We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay Thank you” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN River North Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN River North Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN River North Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   125 West Ohio Street, Chicago, IL 60654 (Near North Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #76 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Wales
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Lovely stay Thank you”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

great hotel and right in the heart of Chicago. The staff were really friendly, the rooms were clean. We only stayed one night and even though check out was 12pm the allowed us to keep our car parked there until 5pm. would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    581
    583
    198
    74
    43
See reviews for
588
371
55
180
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampabay
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

If you're going to be visiting Chicago and want to stay in the River North area then you already know that it is fairly pricey for mostly small rooms and additional charges of about $50/day just to park in the same place that you're staying.

This is where Best Western River North provides great value; free on site parking and mostly covered parking. This however is also where our visit went sour, they do not have enough parking spaces for each guest room so they valet (for free) and double park. This makes retrieving your car a longer experience than it should be. That would have been okay though since the parking is free, but there was one particular valet that was beyond rude, he begrudgingly did his job, barely acknowledged any of the guests when they approached him and looked at us, as well other guests as though we were pieces of dog excrement stuck to the bottom of his shoe. And I'm supposed to feel comfortable giving this guy the keys to my car?

There is also an issue with handicap parking, as in there is none. They advertise handicap parking on their website, but what they actually do is park your car one of the two guest check in spaces closest to the building entrance and then park it somewhere else later. Then if you need something from your car later, you have to wait until the rude (nightshift) valet/attendant is available, ask for your keys, find your vehicle (with your disability issue) and then wait for the valet to reappear again and give him your keys back!

The day shift attendant was absolutely the polar opposite from Mr Bad Attitude, I'll call him Mr. Awesome Customer Service as he was extremely helpful and courteous and smiled. This valet saved us a space close enough to the entrance not to be an inconvenience and let me keep the keys. This was great! I was very appreciative, but Mr Bad Attitude did not like this arrangement one bit and I had to complain to the night manager to get this resolved, and then suffer the dagger like looks from Mr B A from then on. I tipped Mr. Awesome Customer Service generously at the end of our stay.

Best Western sent me a survey shortly after our stay, I completed it and communicated the complaints noted in this review. It has been a month and half and not one word in reply to address my experience as their guest, but they do manage to keep spamming me constantly with their advertising.

Okay, so on to the actual room...we chose the 2 bedroom with living room unit (apparently their largest and only room like that). Upon arrival we checked in early in the hopes that the room might be ready early, this was at about 9am. The desk person said that he needed to have the manager speak with me (this didn't sound good) so she proceeds to tell me that they've double booked the room and would I take 2 separate rooms instead? I refused and informed her that I had made this reservation more than 2 months earlier and that we absolutely were not having our 6 yr old in a room by herself. Couldn't believe that she had the nerve to ask! She then said that I could have the room since I checked in first, so had I shown up at the normal check-in time I would have been out of luck on the room that I had already been charged for and reserved over two months ago!

They tried to get the room ready early, but the previous night's guests checked out late (I'm guessing that they were not double booked but that those guests wanted to extend their stay)

The room itself was quite large, top floor just under the rooftop indoor pool and conveniently located right next to the very old and slow elevator. It was dated for sure, but clean with great views and large windows all the way around the outside wall (corner unit). The curtains were more than adequate for privacy or the inside curtain only for semi-privacy and letting light in. The noise from the traffic was not noticeable in any room of the unit with the curtains fully drawn closed.

The heaters worked very well (one in master bedroom, one in living room) the entire unit stayed toasty warm on some frigid days at the end of March. I much preferred this room to the more upscale counterparts at less than half the size and near double the cost in this area of Chicago.

The pool was heated, but not nearly enough and there were too many screaming obnoxious kids with oblivious parents using it, so we skipped that after the first try,

The attached restaurant and bar are forgettable to put it nicely...skip them.

Location is great, if you aren't going outside of the downtown area, just walk out the hotel main lobby, lift your arm and take a cab in no time at all, rates are very reasonable, they all take credit cards and you won't find parking at the restaurants and shopping, unless you are lucky...and you pay the business their average rate of around $12 -$17 a half hour. Or you could walk, anything you might need is right there in walking distance.

So overall, this Best Western is a great value if you get the one and only large room (I wouldn't want to stay in a regular sized room here, it is an old building). and if they fire Mr, Bad Attitude.

Room Tip: Take the biggest room they have, even if there are only 2 of you staying...with the savings over an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverNorthHotel, Manager at BEST WESTERN River North Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of us. Your review addresses many facets of your experience but we'd especially like to address "Mr. Bad Attitude." It is sincerely Never our intent for a guest to feel that they are unwanted or an inconvenience in Any way. On behalf of the entire team here at the hotel, I want to apologize for your experience. We expect more from our staff and we can do better. And we've taken appropriate steps to make sure this doesn't happen again.

