We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Chocolate cake and "everyman food"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Portillo's Hot Dogs

Portillo's Hot Dogs
100 West Ontario Street, Chicago, IL 60654 (Near North Side)
(312) 587-8910
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 8,489 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Takeout
Neighborhood: Near North Side
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Delicious Chocolate cake and "everyman food"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Food is delicious if unhealthy. Chocolate cake is not to be missed! Kids particularly enjoy Portillos.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,988 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,147
    638
    151
    35
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Evergreen Park, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The Neighborhood Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I love how they cook the food, they grilled polishes and hamburger on a big grill, thier french fries are delicous, also I loved the fact it is right in my neighborhood.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good food, good experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

Within 2 hours of being in Chicago I went to Portillos. First I had the original hot dog with all the trimmings. I actually like it better than I thought I would. Then I knew I had to get the Italian Beef I've heard so much about. It was a pretty good, messy sandwich.

I love the ambience in there & liked how the worker made a jingle with every order number called out. Quick service too & plenty of seating even though they were busy. I would definitely go again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Zion, Illinois
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Classic Chicago Hot Dog Joint”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Each choice I have ever chosen, I've never been disappointed. I try something different almost every time. And depending on if you get a "veteran" crew, they will be yelling and hollering for fun calling out customers names for orders.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Home style with flair”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We go here every year with a large group of family members just before new year's day. I understand that they have a number of locations. We go the location near Barrington IL. This is an incredibly interesting place to me. You have an assortment of 50's memorabilia and decor. The menu consists of a blend of american fast food items and italian. This isn't gourmet food, but it is all fresh, clean and delicious. The staff are very friendly and accommodating. I would definitely reccomend this for any family.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Portillo's Hot Dogs also viewed

 

Been to Portillo's Hot Dogs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portillo's Hot Dogs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.