We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small rooms but very clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   640 North Wabash Ave, Chicago, IL 60611   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #100 of 177 Hotels in Chicago
North Bay, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Small rooms but very clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We looked for a hotel that was affordable for Chicago. This was but the rooms are quite small and then parking is a issue. Remember that when booking a hotel you have to take into consideration parking, if you are driving, of about $40-$50 extra a night. The rooms were very clean and the air-condition worked wonderfully. Close to everything so we didn't have to take the care out the two days we were there. Would book this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCass, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for your review JillMarch2012! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Thanks and have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    318
    125
    51
    23
See reviews for
117
191
84
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Little Canada, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

The room was small, which I had read in other reviews, but not too bad. The toiletries, kleenex and toilet paper were sporadically refreshed. The breakfast was ok, but nothing great. The room was clean. It was hard to regulate the temperature. Elevators were slow. A TV came on loudly every morning at 5:30. Location was fine, close to restaurants, Navy Pier - a Trader Joe's across the street.. A short walk to the Red Line. Coffee and tea were available all day. The staff was friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCass, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for your review cds02. We appreciate it and hope you have a nice day! Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is a great find if you want to be close to the Magnificent Mile. The staff were very friendly and extremely helpful. Yes, the rooms are on the small side - for the price and the location you could do far worse!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCass, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thanks for your review Hamish P! We're glad you enjoyed our location and helpful staff. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for a few nights in early July..met by friendly & efficient staff..room on the 12th floor was small but it was perfect for dumping ur luggage & heading out sight seeing..the elevators are a tad slow so bare that in mind when trying to catch an ordered taxi!!..the only thing I disliked was the breakfast, needs a personal touch plus real cutlery & plates!!..styrofoam plates etc &.ppl just sitting on their own..no one communicating/being friendly..I know that the area is tight for space but few small things might improve overall rating..loved the staff, v clean hotel & good location..what more could you ask for??? :-)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCass, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for your review A1observer. We're pleased to offer our guests a complimentary hot breakfast each morning; thanks again and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terre Haute, Indiana
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

OK I understand that everyone says the rooms are small and I agree SMALL. The room is great fro sleeping and I had a great view of the Trump Tower. The breakfast was hot, tasty and very fresh. The staff was nice and checked us in very swiftly and professionally. I enjoyed the 16th floor very much and I found it to be very Historical and very updated. Starbucks across the street and Trader Joe's so close to get a snack. Great for a week end in River North and the Magnificent Mile, so Yes the rooms are small but the experience is GREAT.

Room Tip: 16th Floor has a great VIEW.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCass, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for your review 1724Wabash! We're thrilled you had a great experience staying with us and we hope to see you again soon. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogers, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Stayed here a couple of times.. This time was for the Jimmy Buffet show. Great location as its two blocks from Magnificent Mile. It is also a block from Uno's Pizza and its brother, Due. Both great, original pizza places.. Plenty of restaurants and shopping. Hotel was clean, rooms are smaller, but have everything you need. Breakfast was usual hotel hot breakfast. Elevators were slow, for sure. Staff was friendly and very helpful

Room Tip: There is no pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCass, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for your review Stanley Ray H! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and got the chance to see Jimmy Buffet! Please visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This hotel is an old hotel (i.e. Cass) and it is setup like one. If you park your own car, you have to go outside with your bags to get to the hotel (the hotel is not associated with the parking). The hotel front desk was having a conversation with a friend while I stood there waiting for him to finish his personal conversation. He was not very helpful. The rooms are very small. You have room for two double beds and that is it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCass, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for your review jwebsterMinnesota. We're looking into the issue you raised with the front desk and will conduct remedial training as necessary. Thank you again and we hope you have a nice day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass

Address: 640 North Wabash Ave, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#86 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#87 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass 3*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our Holiday Inn Express Magnificent Mile Hotel. Our downtown Chicago hotel, conveniently located off Michigan Avenue on the Magnificent Mile, is situated in the heart of Chicago near several businesses and attractions. Business travelers will appreciate our downtown Chicago hotel location near major companies such as Deloitte, Boeing, AT&T, Sun Microsystems, Computer Sciences Corp. and Northwestern Hospital. Flying into Chicago? Our Chicago hotel is close to O'Hare (18 miles) and Midway (12 miles) Airports, saving time for the busy executive. Staying at this landmark Chicago hotel will make it easy to visit popular Chicago attractions like the Shedd Aquarium, the Art Institute, Navy Pier, Lincoln Park Zoo and Millennium Park. Catch a game with one of the 16 professional sports teams in town. At our Chicago downtown hotel, you're just 2 blocks away from Michigan Ave, Chicago's Magnificent Mile. Newly renovated, this historic Holiday Inn Express Magnificent Mile hotel has 175 guestrooms and 3 suites. The public areas reflect 1920s Beaux Arts' architecture and feature a great room with comfortable seating areas for the complimentary Express Start breakfast. Our Chicago hotel provides a chic, urban setting that is Wi-Fi friendly, stylishly updated and convenient to downtown businesses and attractions. Whether you visit Chicago for business or vacation travel, stay comfortably at our Magnificent Mile hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Chicago
Holiday Inn Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.