We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay in Chicago” 5 of 5 stars
Review of theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton to your Saves list
theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   201 N. State Street, Chicago, IL 60601 (Downtown / The Loop)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Intimate Escape Special
Ranked #41 of 177 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent stay in Chicago”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I stayed in this hotel with family and friends for a week recently and I can't fault it. It is an extremely lively and busy hotel with lots of events taking place but the staff make you feel like you're the only guest there. They are all extremely helpful and offered us numerous advice on places to eat and visit during our stay. The rooms were a great size and extremely clean and fresh. Whilst the hotel has been open for over 3 years it looks almost new. The location is excellent and you can walk to most places but the L is right next door literally (although I couldn't hear it from my room on the 18th floor). I'd happily recommend this hotel to others.

Room Tip: Higher floors avoid L train noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PFamilyMiami, General Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you for your kind feedback and highlights of our team, our location and YOUR experience.

We are quite appreciative.

-Mark Shouger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    858
    397
    138
    45
    34
See reviews for
231
490
90
444
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

Chicago is full of fun and quirky hotels and The Wit holds its own. We enjoyed a private party in their screening room - now that was exceptional! The screening room has a movie screen at the front of the room, elevated rows of built in lazy boy style chairs with power foot rests and couches and a bar and buffet area at the back of the room.

Not necessarily a good hotel for kids. Neither the restaurant or room service menu had good options for kids.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville Tennessee, USA
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

This boutique hotel is located right next to the L but also an easy location for walking. I stayed in a king spa suite, which was amazing. I upgraded when I arrived and it was an amazing space. The hotel had good options for breakfast and lunch (since I was there for a conference,) and there's a Starbucks right across the street! The bed was really comfortable, the spa tub was huge and you actually had control of the sir (enough that I could really tell wheni made it warmer!) The bellman and front desk staff are happy to answer questions or get you set up with directions. Overall, this is a great place to stay if you re looking for a newer hotel with all the amenities of the biggest chains!

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

You can't get any close to the L than the Wit. In fact, train noise is a factor. This doesn't bother me. We stayed on the 10th floor and heard every train go by. If the noise does bother you, ask for a room on upper floors. One entire wall is windows in the corner room with a view on the other wall, too. Easy walk to mag mile, great restaurants. The bed is comfortable and the decor is fun. Door man worked hard to get a cab. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PFamilyMiami, General Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you. We are excited to have passed the 600-review mark on TripAdvisor and we have solid feedback on other web sites and our own internal brand comment cards. Each and every one is reviewed for continuous improvement, enhancements and celebrating the successes of our team.

We eagerly await our "next, BEST" guests, daily.

-Mark Shouger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed at this property in October of 2012. There is a cool, chic vibe to this hotel. There is a great rooftop bar atop the high rise hotel which overlooks the city, this is a nice perk to staying at this hotel, but you don't need to stay here to take advantage of the rooftop bar. The hotel is located across the street from the famous "Chicago" Theater sign. At this hotel you are within walking distance to the river and to the theater district. Great shopping is only 5 minutes away by foot. The room was large, very clean and had a great view of the train, which was cool for a first time Chicago visitor. I have already recommended this place to multiple people who travel to Chicago frequently.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Can really recommend. Not an old fashioned Hilton. Great location. Rooms are fairly spacious and well designed. Breakfast with incredible French toast and worst coffee. Always ask for an espresso. Fair value also with the breakfast arrangement.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Wit, is a boutique hotel on State Street. It is walking distance to everything downtown and is close to the Chicago River. The rooms are hip and fun, with amazing dowtown views. But what makes this a GREAT hotel is; the staff! They are SO professional at what they do. Everyone from the concierge to the servers to the housekeepers went way above my expectations. We were treated like royalty and we will definately be back. The 27th floor houses the "Roof", a bar and restaraunt with retractable a roof and walls. This place is so much fun, with amazing views and ambiance.

Room Tip: If you can swing it: get a suite. Suites are really spacious, with modern kitchens, 2 flat screen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton

Address: 201 N. State Street, Chicago, IL 60601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#27 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#28 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#28 Business Hotel in Chicago
#48 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
theWit is intelligently renewing one of the original "It" locations on the corner of State (the great) Street and Lake. Its history is rich with artists, theatre people, journalists and musicians as it is nestled between the theatre district and the river. Blending the amenities of a resort with the flair of a boutique hotel, theWit has brought a new energy and vitality to the downtown Chicago Loop. Striking design, unparalleled comfort, and remarkable services create a dramatic sensory experience. This is a destination for anyone who gets "It" or at least wants to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, EasyToBook, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Hilton Hotels and Agoda so you can book your theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thewit Hotel Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.