We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a great get-a-way...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   640 North Wabash Ave, Chicago, IL 60611   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Savings!
Ranked #97 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Chatham
1 review
“Had a great get-a-way...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express - Magnificent Mile for 3 nights. Overall, our stay was excellent.

Just a few of things we kept saying over and over again was:
- the location is perfect!! - nice and close to all the "things to do" in Chicago
- the staff were very friendly and helpful
- continental breakfast was very good - lots of choices
- the rooms:
- are a little small, but they have made great use of the space
there is
- clean and modern
- bed was very comfortable

We really didn't have any "cons", but I want to give an honest review, so I should just include a couple very minor things:
- I wish there a few more "healthy" options at the breakfast - maybe more of a variety of yogurt - the kind
offered was very high in fructose corn syrup - but again, there
were lots of other great choices (ie. eggs, sausage,
pancakes, etc.)
- the air conditioning in the room was a little loud when it came
on during the night

Again, overall we had a great stay at this hotel. We will definitely stay there again when we go back to Chicago.

Room Tip: We stayed in a king room - was perfect for us - even had a microwave, mini fridge and coffee maker.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCass, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for your review Meredith R! We are thrilled you enjoyed our stay with us, including our friendly staff, complimentary breakfast and comfortable beds. We'll take your breakfast suggestions into consideration. Thanks again and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

647 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    294
    119
    47
    23
See reviews for
109
173
77
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed 6 nights and this hotel has really great value.
Great location at just two blocks of the Michigan Ave.
Express breakfast is more than you can expect for a 3* hotel.

As improvement I can mention that air conditioning is noisy specially in the 8th floor where I stayed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCass, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for your review Juanpi_Garcia! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at our hotel (and especially our hot complimentary breakfast). Thank you for your air conditioning suggestion. Have a great day and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

Great location but the rooms were beyond tiny and in poor condition. If you wanted to open the door all the way you had to put your suitcase on the bed. Way too small for two people. Wallpaper was peeling off and the decor was not attractive. Not worth the expense of almost 180 plus tax

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear Rachael K,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re very sorry you were not satisfied with the condition of the room. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

I was very pleased with my experience at this hotel. The price was good for my needs and the location was perfect, just a short walk to Michigan ave. I was not expecting the same level of service you would receive at a higher priced hotel, but I did receive it. The bellman immediately had my bags out of the taxi on arrival and took them inside for me. When leaving, they took care of getting me a cab back to the airport and loaded my luggage. It was a beautiful setting, great history and the space in my room was well utilized. I would definitely come back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCass, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Hi Skip A, thanks so much for your review. We're thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us. We also appreciate your kind words for our bellman! We hope you'll come and visit our gem of a hotel again sometime soon - thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Booked two rooms for a guys weekend. We liked the location of the hotel. Price was a little on the high side, but it was in downtown Chicago, so it was to be expected. We had a room with a view, but they are very few in the hotel, because of its odd shape and location. The rooms were small, but not uncomfortably or inconveniently so. The hotel was built in the '20s, and under the modern veneer, its age is visible in the layout. The breakfast was great, fully stocked, and the constantly being replenished. The staff was fantastic, from the front desk, doormen, maintenance and the cleaning staff, all friendly, approachable and professions. We had a great time, and would definitely stay again. The beds were also great. The only annoyance, and a minor one at that, was the parking garage across the street. Everytime someone exits the garage, an annoying alarm sounds to warn pedestrians of the cars approach. It is very loud, clearly audible in our room. It took me three days to figure out what it was.

Room Tip: There is a Trader Joe's across the street for some healthy snacks and drinks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCass, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for your review McBone! We're absolutely glowing from your kind words on our staff. We work very hard to ensure our guests have the best experience possible and are so glad you did! Unfortunately the noise from the parking garage is a result of our location in the heart of downtown. Thanks again and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

This is a smaller hotel with a great history. Rooms are small but updated and clean. Service is wonderful. I stayed here by myself visiting my son. Its convenient to the red line making it easy to meet up and get from the airport. The location is right near many restaurants and shopping. If you are looking for a reasonable rate and a good location this is it. They serve a buffet breakfast in the morning. It was originally the Cass hotel which was built in the 1920's so it has some history to it too. What a great location!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCass, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for your review casscop! We're thrilled you enjoyed our charming property and we were honored to host you while you were in town visiting your son. Thanks again and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown Heights
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

I too selected this property based on the reviews. The hotel calls this a "European Style" hotel. Having never been to Europe I thought this meant simple furniture and a continental breakfast which is provided. It meant tiny rooms! Still I was very comfortable. The bathroom was clean and pleasant and the bed very comfortable. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The location fantastic! The price, staff, comfort of the bed, location and quality light breakfast makes this a hotel I would frequent again and recommend. Be warned the rooms are amazingly tiny!

Room Tip: ask for a queen bed room center hall
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCass, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for your review Neal F. We're thrilled you enjoyed our helpful staff, phenomenal location, comfortable bedding and delicious complimentary hot breakfast. Thanks again and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass

Address: 640 North Wabash Ave, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#85 Family Hotel in Chicago
#89 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass 3*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our Holiday Inn Express Magnificent Mile Hotel. Our downtown Chicago hotel, conveniently located off Michigan Avenue on the Magnificent Mile, is situated in the heart of Chicago near several businesses and attractions. Business travelers will appreciate our downtown Chicago hotel location near major companies such as Deloitte, Boeing, AT&T, Sun Microsystems, Computer Sciences Corp. and Northwestern Hospital. Flying into Chicago? Our Chicago hotel is close to O'Hare (18 miles) and Midway (12 miles) Airports, saving time for the busy executive. Staying at this landmark Chicago hotel will make it easy to visit popular Chicago attractions like the Shedd Aquarium, the Art Institute, Navy Pier, Lincoln Park Zoo and Millennium Park. Catch a game with one of the 16 professional sports teams in town. At our Chicago downtown hotel, you're just 2 blocks away from Michigan Ave, Chicago's Magnificent Mile. Newly renovated, this historic Holiday Inn Express Magnificent Mile hotel has 175 guestrooms and 3 suites. The public areas reflect 1920s Beaux Arts' architecture and feature a great room with comfortable seating areas for the complimentary Express Start breakfast. Our Chicago hotel provides a chic, urban setting that is Wi-Fi friendly, stylishly updated and convenient to downtown businesses and attractions. Whether you visit Chicago for business or vacation travel, stay comfortably at our Magnificent Mile hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Chicago
Holiday Inn Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.