We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great spot in theatre district of dowtown” 4 of 5 stars
Review of theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton

Save Saved
You added theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   201 N. State Street, Chicago, IL 60601   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 169 Hotels in Chicago
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great spot in theatre district of dowtown”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Most hotels will be on the higher end of price range in downtown, but I would have no problem booking this again. We had reserved a room ahead of time, so no problem there, but what was nice is they gave us 3 options/views we wanted based on the room we chose- Did we want to face the city, river, park, etc. They aren't exact clear views, mind you, since there are so many tall buildings. Also, upon check-in they give you a hot chocolate chip cookie. The room was spacious and definitely trendy decor. It's right by the chicago theatre. It's not quite close enough to walk to the Magnificent Mile for shopping but it can be done if really want to, but you'll probably want to cab it. There are plenty of other stores close by anyway. The hotel does have a bar/club on the roof, which is cool but that is a little pricey to me for what you get- $15 drinks for nothing anymore special than I've had anywhere else.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    755
    333
    117
    38
    29
See reviews for
201
435
82
377
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I stayed in this hotel with family and friends for a week recently and I can't fault it. It is an extremely lively and busy hotel with lots of events taking place but the staff make you feel like you're the only guest there. They are all extremely helpful and offered us numerous advice on places to eat and visit during our stay. The rooms were a great size and extremely clean and fresh. Whilst the hotel has been open for over 3 years it looks almost new. The location is excellent and you can walk to most places but the L is right next door literally (although I couldn't hear it from my room on the 18th floor). I'd happily recommend this hotel to others.

Room Tip: Higher floors avoid L train noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PFamilyMiami, General Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you for your kind feedback and highlights of our team, our location and YOUR experience.

We are quite appreciative.

-Mark Shouger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

Chicago is full of fun and quirky hotels and The Wit holds its own. We enjoyed a private party in their screening room - now that was exceptional! The screening room has a movie screen at the front of the room, elevated rows of built in lazy boy style chairs with power foot rests and couches and a bar and buffet area at the back of the room.

Not necessarily a good hotel for kids. Neither the restaurant or room service menu had good options for kids.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville Tennessee, USA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

This boutique hotel is located right next to the L but also an easy location for walking. I stayed in a king spa suite, which was amazing. I upgraded when I arrived and it was an amazing space. The hotel had good options for breakfast and lunch (since I was there for a conference,) and there's a Starbucks right across the street! The bed was really comfortable, the spa tub was huge and you actually had control of the sir (enough that I could really tell wheni made it warmer!) The bellman and front desk staff are happy to answer questions or get you set up with directions. Overall, this is a great place to stay if you re looking for a newer hotel with all the amenities of the biggest chains!

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

You can't get any close to the L than the Wit. In fact, train noise is a factor. This doesn't bother me. We stayed on the 10th floor and heard every train go by. If the noise does bother you, ask for a room on upper floors. One entire wall is windows in the corner room with a view on the other wall, too. Easy walk to mag mile, great restaurants. The bed is comfortable and the decor is fun. Door man worked hard to get a cab. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PFamilyMiami, General Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you. We are excited to have passed the 600-review mark on TripAdvisor and we have solid feedback on other web sites and our own internal brand comment cards. Each and every one is reviewed for continuous improvement, enhancements and celebrating the successes of our team.

We eagerly await our "next, BEST" guests, daily.

-Mark Shouger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed at this property in October of 2012. There is a cool, chic vibe to this hotel. There is a great rooftop bar atop the high rise hotel which overlooks the city, this is a nice perk to staying at this hotel, but you don't need to stay here to take advantage of the rooftop bar. The hotel is located across the street from the famous "Chicago" Theater sign. At this hotel you are within walking distance to the river and to the theater district. Great shopping is only 5 minutes away by foot. The room was large, very clean and had a great view of the train, which was cool for a first time Chicago visitor. I have already recommended this place to multiple people who travel to Chicago frequently.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Can really recommend. Not an old fashioned Hilton. Great location. Rooms are fairly spacious and well designed. Breakfast with incredible French toast and worst coffee. Always ask for an espresso. Fair value also with the breakfast arrangement.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton

Address: 201 N. State Street, Chicago, IL 60601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#22 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#22 Business Hotel in Chicago
#28 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#34 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
theWit is intelligently renewing one of the original "It" locations on the corner of State (the great) Street and Lake. Its history is rich with artists, theatre people, journalists and musicians as it is nestled between the theatre district and the river. Blending the amenities of a resort with the flair of a boutique hotel, theWit has brought a new energy and vitality to the downtown Chicago Loop. Striking design, unparalleled comfort, and remarkable services create a dramatic sensory experience. This is a destination for anyone who gets "It" or at least wants to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thewit Hotel Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.