We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun, Hip Hotel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton to your Saves list
theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   201 N. State Street, Chicago, IL 60601 (Downtown / The Loop)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Intimate Escape Special
Ranked #40 of 177 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence 2014
California
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Fun, Hip Hotel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

Just returned from our second stay at theWit! Once again, we were quite satisfied. We spent a few nights last year here and enjoyed our stay so much that we decided to stay here again. The rooms are ultra modern. This time we stayed in a King spa room. The only recommendation I would have is that if you're staying in a spa room maybe you'd enjoy robes? The staff at theWit is amazing! The concierge even got us into a restaurant for dinner at our preferred time when both opentable and a phone call to the restaurant by us didn't do the trick. We also enjoyed the Roof bar on the 27th floor. We may not be in our 20's but just the people watching alone is worth the trip. Being a hotel guest, the cover charge is waived.

Thanks again to the staff at theWit for another fun stay!

Room Tip: Don't think there's a bad room in the hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    858
    396
    138
    45
    34
See reviews for
231
489
90
444
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

The rooms are well appointed and I like that there are many outlets for recharging. However, I never like to pay for wi-fi and this place charges for each device you want to connect. I think it's outrageous to spend $12/day and not be able to connect a computer and ipad if you need to in your room. I don't want to go to the lobby to do my business. Be warned

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

My wife and I spent a weekend here last summer and really enjoyed the hotel. Our room was very large with floo to ceiling windows with great views. The rooftop bar was noisy and fun, and great for people watching. Great location, close to the train, and walking distance to a lot of great restaurants. Valet parking was a little overpriced, but not any higher than other downtown hotels. Overall, we enjoyed it and will be back.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swartz Creek, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

My wife and I traveled to Chicago for a weekend and chose The Wit because we had seen it on our last trip and liked the location and the look of it. The staff was very friendly during check-in and accommodated us when we asked for a room change based on the layout of the room. The room we stayed in had floor to ceiling windows with a beautiful view of State Street. The bathroom was amazing with a glass shower, large tub, and floor to ceiling windows. Shades provided 100% privacy when desired, but the evening bath with the city right there in front of us was very romantic. We visited the restaurant, State and Lake, and were very impressed with the food and draft beer selection. We sat at the bar and purchased two appetizers; a tuna tartar and the pretzel with beer cheese and both were excellent. We told the bartender how good they were and the next thing we knew the chef was there with a couple of additional appetizers; a steak tartar and the hotdog flight and those two were also delicious. There were at least 8 local craft beers at tap and the bartender was very knowledgeable about the selections available. The largest Walgreens I have ever seen was right next door and most everything we did was in walking distance or a short cab ride away. The L and subway are immediately next to the hotel so all of Chicago is easily accessible to you through any mode of transportation. There were a few reviews we read about the noise of the L, but I thought it added to the city experience and found it to be a nice addition to our stay. We will definitely return and have already started recommending it to our friends.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager201, Guest Relations Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, January 21, 2015
Dear Timothy B,

Thank you for sharing your experience at theWit Hotel! We hope to see you back soon. Have a marvelous afternoon!

At your Service,

theWit Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for a couple weekend recently. The hotel room was very welcoming and pleasant as were the hotel staff. The location is great for seeing the sites around Chicago. The only problem I had was a valet who got thick mud caked in my floor mats, and unfortunately emails regarding this issue to the hotel have gone unanswered. I would stay here again, but for $50/night I might park my car myself.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PFamilyMiami, General Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, May 8, 2012
Thank you for your feedback!

We will share kind words regarding an overall positive experience with the team.

Sincere apologies for issues with the vehicle presentation in and around the times of the storms. This is certainly not anticipated nor acceptable and internal corrective actions are being taken to ensure that like incidents cannot recur.

We believe that correspondance has since taken place with our Valet leadership team. Please contact me directly at 312 239 9521 if I may be of any personal assistance in the matter.

Best regards,

Mark Shouger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonsall, California
Top Contributor
222 reviews 222 reviews
98 hotel reviews
Reviews in 121 cities Reviews in 121 cities
480 helpful votes 480 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

Overall, I enjoyed my four night stay at theWit. It sure isn't like any other Doubletree I've been to before (and I worked at one.) That's a good thing, by the way. Well, one thing it has in common with other Doubletrees is the friendly staff, and the cookie, of course. Everyone I encountered here was beyond helpful. Some of them could use more training, especially the front desk, but they all meant well and did try. Although my Diamond status was acknowledged at check-in, he forgot to give me breakfast vouchers and the internet access code. When Jonah, our bellman, realized this after we arrived in the room, he quickly went down and got everything for us without being asked. And he did it quickly. He also retrieved a missing luggage rack. After that he always greeted us in the lobby. He's a standout among an overall wonderful staff.

We were in a corner King Suite, which was enormous. It had a large kitchen area, dining table, separate bedroom with windows on two sides, and giant bathroom. The kitchen is stocked with utensils for preparing meals, but there is only a microwave, so I'm not sure what the point is of all that stuff, especially the complete set of knives. I would liken the suite to a time share type of room or a condo. It was a good value for a big city like Chicago and easily $100 less per night than the other hotels I considered in the same area.