Samuel
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Great hotel with wonderful a staff. Mr. Wallace was so nice and helpful. Had to change rooms a few times but finally got it right and had a great time. The location is perfect and the free parking is great.

Room Tip: don't get room 325
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverNorthHotel, Manager at BEST WESTERN River North Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for submitting a review for other travelers. We're very happy to see that you enjoyed your stay and that we could resolve any issue you might have had. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you're in Chicago.

Samuel
Assoc. Marketing Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We had 3 rooms for 6 girlfriends celebrating our 60th birthday. The all the staff was very nice and friendly, especially Brendan. There was free parking which was one reason we selected this hotel and I heard it was very safe. We could walk everywhere and they even hailed us taxi when we needed one. I will definitely recommend this hotel and will stay there again.

Room Tip: We had a double room on the N side facing the street. We closed the curtains, turned on the air/fan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Was very disappointed with this hotel and would not stay there again.

The building feels very run down and in desperate need of a refurb or overhall. I was very surprise that this is a Best Western hotel.

There was a lot of noise from a busy road outside. The cleaners left their carts in the corridor outside our room and it generally smelt like bleach.

The staff themselves were friendly and helpful. I felt bad that they have to work in such a run down hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverNorthHotel, Manager at BEST WESTERN River North Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for submitting a review. We're sorry that we did not meet your expectations during your recent stay. Our property has been here for a number of years but our interior and all our guest rooms were renovated in the last 2 years. We do appreciate the compliments on our staff, and we hope to have another chance to improve on your experience with us in the future.

Samuel
Assoc. Marketing Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We choose this room to stay in downtown Chicago to take grandsons to Shedd Aquarium. This was a great location. McDonald's right across the street. Free parking until 5:00 p.m. on check out date so we left our car at the hotel and took bus to Shedd. We got a king room with a pull out single bed. The room was HUGE. King bed with a nice bench at the end, large desk and chair, dresser with tv, mini-fridge under a counter, single-bed pull-out couch, chair, coffee table. The sink was outside the bathroom which is great for several to get ready in the morning. Adorable black and white tiles in the bath. The decor was wonderful. There was plenty of room for the 3 & 5 year olds to run around without getting in our way. Just a great place to stay. We will definitely look at this again for another Chicago trip. Oh, Hard Rock Cafe and Rain Forest Cafe are also across the street and down.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

This hotel was good for the value and location. However, housekeeping took my dslr. This is the first time i have ever had this happen at a hotel. Exremely disappointed with staff helping me locate my lost camera.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverNorthHotel, Manager at BEST WESTERN River North Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
We are very sorry about your lost camera. You contacted the hotel to inform us it was not with you and we have searched for it but we did not find anything either in the room or in lost & found, which echoes the conversation you had with our staff over the phone. We, of course, hold our staff to the highest standards of integrity.
We do hope you locate it and we're sorry we couldn't help further.

Samuel
Assoc. Marketing Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN River North Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN River North Hotel

Address: 125 West Ohio Street, Chicago, IL 60654
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Family Hotel in Chicago
#63 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#84 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN River North Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Windy City from the only downtown Chicago hotel that offers free parking and convenient location just minutes from Michigan Avenue and Navy Pier!The award-winning BEST WESTERN River North Hotel is an affordable and convenient choice for business and leisure travelers alike. Offering great rates, this downtown Chicago hotel makes it easy to explore the city's most famous attractions, from Navy Pier to Sears Tower. World-class shopping along Michigan Avenue's Magnificent Mile is just six blocks away. Some of Chicago's most famous museums are less than two miles away, and visitors of all ages delight in exploring Shedd Aquarium, the Adler Planetarium and the Field Museum of Natural History. And what visit to Chicago is complete without a ball game? Whether its baseball, basketball or football, this Chicago BEST WESTERN is within five miles of Wrigley Field, Soldier Field, The United Center and US Cellular Field. In addition to free parking in downtown Chicago, business travelers appreciate that this Chicago hotel is conveniently located near educational, medial and machinery businesses, the Chicago Financial District, and the Chicago Loop Business District. Chicago O'Hare International Airport is just 12 miles away from this Chicago hotel.The BEST WESTERN River North Hotel is known for its great service, friendly staff, cleanliness and amenities that make guests feel at home. Our newly renovated, contemporary rooms and suites offer cable TV with HBO®, high-speed Wi-Fi, room service, a coffee maker and much more. After a busy day in the bustling city, guests at this Chicago hotel can enjoy a deep-dish pizza at our onsite restaurant, take a dip in our indoor pool, or relax on the sun deck and take in the marvelous city views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN River North Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Chicago
Chicago Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN River North Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.