We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy rooms, good for a short stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Felix

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Felix to your Saves list
Hotel Felix
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   111 W. Huron St., Chicago, IL 60654   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #113 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersGold level
Thunder Bay, Ontario
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Cozy rooms, good for a short stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Stayed for a single night after booking on HotWire while we were flying through Chicago.

Great location in River North, close to bars and restaurants and trolley tour stop.

Clean, modern rooms, very small (think two feet around the bed with a small bathroom). Good for a single night where we weren't unpacking though we barely had room for our suitcases (coming from a two week tropical trip).

Would stay here again, the hotel bar is good, and the location could not be beat. Though I wouldn't stay for longer than a night or two.

Downsides besides tiny room, the hotel wireless is awful, and cleaning staff are loud in the mornings. But we didn't seem to find walls as thin as other guests.

Room Tip: We stayed in 212 at the end of a hall and were pleased
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgejordan, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Hi digerati - Thank you for choosing Hotel Felix during your recent stay in Chicago! While our rooms are cozy in nature, as Chicago's first Silver LEED certified hotel we're proud of our eco-friendly efforts. Glad you got to enjoy the hotel bar and surrounding attractions, too. We very much appreciate your taking the time to post a review and we hope to see you again soon. Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,091 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    411
    222
    106
    84
See reviews for
150
414
113
195
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Room was very reasonable (albeit I visited in early March- Brrrr). The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. My room was very small but very clean. Boutique hotel. Had a cute lobby bar and they guys who take care of your car are amazing. Will definitely return this summer!

Green Features: This is a VERY eco-friendly hotel. In fact, that's what they're known for.
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgejordan, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Hi mthede1 - Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review. We appreciate your kind remarks, and are glad you were able to take advantage of the lobby bar, as well as parking. We are also very proud of our eco-friendly efforts and Silver LEED certification, so thank you for that comment. We look forward to seeing you again when the weather warms up!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Alegre
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

The hotel is excellent; very good location, gives complimentary WiFi in all the areas of the hotel, including the rooms.
Gives complimentary tea and coffee during breakfast time, and also has a very nice restaurant in the ground floor.

Green Features: the hotel has the Silver LEED Certificate, the only one in Chicago.
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgejordan, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Hi clarissarech - Thank you for choosing Hotel Felix during your recent visit to Chicago! We appreciate your kind remarks and are very happy that you enjoyed the complimentary Wi-Fi, as well as the complimentary coffee and tea during breakfast. We noticed your note about our Silver LEED certification - we are very proud of our eco-friendly efforts! Thank you again for review and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arena, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

We booked this hotel via Hotwire, and were a bit nervous after reading reviews on here and elsewhere. We stayed in room 508, which I think is one of the smallest rooms (judging by the emergency exit map!) but honestly that didn't bother us at all. It had almost everything we needed; a super comfy bed, a TV with cable, and a good bathroom with a large shower. Missing were a fridge (even a teeny tiny small one would have been nice, for storing leftovers) and a fan in the bathroom.

We weren't impressed with the restaurant - small portions, inattentive service, and the "bottomless mimosa brunch" is an add-on to a regular entree, not a true brunch. Not what we were expecting. The food was tasty, however, but with so many other options in the area, there's not much there to recommend it.

For our needs though, it was just about perfect. We didn't spend a lot of time in our room anyway (too much to do!) and the time we did was spent in a very comfortable bed with plenty of pillows. Not sure if I would pay full price for their rooms, but it was wonderful for what we paid for it.

TL:DR - If you get this hotel via Hotwire, don't worry! It will be fine! Have a great trip!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgejordan, Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Hi odiedragon - Thank for staying with us during your recent visit to Chicago! We appreciate your positive comments. In keeping with our ecofriendly policies, we do not automatically equip guest rooms with refrigerators. We do provide guests with mini fridges upon request though, pending availability, with advance notice preferred.

We’re happy to hear you were able to visit neighboring restaurants while staying in Chicago. We do not own or manage Troquet, the restaurant adjacent to us, but we do appreciate your sentiments. Thank you for sharing them.

Thank you again for your review and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Illinois
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

We stayed one night at the Hotel Felix this past weekend and were happy with our choice! The rooms weren't huge, but they were laid out well in our opinion. An example is that instead of having a large chest of drawers, the drawers were located under the king sized bed to save space. The bathroom was large, and the shower was 48" with plenty of hot water. It is an Eco-friendly hotel as well, which we appreciated.

The only negative things about the property were that our heating/AC fan was very loud (it sounded like it was signaling S.O.S. constantly...no joke), as were the neighbors who had several screaming children. Kind of a bummer since we had left our kids home and were looking forward to some quiet time! Not the hotel's fault though.

We plan to stay here again the next time we come up to Chicago since it was so close to everything!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgejordan, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Hi Mo C - Thank you for taking the time to post your review with us! We're glad you enjoyed your stay, and we are very proud of the eco-friendly amenities you noticed. We hope to see you again soon. Enjoy the rest of your day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

My husband and I, Chicago residents, stayed until 3:30 a.m. last night at the Hotel Felix. We booked a room day of through a popular online booking agent where we "named our price" for a 4 star hotel. I am familiar with hotel Felix as my company has a rate with the hotel and books many rooms at the hotel; therefore, I was happy hotel Felix was the result. I assuming that the "name your price" payment must have been the reason we received such poor service; however, in my opinion, all guests should be treated equal no matter how they book. We were given a small room right next to the elevator with torn drapes and shower curtain (room 514). Whatever, not a big deal I thought and we went out to shop and have dinner. Dinner at the former LM Bistro now Troquet (connected to hotel) was yummy as always! At about 2 a.m. our neighbors became very loud. They were not screaming just sounded like 10 people socializing right next to the wall our headboard was on. At about 3 a.m., we called down to Jordan at front desk to ask if he could request that the room quiet down. At 3:30, I called Jordan again asking if we could be moved rooms because of the noise. Jordan, lacking any customer service training apparently, refused and provided no solution despite my repeated requests. We checked out 15 minutes later during the middle of the night to return home. Jordan was still unapologetic and flat out rude. There are many similarly priced hotels in the area which will be getting my and my company's business in the future.

Room Tip: Not 514 - very thin walls
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgejordan, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Hi Jennifer C - Thank you for taking the time to post your review. With regard to your customer service experience and issues with the noise and the in-room amenities, we are looking into this situation and will conduct remedial training as appropriate. Thank you again and have a nice day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell, Indiana
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

We enjoyed our visit, enjoyed the Troquet Restaurant.
Parking was on the expensive side, but that is anywhere in Chicago.
Close to everything with a short taxi ride.
The Lobby Bar was open late, which was nice to be able to stop there for a night cap.
Will stay there again, hopefully in the summertime we will be able to walk around and
see the neighborhood more.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgejordan, Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Hello Jeri - We're happy to hear you had a great stay while you were in town. We're also happy you found our location convenient as we're located right in the heart of downtown Chicago. Just as you said - we're a short cab ride away from everything and also walking distance to Chicago's attractions.

We hope to see you again soon. Thanks Jeri.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Felix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Felix

Address: 111 W. Huron St., Chicago, IL 60654
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Chicago
#28 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#52 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Felix 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4-star boutique luxury hotel in hip River North district, steps to Mag Mile / Galleries / Clubs. Sophisticated Accommodations; Relaxed Rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Felix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Felix Hotel Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Felix, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.