We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, but small and expensive” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Felix

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Felix to your Saves list
Hotel Felix
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   111 W. Huron St., Chicago, IL 60654   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #112 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersGold level
Centerville, Ohio
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Nice, but small and expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We stayed at Hotel Felix while in town for a wedding. The room was fine, but very small. I understand though that it's a boutique hotel, but some of the frustrating things were just having a pedestal sink in the bathroom. That was a silly move on whomever designed the bathroom part, it makes it almost impossible to get ready.

The parking is $55/day so you may be better off finding parking nearby that may be cheaper.

Good side, the staff was all nice and the hotel was clean. We were on the 11th floor so it was very quiet. Downtown Chicago is sure expensive in the summertime for lodging.

Room Tip: Request a higher level room to ensure a quiet night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgejordan, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Hi Serendipity5963 - Thank you for posting your review with us. That particular sink is designed to conserve water in keeping with our eco-friendly policies. While our rooms are cozy in nature, as Chicago's first Silver LEED certified hotel we're proud of our eco-friendly efforts. Our valet parking service includes unlimited in- and out-privileges and is competitively priced with parking in Chicago’s downtown area. We are happy to hear that you had a positive experience with our staff, and we hope you had a great time at the wedding! Safe travels, and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,086 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    409
    221
    106
    83
See reviews for
150
411
113
194
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

First trip to Chicago. Stayed here 3 nights. The hotel is off the main drag but not too far. 2 couples in one room, 407. Small room but never felt cramped. The hotel/room was very clean. Some street noise but not an issue. Beds/ linens were very comfortable. Slept like a rock. Nice location. Comfortable walk to Michigan Avenue. Plenty of food/drink options in the area. Also well within walking distance. Staff was polite, helpful & seemed genuine. Free coffee available every morning in the lobby. Taxis readily available at the front door. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgejordan, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Hi david p - We would like to express our appreciation for sharing with us and others your thoughts on your recent stay. We are happy to hear that you had a great experience with our staff, and enjoyed our location central to dining, shopping, attractions, and more. Thank you again for your time and we look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Really cute boutique hotel, super friendly staff, can't beat the location, awesome value for the price, would definitely recommend Hotel Felix! Compared to the cost of other hotels for a summer weekend in Chicago, Hotel Felix saved my pocket book and completely exceeded my expectations. Just a short 10 minute walk to magnificent mile and all the city attractions.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgejordan, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Hi Jessica M - Thank you very much for posting your review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our urban location, just steps away from Chicago’s landmarks, including the Magnificent Mile, museums, shopping and more. Thank you again for visiting us and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

A friend and I stayed at the Hotel Felix for three days recently, the room was clean and modern looking, the staff were friendly and knowledgeable and we thought the price was very reasonable! We would highly recommend this hotel and we look forward to returning to the Hotel Felix in the future!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgejordan, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Hi Alison H - Thank you for choosing us for you recent trip to Chicago. I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit. We look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago de los Caballeros, Santiago, Dominican Republic
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

We are in the hotel now and we have 3 more days to go,the rooms are so small and its expensive,nothing in the rooms but a uncomfortable beds and pillows,nothing else and costumer service 0+0 base on my experience!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgejordan, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Hi Jessica P - Thank you for taking the time to share your review after staying with us. While our rooms are cozy in nature, as Chicago's first Silver LEED certified hotel we're proud of our eco-friendly efforts. We are sorry to hear that you were not comfortable. Hotel Felix does meet the standards of a four-star hotel, and we are priced competitively for the area. With regard to your customer service experience, we hope that the front desk was able to assist you with any specific issues you may have had during your stay. Thank you again for posting your review. Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palos Heights, Illinois
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

This hotel is in a great location that makes it easy to walk to great shopping and restaurants. Staff was friendly, our room was ready when we got there a little early, and it is clean and modern. We were only looking for a place to sleep so the small room size didn't really bother us. However if we had been staying more than one night it would probably have been an issue. Just to give you an idea of the size of the Queen room, the width is the bed plus two small nightstands on either side. The bathroom is also pretty tight. There is no room on the sink to keep your toiletries, and the door needs to be shut for you to get into the shower. Also, our AC was pretty loud while we were trying to sleep.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgejordan, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Hi chicagolefty - Thank you for choosing Hotel Felix for your recent trip to Chicago. While our rooms are cozy in nature, as Chicago's first Silver LEED certified hotel we're proud of our eco-friendly efforts. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay, and we hope to see you again soon. Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

My boss's assistant forgot to made a reservation for me. However, front desk employee was more than friendly and able to get me a room and company corporate rate, which wasn't available due to two conferences in town and limited availability.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgejordan, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Hi Juan P - Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are happy that our front desk staff was able to assist you with your reservation. Safe travels, and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Felix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Felix

Address: 111 W. Huron St., Chicago, IL 60654
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Chicago
#28 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#52 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Felix 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4-star boutique luxury hotel in hip River North district, steps to Mag Mile / Galleries / Clubs. Sophisticated Accommodations; Relaxed Rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Travelocity, TravelClick, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Felix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Felix Hotel Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Felix, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.