The furniture is nice and comfortable. The bed is like a nest. I didn't want to get out of it. The two large LCD HD tvs actually received hi-def programming, which for some reason I've found to be unusual in hotels. Air conditioning worked fine and everything was clean and in good repair for the most part.

Others have mentioned the heavy sliding bathroom door and I agree it is annoying. We're two strong men and when ours came off the track the first time we closed it, it took both of us to re-open it. When we reported it, it was fixed immediately, but it was still very heavy. I don't know how an older person or small woman could move it at all.

Our view was of the river, which was spectacular. There is the usual city noise even on the 24th floor, but that's to be expected anywhere in Chicago. We were aware of the L nearby, but it wasn't bothersome at all.

The hotel's restaurant is very good and a good value for dinner. Breakfast though is extremely overpriced. $75 for breakfast? At a Doubletree??? I've had less expensive room service meals at a Four Seasons! At least the food was good and there are lots of interesting choices.

One thing to be very aware of is that this hotel tries, and succeeds, in attracting a party crowd on weekends. We had some extreme party animals check in next door who proceeded to scream and jump on the beds while playing music at full volume. On the way out to dinner I mentioned it ot the front desk and the reaction was, "I kind of expected them to be like that." Uh, OK, so why did you put them next to someone who is staying for several days? Luckily they were out when we returned, so no further problem. But, do expect to run the gaunlet of party goers in the lobby on weekends, complete with bouncers and velvet ropes. I will give the staff credit for at least attempting to keep the partiers separate from the hotel guests, but there is only so much they can do. So, if you aren't there to party, I would avoid the weekends.

Another issue at the moment is the possibility of construction noise from the rooftop bar remodel. It was EXTREMELY noisy all day Saturday. There was no way we could stay in the hotel that day. We returned at 5pm and it was still going on (sounded like sanding floors or jackhammering), but it ended shortly thereafter. When I mentioned it upon checkout, I was offered a refund of one night's rate, which was very generous considering I wasn't asking for anything. However, I had to "remind" them when it never showed up on my bill. I did eventually get it, so no harm done, but it would have left a better impression had they followed through as promised.

The hotel tries very hard to be trendy. So hard it shows, which means they are going too far in my opinion. There are other hotels in the area that do quirky better, but they cost a lot more. I liken this place to a W Hotel without the attitude.

I probably wouldn't stay here again myself. It just wasn't a perfect fit for me and there are so many other places nearby that I'd want to try next time.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PFamilyMiami, General Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Details, details, details... are appreciated as this allows the team to work towards continuous improvemnet and perfection at every turn.

We are pleased that team member engagement and care continue to be on the top of most lists.

As shared in past responses to the many, appreciated critiques, our team can help select the right accommodations for each guest according to floor, view, proximity to other experiential areas of the property, etc.

A WHOLE NEW ROOF is, in fact, completed and all related construction has ceased. The outdoor patio is now a sight to be seen and available year-round rain, snow or shine.

All visits, business and feedback is GREATLY appreciated.

Sincerely,

Mark Shouger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

I picked this hotel because I was visiting my daughter, and it is located 2 blocks from where she works. It is also very close to Millennium Park, the Art Institute and downtown shopping. The staff were very solicitous and helpful, and the room was comfortable. My main complaint is their ridiculous WIFI policy. On the website the hotel describes their WIFI as "the ultimate in wired and wireless high-speed Internet access." It is "the ultimate" in annoying and over-priced access. At the rate I paid for the room, WIFI should have been included, after all, if it's free at cheap chain motels, why charge so much here? Instead of free WIFI, theWit offered 3 purchase options. The lowest provided only the basics, i.e., checking email and downloading no more that 1MB PER DAY. The midrange option allows you to download a max of 3 MB PER DAY, and the top option allows you to download no more than 5MB PER DAY. However, (this is what really astounded me) access is only offered PER DEVICE! So if you are staying with your spouse and he needs to get work done on his laptop and you want to download a new book on your Kindle, you have to buy 2 WIFI accounts! Details about the WIFI pIans were not described in any literature in the room, and the front desk rep couldn't even explain the pricing or services to me. I only discovered the "single device" rule after signing up for the day. I was reminded not to make assumptions but to ask detailed questions about important services before making a reservation.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton

Address: 201 N. State Street, Chicago, IL 60601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#27 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#27 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#28 Business Hotel in Chicago
#48 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
theWit is intelligently renewing one of the original "It" locations on the corner of State (the great) Street and Lake. Its history is rich with artists, theatre people, journalists and musicians as it is nestled between the theatre district and the river. Blending the amenities of a resort with the flair of a boutique hotel, theWit has brought a new energy and vitality to the downtown Chicago Loop. Striking design, unparalleled comfort, and remarkable services create a dramatic sensory experience. This is a destination for anyone who gets "It" or at least wants to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, EasyToBook, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hilton Hotels, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thewit Hotel Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.