We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton to your Saves list
theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   201 N. State Street, Chicago, IL 60601   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Park and Chill Savings
Ranked #38 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
NH
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice hotel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Right next to the Chicago Theater. It is definitely more of a high end hotel than what I usually stay in. I generally would not stay at such an expensive hotel. In response to other reviewer's comments. 1) the taped/piped in sounds of birds, crickets, etc in the halls - didn't bother me. I'm from the country, so I'm used to hearing these noises. If anything it made it feel more like home. 2) I fully agree with those that complained about cost of internet. For the price of the rooms, it should come free. Most of the hotels I stay at offer this service for free. Being a business hotel as well, I'm surprised at the fees. 3) The mini bar - there is a warning sign posted not to move items as they are on sensors and you will be charged whether you consume the items or not. Think about it, they don't know if you have tampered with these items, so they have to be cautious if you move them. That being said, there should be room so that you can keep your own water bottles, left over food from restaurants, etc cold. You can have housekeeping bring you a mini-frige, but I'm guessing given the internet fees, that there would be an additional rental fee - I don't know for certain, we didn't pursue that. 4) I thought the food at State & Lake (their restaurant) was good and offered decent choices and most were quite affordable (except for the $4 coffee/juice, but that does seem to be refilled for free, so not a strong complaint).

Otherwise, I was suprised at how quiet the hotel was - I am a very light sleeper and tend to find that there are always noisy neighbors coming in at all hours of the night/wee hours of the morning, talking very loudly and slamming their doors. Not so at the WIT - I never was awakened by loud people in the hall - it was a pleasant surprise. I didn't hear noise from the traffic or the train, but we were on the 14th floor, so perhaps on other floors or locations in the building that would be worse.

I am so thankful for Travis at the consierge desk! I would not have seen nearly as much of the city without him. Yes, that's his job, but he was so kind & understanding of someone who is not "city wise/street smart" (my words, not his). He answered so many of my questions and gave me directions to get me safely & easily throughout the city.

We were so busy, we never had a chance to make it up to the rooftop bar, but never were bothered by those coming & going from it as others have commented.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    812
    378
    130
    44
    32
See reviews for
220
465
88
422
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

My husband and I spent the weekend at the hotel for my birthday. We were pleasantly surprised with an upgrade to a suite with a view. Very modern, hip, clean and comfy rooms. We also enjoyed drinks at the hotel restaurant and rooftop bar. The breakfast menu didn't have many options and the quality of food wasn't great, but I was pleased with the huge portions of fruit. Also, the lobby is a bit busy at night with the popularity of the roof top bar, but the staff are helpful in handling the crowd and it didn't bother us too much. We tremendously enjoyed our stay and the location was perfect for our plans for the weekend.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

My daughter and I stayed at theWit for 3 nights while in Chicago for her college orientation. I originally booked a 2 Q bedded room for 2 nights at $299 each night, then decided to add 1 more night a couple of weeks before our trip. Unfortunately, the 2 Queen bedded room wasn't available, so I had to book a 1 bedroom suite for quite a bit more money-$409. I was told by central reservations to keep checking to see if there was a cancellation and I could change the reservation and stay in our original room for the same price-$299. After 2 wonderful nights in a really nice 2 Queen bedded room on the 9th floor (916) with a gorgeous view of the Chicago River, we were told that our room, indeed was available. BUT....they had a fabulous suite for us on the 25th floor with fabulous views-really nice. I asked if I could keep my original room and pay the $299 and was told I could keep that room, but would have to pay $409. Well, if I was paying more $, I might as well move to the suite. The suite was everything I was told it would be-huge living room with a wall of windows looking down onto the Chicago River, dining area and kitchenette, and a huge bedroom with a huge bathroom with spa tub and separate shower. We also had the breakfast included in our rate. The last morning we ordered room service which cost $50. Upon check-out, and after stewing about moving rooms and paying more $, I asked to speak to the manager. I was charged $50 for the room service breakfast and I was annoyed that I was told I could stay in my original room and pay the $299 if it was available, then was told I couldn't do that. Ryan, the manager, was great! He apologized for the mis-communication and said he would speak to the staff and central reservations regarding my issues. He immediately removed the $50 breakfast charge from our bill and was so nice about everything. I was really grateful for his kindness. Another issue I had was the charge of $11.95 for wifi. My 19 year old daughter was with me and we didn't realize that we were being charged $11.95 for each device for wifi. I think we were charged around $70. One of the charges was removed from our bill.
TheWit has a lot of positives going for it-the location couldn't be better! We walked everywhere we needed to go. The hotel is modern and beautiful with good sized rooms that are furnished really nicely. We ate breakfast and a late night snack in the restaurant, State and Lake. The German pretzels with beer cheese were delicious! I wish we had visited the rooftop bar and spa, as they looked awesome! The staff were so attentive-always acknowledging us and asking how our day was going, holding/opening doors for us, hailing a taxi for us.
A fun aspect of theWit that I'd never seen or heard of before was that in the hallways there is a speaker system and it doesn't play music-during the daytime you hear birds chirping and singing, and at night the crickets are chirping. We thought that was fun.
We will be coming back to theWit the end of August when we move our daughter into her dorm to start college. Thanks to Ryan and his staff for addressing our issues and we look forward to our visit in a few weeks.

