We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN River North Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN River North Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN River North Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   125 West Ohio Street, Chicago, IL 60654 (Near North Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #84 of 177 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Milwaukee, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Clean, comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Walking distance to Michigan ave, bars, restaurants. Outside looks crummy, hallways look dingy, but the rooms and lobby are quite pleasant and well appointed, and the beds are very comfortable. Free parking is a plus, but they could be a little more generous with the time you need to leave their parking lot on day of check out - especially when their is plenty of space .

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverNorthHotel, Manager at BEST WESTERN River North Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Thank you for your review, and I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. With regards to parking we've found that if we don't consistently enforce our policies across the board, then we see a large increase in complaints about fairness. Because parking spots are guaranteed for each of our rooms, we have to ask that guests remove their vehicle upon checkout so that we have the available space to guarantee arriving guests have parking. We appreciate your understanding!

Samuel
Marketing Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,583 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    619
    621
    217
    77
    49
See reviews for
622
406
57
197
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
bettendorf
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

family weekend to see a ball game. the hotel staff is so friendly and on top of things. It is an older building but is kept up. They offer free parking. Is conviently located to public transportation and walking distant to key shopping and dining

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverNorthHotel, Manager at BEST WESTERN River North Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Thank you for your review. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay! We hope to see you again soon.

Samuel
Marketing Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Used it for dropping my kids off at Moody Bible Institute and it was a perfect location. This has been our best hotel experience in dropping the kids off to college to date. The pool and observation deck were also a nice unexpected surprise. The breakfast was very good, hot, fresh and served to order.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverNorthHotel, Manager at BEST WESTERN River North Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Thank you for your review! We're glad the college drop off went successfully. Thank you for the compliments, and we hope to see you again!

Samuel
Marketing Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saskatoon, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

Staff is very friendly and accomodating. Hotel is older but is very clean. Free parking is a big bonus. If you dont mind a little walking you are close enough to everything downtown. Would definitly stay at this hotel again. Would not recommend the rest that is attached to the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverNorthHotel, Manager at BEST WESTERN River North Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Thank you for your review and I'm happy you enjoyed your overall stay. We hope to see you again in Chicago.

Samuel
Marketing Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland, United States
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

Here's the deal on this hotel. You will read a good deal about a musty smell covered over by deodorizers. It's true in the halls but not in the rooms themselves. It's really a small issue when when considers the value this hotel provides. The rooms themselves were fine: clean, ample linens, sufficient space, and good electronics. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was fine. Everything worked. Actually, we had a small issue with the room safe, but it was corrected promptly. There was some street noise, but you are in the middle of the city. In fact, the location of this hotel is ideal for visitors and touring. THE PARKING IS PART OF THE ROOM RATE. If you are looking for a way to see Chicago without busting the bank, and with convenient, walkable access to many city sites -- as well as transportation hubs, this is the place.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverNorthHotel, Manager at BEST WESTERN River North Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Thank you for your review! We're glad you appreciated our amenities and what we offer, and thanks for sharing your perspective with others. We hope to have you back soon!

Samuel
Marketing Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon Lake, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

We stayed in 1 bedroom suite for 2 separate trips this summer to Chicago. Great price, free parking and easy access to get the car whenever we needed it, , and easy walk to restaurants, and tourist sites, and magnificent mile. Will stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverNorthHotel, Manager at BEST WESTERN River North Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Thank you for your compliments about our rooms, value, and location. We appreciate it! We look forward to seeing you on your next trip.

Samuel
Marketing Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaska, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

We were locked out of our room so we would have to have a manager unlock us. He told us there was no smoking allowed in the rooms to which we replied "we don't smoke" There was a smoking charge added to our bill and our room was never cleaned that day. The manager removed the charge with no apology and she never came back to tell us it was removed. Also we should have been reimbursed for the no room clean. We were delayed on getting to the college check in. We were so embarrassed and disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverNorthHotel, Manager at BEST WESTERN River North Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Thank you for your review. As I mentioned in my earlier email response, I'm so sorry for your experience with us. I'm glad we could straighten out the smoking issue but I'm sorry that we did not do a good job of communicating with you through this incident. I know our staff has much higher standards, and I hope you'll come back again so that we can give you a truly exceptional stay in Chicago.

Samuel
Marketing Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN River North Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN River North Hotel

Address: 125 West Ohio Street, Chicago, IL 60654
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 Family Hotel in Chicago
#70 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#89 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN River North Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Windy City from the only downtown Chicago hotel that offers deeply discounted parking and convenient location just minutes from Michigan Avenue and Navy Pier! The award-winning BEST WESTERN River North Hotel is an affordable and convenient choice for business and leisure travelers alike. Offering great rates, this downtown Chicago hotel makes it easy to explore the city's most famous attractions, from Navy Pier to Sears Tower. World-class shopping along Michigan Avenue's Magnificent Mile is just six blocks away. Some of Chicago's most famous museums are less than two miles away, and visitors of all ages delight in exploring Shedd Aquarium, the Adler Planetarium and the Field Museum of Natural History. And what visit to Chicago is complete without a ball game? Whether its baseball, basketball or football, this Chicago BEST WESTERN is within five miles of Wrigley Field, Soldier Field, The United Center and US Cellular Field. In addition to deeply discounted parking in downtown Chicago, business travelers appreciate that this Chicago hotel is conveniently located near educational, medial and machinery businesses, the Chicago Financial District, and the Chicago Loop Business District. Chicago O'Hare International Airport is just 12 miles away from this Chicago hotel.The BEST WESTERN River North Hotel is known for its great service, friendly staff, cleanliness and amenities that make guests feel at home. Our nicely appointed rooms and suites offer cable TV with HBO(R), free high-speed Wi-Fi, room service, a coffee maker and much more. After a busy day in the bustling city, guests at this Chicago hotel can enjoy a deep-dish pizza at our onsite restaurant, take a dip in our indoor pool, or relax on the sun deck and take in the marvelous city views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN River North Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Chicago
Chicago Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN River North Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.