We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very small rooms but great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   640 North Wabash Ave, Chicago, IL 60611   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #94 of 168 hotels in Chicago
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very small rooms but great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

By God...we were shocked. On a vacation to US and we came from LA tired. We went to Holiday Inn Cass Hotel in Wabash Avenue. Initially we were very happy to find accomodation in the magnificient mile area. But as we entered the room, we were surprised and breathless. My goodness, it was a 10×10 room with the bed occupying the major portion, room no. 1006. There was no room to open our bags. No place to dry our wet clothes..courtesy the weather in Chicago. We contacted front desk but they said sorry for tonight as the hotel was full. We thought of checking out, but it was raining really hard that evening. So we put on for the night. The next morning we went to the front desk and spoke to Mr.Corey. A fine person, Mr. Corey tried his best to solve our problem and gave us room no. 1000. This was a room with a slightly bigger dimension and we were relieved.
Rooms are ok and clean but very very small comparing to American standards.


Location wise, hotel is situated in a very nice location. There are many restaurents in Ontario street a block away. Major attractions like Hancock tower, Navy Pier and the lake beach are close by and within $ 10-15 by taxi.
Breakfast is usual and good. Complementary Wifi is fast. No fridge in room, no irons or rack to dry your clothes.
Service is good. Concergie is avaiable. They were kind to bring the luggage to the rooms.
It is a hotel which is good if you plan to use the room for a night's sleep. Great locational advantage for the low price for the room. Bus and CTA trains to OHare is just a few blocks away.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TODD V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Hi Utpaljeet B,

Thank you very much for your review. I am happy to hear Corey was able to help you find a room that suited you during your stay. I will pass on the positive feedback. I am glad you enjoyed our location right in the heart of downtown Chicago steps away from shopping, restaurants, and entertainment,as well as the CTA. Thank you again for writing a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

591 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    150
    267
    108
    42
    24
See reviews for
95
159
67
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Pennsylvania
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

The best two things about this Holiday Inn Express (housed in the old Cass Hotel) are the location and the price. It is just a couple of blocks from Michigan Avenue and multiple bus lines, as well as about 3 blocks from the Red El line. There's a Starbucks and a Trader Joe's across the street and many restaurants and shops a half block away. The rooms and bathrooms are very very small. Upon seeing our room (and I'm a longtime Platinum member), we asked for a larger room and were told we had one of the largest. It was smaller than many European hotels, with a tiny dresser inside a small closet and a super-small bathroom (the tub was full-size but old). The bed was a bit too soft and could stand a new mattress; the room was a little dusty, as though nobody had stayed there in awhile. The included breakfast is the typical HIE type; nothing special, but it's nice to grab yogurt and fruit without having to pay Chicago prices. The cost of this hotel was significantly less than others nearby. Valet parking is available but very expensive ($49); but who needs a car in Chicago? The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: The top floors have (slightly) larger rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

A first class location for a Holiday inn Express. Accommodation in Chicago can be very expensive, especially so close to the sought after Magnificent Mile. The hotel rates are not in the usual budget bracket, but in this locality can be seen to be relatively competitive. Whatever price you negotiate, it will include a buffet breakfast, one with many choices.

The Cass is a very old hotel, somewhere around a century or so, and the Holiday Inn chain have, where they can, maintained features. The lift shafts are smaller than present day ones, so, will not be so fast in use. The rooms are based on original structure

The rooms are very compact, you need to be clever in your use of the space. Storage is limited. Every room has a capacious personal safe box. The top of ours made additional shelf space. The equally compact ensuite has all the necessities, and a low level bath/shower. Reasonable quality towels and wash flannels were supplied.

Rooms have air-conditioning. We tried not to use it to keep noise in the room down at night. this may not be possible in the Summer months when temperatures will be different to those we experienced. Our bed was quite comfortable. However, you could feel a bit of a dip in the mattress. The rooms have a tea/coffee, hot water machine with supplies. Being on a higher floor, street noise was minimal even though we were in the heart of a major city.

The Cass is used by many varied groups of people, weekend vacationers, business people and, a few like us, having a longer stay. In particular, at weekends, it can be a very busy place, especially at breakfast. The hotel breakfast staff take it all in their stride. There is a super pancake machine. Press a button and a minute or so later, two beautifully formed and cooked pancakes appear.

City transport is very good. There are buses, underground trains and the metra ( they're like suburban trains). Best to get a transport card if using local transport. The latest one is called A Ventra Card, which you top up at machines found in any station. The Hotel Reception staff can advise on this and most other tourist travel queries as well.

Hotel staff were excellent, reception were efficient, housekeeping was good and staff were friendly. The hotel was maintained to high standards of cleanliness and presentation.

