We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is cool!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Felix

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Felix to your Saves list
Hotel Felix
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   111 W. Huron St., Chicago, IL 60654   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #114 of 177 Hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersGold level
Morrow, Ohio
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“This place is cool!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2009

Had to travel to downtown Chicago for business. I wanted something different and in a great location. The Hotel Felix was perfect. It's got a contemporary and "hip" feel to it. The bed was one of the most comfortable I've slept in. The bathroom was large and the shower was a true walk in shower with one of those large "rain shower" heads.

It is a boutique hotel and despite what others have said, the rooms are not tiny or small. I had a room on the 10th floor with a king bed and it was perfect.

ALL of the staff were attentive and extremely helpful.

This is definitely my new "go to" hotel in downtown Chicago. Loved it!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    437
    235
    110
    89
See reviews for
163
435
123
205
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2009

Recently stayed at the Hotel Felix in Chicago when we had a quick layover on the way to new York. Had never heard of hotel before so took a chance and wasn't disappointed. Near Chicago's magnificent mile, this place had great views. Room was spacious - I keep forgetting how big American hotel rooms can be!
Staff was courteous throughout. Didn't have a chance to eat here unfortunately. I spent a bit more than I normally would, but definitely worth the treat.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, PA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2009

We stayed at the Hotel Felix in October - visiting our daughter for Parents Weekend at DePaul. The hotel staff was very friendly - and while the room was small, it was clean and the bath products and bathroom facilities were nice - love the H2O products! It is a few blocks to the EL stop and downtown locations. Try the restaurant YOLK for breakfast/brunch - about a block away, fantastic!. There was a great discount code on the DePaul website, so it was a bargain for the two night stay.

Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, CO
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2009

Great little hotel close to everything! We knew ahead of time that the rooms were small, and our room was no exception. But the bed was oh so comfortable, room temperature was perfect, and the decor very nice. I was a bit taken aback at the "closet" and lack of luggage rack (made my own out of the ironing board). The H2O products in the bathroom were great. We found a deal on the Chicago tourism site for $99 including breakfast- after tax it was $115. Our breakfast at their restaurant "Elate" was wonderful. Service was top notch!

Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2009

We had so much fun in the sleek, elegant and modern hotel. The staff were very friendly and prompt with any requests. The rooms were very comfortable. I was with 4 other women and we had 3 rooms--all were great!
I loved the location, walking distance from so many wonderful attractions.
We only stayed one night but it felt like a getaway in a very upscale hotel.
Also, rooms were very quiet and the whole hotel smelled really good (I have a very sensitive nose).

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2009

I was in Hotel Felix four nights for a conference. The hotel is located in a nice area of Chicago, and there are plenty of things happening around this area, including several nice restaurants and a Whole Foods near by.

When we arrived apparently they had overbooked so they offered us two separate rooms instead (we had four people and we asked for a room with two double beds) which is an extremely nice gesture and responsible thing to do. Now this is a boutique hotel, and for those of you who do not know what it means...the rooms were small. Regardless, the rooms were immaculately clean and the recent renovation was very apparent as everything looked incredibly NEW and spotless. They offered a nice bathrobe and boutique line toiletry so I was extremely impressed with that. The TV was a big flatscreen and the bed was soft and very, very comfy.

The fitness room was nice, however I was hoping for some more weights. Breakfast (continental) was complimentary with nice choices of fruit and a variety of pastries. Business center was nice to use and you can use the color injet printer and computers for free. Wireless internet was free and fast (faster on lower floors). Bellman opened the doors for you and you do feel like a small royality staying at here. The bar in the lobby looked nice although I didn't have time to try it out.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2009

Everyone there was extremely nice and helpful. Yes the rooms were a bit small but I wasn't going to live there.The best thing is how clean everything is.We would stay again and also recommend The Felix to anyone staying dowtown.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Felix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Felix

Address: 111 W. Huron St., Chicago, IL 60654
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Chicago
#27 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#57 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Felix 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4-star boutique luxury hotel in hip River North district, steps to Mag Mile / Galleries / Clubs. Sophisticated Accommodations; Relaxed Rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hotel Felix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Felix Hotel Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Felix, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.