We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms the size of a closet” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Felix

Save Saved
You added Hotel Felix to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Felix
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   111 W. Huron St., Chicago, IL 60654   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Stay & Bike Package
Ranked #106 of 167 hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersSilver level
Apple Valley, MN
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
“Rooms the size of a closet”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2010

If I paid the going rate, which was $125 a night, when we stayed at the Felix on December 26th, I would have be disappointed. Instead, we used Priceline's "Name your own Price" feature and got the room for $56 a night, which made the tight confines easier to swallow.

We were in room 1006, a King bedded room.

Pros:
comfortable bed
nice bath products
Whole Foods down the street
Free, fast internet
Great TV

Cons:
ROOMS THE SIZE OF A STAMP. I warned my husband to be careful when walking around the bed, which was a tight squeeze, because it was easy to bang your shin. He banged his shin four times, and it isn't because he is a slow learner. It is because you just don't EXPECT a two inch clearance when you move around in a room.

NOISY HEATING UNIT. We ended up turning it off because of the sound of vibrating metal when the unit ran. The room stayed nicely warm with the unit off.

IF SOMEONE IS AT THE DESK, the other person has to climb over them in order to get past them.

The walk to the el station (Red line) was about five blocks, which is fine in nice weather and LONG when it is freezing and blowing. We prefer to stay closer to Michigan Ave.

If we were paying full fare, this would NOT be our choice. For the same price, you can get a bigger room in a better location.

When we are waiting to see if our 'bid' will be accepted via Priceline's "Name Your Own Price" feature, we usually chant "Not the Felix! Not the Felix! Please, not the Felix!" This time - it was.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,006 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    261
    376
    195
    98
    76
See reviews for
142
368
101
177
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
sandwich, il
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2010

I went to Chicago for concert with a bunch of friends and Hotel Felix was in the best location to our venue.plus so many food options.great time had by our whole bunch!!!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2010

In Chicago for a short business trip (3 days). We were able to book this hotel at a reasonable price through Priceline. Felt right at home and comfortable in this hotel. Rooms are on the small side, but not too cramped. The restuarant next door and onsite lounge were very convenient after a busy work day. Would definitely recommend for a short stay in town.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2010

I got this room through Priceline ($65/night) thinking I was getting a 5 star hotel. While this hotel is nice, it is definitely not a 5 star quality hotel. I was ready for a small room, but the room is REALLY small. We had a room with a queen bed and there is barely enough room to walk around the bed with our bags shoved up against the outside wall. We were in room 1109. From the end of the bed to the wall is 2'. From the side of the bed closest to the window, where there is a small desk, there is 3'. From the side of the bed interior, there is 2' and a small bed table. I hope that gives you an idea of the size of the room. I am a frequent European traveler and I am used to small hotel rooms, but this room is smaller than I anticipated. The TV is awesome.
The room and bathroom are very clean and there is great quality linens on the bed.
The staff have been very nice and helpful. I asked if they had a brochure for the Museum of Science and Industry and they told me that they don't have brochures. This seems odd to me, but since this is a very 'green' hotel, I understand.
Wifi is free and fast. Hotel is in a fantastic area!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2010

this hotel was perfect for the price. I went with a group of 6 and it was modern and what a great location. The staff was very nice also

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2010

We picked this hotel as a romantic holiday getaway. As soon as you walk in, you can feel the warmth of the fireplace and were greeted by a nice staff. Hotel Valet is 42.00 but if you park your car yourself in the lot across the street its 32.00. It was a good tip given to us by the bell hop. We used the fitness center which is extremely up to date with all new equipment, tvs attached to each machine. We even paid a visit to Asha Salon which is onsite. The entire hotel was redone so everything is brand new and beautiful. Do not expect the largest spaces in the world, but they did a great job of keeping the decor minimal but modern. The location was extremely close to shopping (state street) and to the Daley center for us to be able to visit the Christkindlmarket and check out the giant christmas tree. We ate dinner at Elate restaurant which is next door to the hotel. You do not have to walk outside of the hotel for it. The menu is not the largest in selection, but what we ordered was very tasty. It was a beautiful stay for my husband and I.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2010

We went to the city to see a concert and hotel Felix was in prime location!The staff was great loved the decor.Plus the bed was like sleeping at home. Best hotel bed EVER!! Super soft and cozy plus clean!!! great job hotel felix

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Felix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Felix

Address: 111 W. Huron St., Chicago, IL 60654
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Chicago
#26 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#47 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Felix 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4-star boutique luxury hotel in hip River North district, steps to Mag Mile / Galleries / Clubs. Sophisticated Accommodations; Relaxed Rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TravelClick, Travelocity, Tingo, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hotel Felix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Felix Hotel Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Felix, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.