Room Tip: Room with a view of the River is awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PFamilyMiami, General Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, July 21, 2012
Kind words for Ryan and the guest contact team have been shared and celebrated.

We are thrilled with all the positive responses and recognition of all that theWit has to offer, the little things that make a difference and the staff attention.

We eagerly await repeat visits as well as visits from new guests reading TripAdvisor and all web reviews.

Sincerely,

Mark Shouger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

My fiance and I stayed here for a weekend when we were in town for a wedding. We have stayed in many hotels and are definitely picky and I was therefore skeptical when I heard it was a Doubletree. However, the Wit was lovely, clean, and fun. The front desk staff were extremely friendly and helpful - they are clearly focused on customer service beyond all else. I needed a razor in my room and it came in 2 minutes. My fiance needed to leave me a note since I had lost my phone and the front desk staff totally obliged and helped us connect with each other. Our room was very nice for the price and was clean and well appointed. The rooftop bar is gorgeous and we had a blast dancing there and having some drinks. Overall, I was really pleased with the Wit and its staff. Keep it up! We will definitely return next time we are in town.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Enjoyed this hotel. Rooms were well above par compared to your standard Doubletree.
Nice mini bar. :)
Great central downtown Chicago location!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Springs, Wyoming
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Wasn’t sure where to stop when we first pulled up to the hotel. The hotel name/sign was a little difficult to see, and there was no type of signage as to where to stop for the valet. That’s the bad
For the good: Arrived before standard check in time, front desk staff apologized that our room was not ready, the hotel is in a great location and allows for easy walking all through downtown. As soon as the room was ready the front desk called. Very nice corner room, view of the Trump Tower, the river and the Chicago Theater. It was an easy walk to the Sears Tower in one direction and the Navy Pier in the other. We checked out at 10:00am but didn’t need to leave downtown until much later; the staff stored our luggage and kept our car in the valet parking until 3:00 when we left downtown.
I look forward to staying again when back in Chicago.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012 via mobile

This place was electric! My wife and stayed at the Wit for three days in late June and couldn't have asked for more. The staff was very happy and made us feel at home. It was as though we were regulars at the property. The Roof bar was amazing and the location was perfect, we walked all over the city. The room was comfortable, clean and quiet. Perfect experience!!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton

Address: 201 N. State Street, Chicago, IL 60601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#23 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#24 Business Hotel in Chicago
#31 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#46 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
theWit is intelligently renewing one of the original "It" locations on the corner of State (the great) Street and Lake. Its history is rich with artists, theatre people, journalists and musicians as it is nestled between the theatre district and the river. Blending the amenities of a resort with the flair of a boutique hotel, theWit has brought a new energy and vitality to the downtown Chicago Loop. Striking design, unparalleled comfort, and remarkable services create a dramatic sensory experience. This is a destination for anyone who gets "It" or at least wants to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thewit Hotel Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.