theWit has brought a new energy and vitality to the downtown Chicago Loop. Striking design, unparalleled comfort, and remarkable services create a dramatic sensory experience. This is a destination for anyone who gets "It" or at least wants to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thewit Hotel Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.