Room Tip: If you don't mind waiting a bit longer for an elevator sometimes, rooms on higher floors are le...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TODD V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Hi ZAC_ZACL,

Thank you so much for your thorough review. We are a fully renovated historic hotel in the heart of the Loop, and our rooms are comparable in size to similar hotels in the downtown Chicago area. We have amenities that accommodate all travelers including free wifi and a hot complementary breakfast. Thank you again for your review, and I hope to see you again soon. Todd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Came back after a few years and everything was still on par with the last stay. Small, but well priced and perfectly located. Staff was great. Breakfast is basic, but good enough. The elevators can be a bit of a problem with as many people that ride them, but I just take the stairs on the way out. Walked all the way south through the parks to soldier field one day, walked north up Michigan to the beach the next. Best value in the city.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TODD V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Hi BuckeyeStu,

Thank you for writing a review, and thank you for staying with us again even after all that time. It is a to know that our service and amenities live up to your previous stay and expectations. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our location in downtown Chicago, and took advantage of the great parks in Chicago. Thank you again for writing a review. Hope to see you again soon. Todd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Babylon, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Fran at front desk is exceptionally helpful and informative and provided many valuable tips to make our visit a joy. We would recommend the Cass to friends for it's great location and staff. The rooms are small (very European)...but affordable.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TODD V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Hi JonnyMac128,

Thank you so much for writing a review. I will pass on the positive review to Fran, at Hotel Cass we pride ourselves on a helpful and friendly staff. I am thrilled to hear that you would recommend the Hotel Cass to friends. Thank you again, and I hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
omaha, nebraska
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Since it's an older hotel, the room I stayed in was quite small (comparable to a dorm room). However, it was conviently located near many CTA connections, Miracle Mile, the river/ Loop area, and a plethora of shops and restaurants. Clean, with a variety of complementary breakfast options. Only issue came when I asked the "best" way to get to Toyota Park and the desk printed off some confusing Google directions. Besides that, the staff was friendly; overall, good experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear bloom25,

Thank you for posting a review about your recent stay. It is nice to read about your overall good experience. It is great that our location was beneficial for the purpose of your travel and I thank you for your comments about our friendly staff. On the other hand, we are very sorry the size of the room did not meet your expectations. If there is anything we can do to make your next stay with us more enjoyable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty. We look forward to the pleasure of serving you again on your next trip to Chicago.


Kind Regards,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bham
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

I made my reservation for two room long time ago for the expo held in Chicago. First they did not want to give me one of the rooms, because they said I had just one room, even though they had charged me already for both rooms.
I decieded I was not going anywhere until I had the other room I was already charged for. Finally, I was given the other room. Next morning, I found out that they had charged to my credit card another charge for 400 USD. When I ask what this charge was for, they said it was because of a sudden change of rate, EVEN THOUGH I HAD RESERVED BOTH ROOMS FOR THE SAME RATE!!! I show the email with both reservations and they said they were going to change them. Next day I asked if the changes were done and they were not. The manager said she was taking care of that, and that she was changing the "mistake" right away. When I checked out, both bills appeared to be correct. Just beware of the extra charges done to your room.

Room Tip: There is no room service/restaurant in the hotel. However, breakfast service is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear prizwis,

Thank you for writing a review about your experience. We are glad that you chose our hotel for the expo you have recently attended. Please accept our apologies for the difficulties you had experienced at check-in. It is nice to know that after some initial issues, the Manager on Duty was able to sort this out and allowed you to enjoy your stay with us. Should your future travel plans bring you back to Chicago, we would love to serve you again.

Kind Regards,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass

Address: 640 North Wabash Ave, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#74 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#97 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our Holiday Inn Express Magnificent Mile Hotel. Our downtown Chicago hotel, conveniently located off Michigan Avenue on the Magnificent Mile, is situated in the heart of Chicago near several businesses and attractions. Business travelers will appreciate our downtown Chicago hotel location near major companies such as Deloitte, Boeing, AT&T, Sun Microsystems, Computer Sciences Corp. and Northwestern Hospital. Flying into Chicago? Our Chicago hotel is close to O'Hare (18 miles) and Midway (12 miles) Airports, saving time for the busy executive. Staying at this landmark Chicago hotel will make it easy to visit popular Chicago attractions like the Shedd Aquarium, the Art Institute, Navy Pier, Lincoln Park Zoo and Millennium Park. Catch a game with one of the 16 professional sports teams in town. At our Chicago downtown hotel, you're just 2 blocks away from Michigan Ave, Chicago's Magnificent Mile. Newly renovated, this historic Holiday Inn Express Magnificent Mile hotel has 175 guestrooms and 3 suites. The public areas reflect 1920s Beaux Arts' architecture and feature a great room with comfortable seating areas for the complimentary Express Start breakfast. Our Chicago hotel provides a chic, urban setting that is Wi-Fi friendly, stylishly updated and convenient to downtown businesses and attractions. Whether you visit Chicago for business or vacation travel, stay comfortably at our Magnificent Mile hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Chicago
Holiday Inn Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.