We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool but small room, pleasant staff, great location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   640 North Wabash Ave, Chicago, IL 60611   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Savings!
Ranked #96 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Cuyahoga Falls, OH
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Cool but small room, pleasant staff, great location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2008

We stayed here for a weekend and I was surprised how close it was to all the good stuff! Literally a hop and skip away to Michigan Ave! The room was small, but it was tastefully done--ours looked like the room from the picture on the website. If we wanted to spend more time in the room, I would have felt cramped, but we had a limited amount of time in the city, so it was good for the $140 we paid. The view from the room was nothing to write home about, but there was a nice flat screen tv in it and the bathroom was VERY CLEAN! There were some drunk people yelling in the hallway in the middle of the night, but they quieted down pretty quickly. I think that because of the location near many, many bars, that's to be expected. Staff was pleasant and helpful. There was a free breakfast with fresh fruit, bacon, eggs, cereal, etc.--the only problem was that people left their plates behind on the tables and kitchen staff didn't clean up those tables.

  • Liked — Location! Room decor was funky & chic. Staff helpful.
  • Disliked — Small room--don't bring a lot of luggage!
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    296
    120
    47
    23
See reviews for
109
177
77
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2008

Six of us drove from Toronto for a roadtrip to Chicago the weekend of April 19. After a long drive, we arrived at the hotel greeted by the doorman who was ready and eager to help us with our bags.

The location of the hotel was perfect. Walking distance to everywhere you wanted to go. It was great because i did not want to drive another kilometre while in the City. Had my fill of driving to and fro. Very close the Michigan Ave. Magnificent mile. The hotel is surrounded by restaurants, shopping, nightlife and tourist spots.

Rooms: We had 2 rooms for 6 people and it was perfect. The rooms were clean, tidy and nicely decorated. The HD tvs were a great touch. The towels were soft and the beds were firm. The rooms were on the smaller side.

The staff was friendly and always helpful with directions, recommending restaurants and other points of interest. The hotel offers free continental breakfast every morning which is perfect if you are on the go and complimentary coffe, tea and hot chocolate throughout the day. The lobby is beautiful and welcoming with plenty of places to sit and meet.

Overall, my friends and I had a pleasant experience and I would stay there again.

  • Liked — The location
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2008

Great location, but no restaurant, no fitness center. And my room was TINY...the size of a tuna can.
Stayed for a week, and felt too cramped to do anything. Noisy hallways, and I was on the top floor!
Not good for a business travelor, that needs bigwork space, room serivce, night time drink, etc.
Great for a weekend shopping trip with the girls, if you all get seperate rooms!
Great customer service though!

Won't stay again.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2008

As previous reviewers have commented... "the rooms are small". It's true. If you are one who needs to spread out, have special places to tuck clothes away and hang items up, this hotel choice may not be for you. However, if you're looking for a hotel that's very reasonably priced, has a great location, provides a nice breakfast bar that's free each morning, is nicely appointed and very clean... this may be a perfect match for you. My mother & I stayed here with my two girls for 3 nights. The American Girl Store, my daughters' favorite, was an easy walk. We walked everywhere, with exception of the Science and Industry Museum. We felt safe at all times & really enjoyed being able to get out and explore the city on our own. Everyone at the hotel was very friendly, helpful, and eager to please. If you are coming to Chicago to get out and see the city during the day & want to come home to a comfortable bed and very clean place everynight.... check out Hotel Cass Holiday Inn Express!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — no place to put your clothes
  • Stayed March 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brainerd
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2008

My wife & two kids stayed here for two nights last week. I used Holiday Inn Priority Club points so it was free except parking. As a veteran road warrior I thought I'd seen everything--but the room wasn't small..it was tiny. The only piece of furniture was a table the size of a dinner plate. A chair would have been nice but there would be no place to put it. Other than the room size we enjoyed our stay. Great staff, HD TV, an excellent free breakfast and a perfect location. This is a very good value for one or two people in the room. With young kids you need some down time and it was tough to do in the room.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Room was tiny
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2008

My mom and I stayed here for one night while visiting Chicago to see an Oprah taping. We needed a clean room for a short overnight trip and the Holiday Inn Hotel Cass did the trick. The red line train is two blocks away on E. Grand Ave and taxis are easy to access in front. Restaurants surround the area. Each staff member we encountered was pleasant and helpful. The lobby is nicely updated with a fireplace and sitting area. A complimentary breakfast is available beginning at 6:30am on weekdays in the lobby and I was impressed by the spread. The room, though compact, was clean, modern and agreeable for the price. We had a room on the street side offering us a nice view of the sears tower and other high rises.

On the negative side, the walls are thin and I could hear our neighbor’s TV and sirens from outside. A housekeeping cart was parked in front of our room making it impossible to enter without moving it and thankfully, we did because it remained outside our door our entire visit. The bathrooms, while nice, are tiny with no counter space. And although the hotel has been updated, perhaps the bathroom piping has not because it made a funny, loud belching sound every time the toilet flushed. But these concerns were minor during our one night stay and I was satisfied with our choice.

  • Liked — location and price
  • Disliked — thin walls
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2008

Not your average Holiday Inn Express!
This hotel had an elegant feel just a couple blocks off Michigan Avenue. Old brick building, nice lobby, great staff. The doorman was exceptional. Room are quite small but nicely appointed. The location can't be beat...walk to everything..shopping, dining, Art Institute, Millennium Park. Very reasonably priced for the great location. I would definitely stay there again on my next trip to Chicago and would recommend it to friends also.

  • Liked — location, location, location
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass

Address: 640 North Wabash Ave, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#85 Family Hotel in Chicago
#88 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass 3*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our Holiday Inn Express Magnificent Mile Hotel. Our downtown Chicago hotel, conveniently located off Michigan Avenue on the Magnificent Mile, is situated in the heart of Chicago near several businesses and attractions. Business travelers will appreciate our downtown Chicago hotel location near major companies such as Deloitte, Boeing, AT&T, Sun Microsystems, Computer Sciences Corp. and Northwestern Hospital. Flying into Chicago? Our Chicago hotel is close to O'Hare (18 miles) and Midway (12 miles) Airports, saving time for the busy executive. Staying at this landmark Chicago hotel will make it easy to visit popular Chicago attractions like the Shedd Aquarium, the Art Institute, Navy Pier, Lincoln Park Zoo and Millennium Park. Catch a game with one of the 16 professional sports teams in town. At our Chicago downtown hotel, you're just 2 blocks away from Michigan Ave, Chicago's Magnificent Mile. Newly renovated, this historic Holiday Inn Express Magnificent Mile hotel has 175 guestrooms and 3 suites. The public areas reflect 1920s Beaux Arts' architecture and feature a great room with comfortable seating areas for the complimentary Express Start breakfast. Our Chicago hotel provides a chic, urban setting that is Wi-Fi friendly, stylishly updated and convenient to downtown businesses and attractions. Whether you visit Chicago for business or vacation travel, stay comfortably at our Magnificent Mile hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Chicago
Holiday Inn Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.