We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Felix

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Felix to your Saves list
Hotel Felix
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   111 W. Huron St., Chicago, IL 60654   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #112 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersGold level
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Perfect location to do it all in a short amount of time. We were able to walk in MI Ave., late night deep dish dinner and drinks and sighting stops. Hotel was clean, modern and eco friendly. Easy in and out with parking near by or valet. In all nice single or couples spot.

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,088 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    410
    221
    106
    83
See reviews for
150
412
113
194
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Nice room although not too big -more like eurpean standard. however, the Friendly staff, Super comfy bed, Nice shower, Quietness and cleanliness all make up for it. Great value. Would definitely stay again. Recommend staying at the Hotel Felix.

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgejordan, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, yesterday
Hi Lcj6000 - We appreciate your review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and that our helpful staff was able to assist you. Thank you again for sharing your thoughts. Have a nice day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. The location is great. but, the rooms are the smallest ive ever stayed at anywhere. but, they were very clean and nice. just small. The hotel touts itself as a 'green' hotel, but there could have been more environmental aspects such as more recycling , encouragement to reuse towels, etc. from what I could tell, it wasn't much 'greener' than any other hotel.

Room Tip: Work with the front desk - they'll find you an ideal room
See more room tips
Green Features: Could have been more robust such as encouraging the reuse of towels.
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgejordan, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, yesterday
Hi Matt F - Thank you for sharing your review following your recent stay with us. We're glad to hear you enjoyed our urban location. While our rooms are cozy in nature, as Chicago's first Silver LEED certified hotel we're proud of our eco-friendly efforts. We encourage you to visit hotelfelixchicago.com to explore our many eco-friendly features including a recycling room. Thank you again for posting your review. Safe travels, and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coralville, Iowa, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My wife and I spent 2 nights celebrating our 40th anniversary. While the hotel and room are nicely decorated and well kept, the room is quite noisy. I like the fact that it was located enough away from Michigan Ave to avoid all the crowds, but between thin walls and being next to the elevator, the room was a bit noisy for me. It is small but I knew that many of the boutique hotels in Chicago are that way, so was not surprised about that nor disappointed. The only complaint about the room was their is only a shower, not a shower/tub combo. And the sink is a bit too shallow for my tastes. Overall, a very quaint hotel in a location close enough to walk to shopping, restaurants and night life.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgejordan, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, yesterday
Hi Doug S - Thank you for posting your review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our urban location central to dining, shopping and more. Thank you for your feedback regarding the noise. The depth of the sink is designed to conserve water in keeping with our eco-friendly policies. Safe travels, and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The hotel staff was very nice. The doormen were always so friendly to get a cab or whatever you needed. the location is great. but, the rooms are the smallest ive ever stayed at anywhere. but, they were very clean and nice. just small

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights. Room was small by US standards but good and clean. Well stocked bathroom. Helpful friendly staff on the front desk. Had a great night at the restaurant downstairs with a night of locals singing with a piano accompaniment. I think this happens every Wednesday. The food was just OK but the atmosphere was great. One singer was in her 90s and was incredible for her age.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgejordan, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Hi cafeboy49 - Thank you for posting your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our helpful staff was able to assist you. While our rooms are cozy in nature, as Chicago's first Silver LEED certified hotel we're proud of our eco-friendly efforts. We’re glad you were able to visit neighboring restaurants while staying in Chicago. We do not own or manage Troquet, the restaurant adjacent to us, but we do appreciate your sentiments. Thank you for sharing them. Safe travels, and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I just returned from a stay at the Felix. There was some good and some not so good. First, the location was pretty nice. I usually like to stay in the Loop, but got this place quite cheap through Priceline. There were tons of restaurants (chain and non-chain) very nearby. There was also a Whole Foods a couple blocks away which was handy. The hotel itself is about 5 blocks from Michigan Ave. I was able to walk to shopping, the MCA, and even the Xmas Market at Daley Plaza. The neighborhood was safe and walkable.

Now, the not so good. As other people have said, the room was TINY. Possibly the smallest hotel room I've ever stayed in. The room itself seemed clean, but the hallway didn't. There was a rag left from someone's room service tray, as well as other trash, laying in the hall all day. Yuck. It was also noisy. The ventilation/heating system kept me up because of the noise. Finally, this place touts itself as a green hotel. Then why is there no recycling bin in the room? Seems like an obvious omission.

Anyway, it was ok. For the price I paid, it was fine, but there is definitely room for improvement.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Felix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Felix

Address: 111 W. Huron St., Chicago, IL 60654
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Chicago
#28 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#52 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Felix 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4-star boutique luxury hotel in hip River North district, steps to Mag Mile / Galleries / Clubs. Sophisticated Accommodations; Relaxed Rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, TravelClick, Travelocity, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Felix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Felix Hotel Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Felix, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.