We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Only Place We Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN River North Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN River North Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN River North Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   125 West Ohio Street, Chicago, IL 60654 (Near North Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #77 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Des Moines, Iowa
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“The Only Place We Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

This was our second stay here. The first time we stayed was a year ago and we hadn't been to Chicago in 20 years. When searching for a hotel, we were looking for the exact amenities we found here. A great location, a pool, a sundeck, an exercise room, a restaurant and free parking. We were really happy with the hotel staff that went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. From the guys that parked our car to the polite housekeeping staff and let's not forget about the concierge, Wallace. He is the best in the business. His knowledge of the City of Chicago is amazing. Not to mention his advice about how to navigate the City whether it be by the free trolley or train or on foot.

When we decided to make a trip back to Chicago a few weeks ago, there was no question as to where we'd stay. We had an event at the House of Blues and were so happy to find that it was so close and only a 10 minute walk from the Hotel. We had a great time as we spent one full day venturing out and about the neighborhood. We were pleasantly surprised at all the treasures we managed to find that we hadn't discovered before. So many wonderful restaurants within a few blocks and of course all the shopping on the Miracle Mile. It really was just a great mini vacation.

We will be back!

Room Tip: We loved our 3rd floor corner room in the building above the parking garage.. We had a great view a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    581
    584
    198
    74
    43
See reviews for
589
371
55
180
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Elkhart, Indiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for the first time and was totally delighted with the experience. It was very clean, the staff was super friendly and helpful, the pool and fittness area were great, and free parking on top of all that!!! We will definetly stay at The Best Western Plus River North next time we go to chicago.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I stayed here for a week while working at the Newberry Library. The hotel is quite simple, though it has a nice (enclosed) rooftop pool and an outdoor patio. Rooms are clean and comfortable, staff cheerful and efficient. Location is excellent. Residents get free parking for one vehicle per room. There is a complimentary breakfast, but my favourite from a limited range of items, the French Toast, is made fresh to order and is very good. You could easily pay two or three times this price within a few blocks (I have). OK, you will get a fresher,more modern hotel, but the value offered here is hard to beat.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverNorthHotel, Manager at BEST WESTERN River North Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you for writing a review of us and sharing it with future travelers. These reviews are invaluable for our future guests and we appreciate your taking the time to share your experience.
We're very glad to see that you enjoyed your stay! We strive to offer an unbeatable value in downtown Chicago and we're appreciative that this made a difference in selecting your choice of hotel.
We hope to see you on a future Chicago trip.

Samuel
Marketing Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha NE
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We got two rooms for two nights. Very pleased with how clean this hotel is! The beds are very comfortable. The bedding was very nice quality. The free wi fi worked great. My kids enjoyed the pool, and the deck off the pool was very nice. The free parking is a great deal in downtown Chicago. so people complain that the street noise was bad, our room faced the back and we didn't have any trouble with noise. Great location. So close to Mich ave, only 5 blocks away. would not hesitate to stay here again!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Our first visit to this hotel was in July of 2011 and we've been back every year. As other reviews have included, the bathroom is small, the lobby and rooms are not lavishly furnished, nor is it an upper scale place to stay. But who expects those when paying the price charged to stay here?

The location is great, the room more than adequate, and the employees have always been polite and courteous with my wife and me. We've been back 4 times since our original stay and expect another visit sometime this summer. Thank you to everyone working here and keep up the great work.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverNorthHotel, Manager at BEST WESTERN River North Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you so much for writing a review of your multiple stays with us. Guests who continually return speak volumes about the value they find - thank you for sharing that on TripAdvisor! We're glad to see that we can offer you great value, a courteous staff, and an ideal location for your Chicago trips. We look forward to seeing you for your upcoming summer trip!

Samuel
Marketing Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brigantine, New Jersey
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

No it is not the most modern hotel. No it is not the fanciest or most luxurious . But if you want a good comfortable quiet room in an excellent location with free parking this is the hotel for you. Staff was very friendly and helpful

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN River North Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN River North Hotel

Address: 125 West Ohio Street, Chicago, IL 60654
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Family Hotel in Chicago
#63 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#84 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN River North Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Windy City from the only downtown Chicago hotel that offers free parking and convenient location just minutes from Michigan Avenue and Navy Pier!The award-winning BEST WESTERN River North Hotel is an affordable and convenient choice for business and leisure travelers alike. Offering great rates, this downtown Chicago hotel makes it easy to explore the city's most famous attractions, from Navy Pier to Sears Tower. World-class shopping along Michigan Avenue's Magnificent Mile is just six blocks away. Some of Chicago's most famous museums are less than two miles away, and visitors of all ages delight in exploring Shedd Aquarium, the Adler Planetarium and the Field Museum of Natural History. And what visit to Chicago is complete without a ball game? Whether its baseball, basketball or football, this Chicago BEST WESTERN is within five miles of Wrigley Field, Soldier Field, The United Center and US Cellular Field. In addition to free parking in downtown Chicago, business travelers appreciate that this Chicago hotel is conveniently located near educational, medial and machinery businesses, the Chicago Financial District, and the Chicago Loop Business District. Chicago O'Hare International Airport is just 12 miles away from this Chicago hotel.The BEST WESTERN River North Hotel is known for its great service, friendly staff, cleanliness and amenities that make guests feel at home. Our newly renovated, contemporary rooms and suites offer cable TV with HBO®, high-speed Wi-Fi, room service, a coffee maker and much more. After a busy day in the bustling city, guests at this Chicago hotel can enjoy a deep-dish pizza at our onsite restaurant, take a dip in our indoor pool, or relax on the sun deck and take in the marvelous city views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN River North Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Chicago
Chicago Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN River North Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.