We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value AND LOCATION!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN River North Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN River North Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN River North Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   125 West Ohio Street, Chicago, IL 60654 (Near North Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #76 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Minnesota
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Best value AND LOCATION!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

This is the 4th time my brothers an I have stayed at this property. Not the fanciest BW, but the value, location, great pool with outdoor deck and free parking make this place our #1 choice.....weve stayed at other properties, Hilton, Marriott, Essex, Embassy Suites....nothing beats this location. Not for you if you love hanging out in your room....if youre into a few Cubs games and exploring the night life.....no better place. The great staff remembers us and our room gets better and better.
Dont forget...MickeyDs right across the street! 2blks from the "L"

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    579
    581
    197
    73
    43
See reviews for
586
371
55
178
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Chicago was a one-day stop off on a road trip and we wanted to be in a good location for a decent price. This hotel was it: the room was clean, comfortable, and relatively sound-proof in a great location in terms of sight-seeing and exploring.

Customer service and interaction was lacking greatly however. With the exception of one parking assistant, housekeeping and a lovely gentleman with the name of Wallace, we were treated with a lack of enthusiasm, even mild disdain. Being walk-in guests without reservation, the welcome from the front desk personnel was somewhat cold, without much smiling or standard helpful questions such as whether we had a vehicle that needed parking for instance.
We had a vehicle and a trailer – something that is apparently ‘not usually allowed’. Also, we were not eligible for the second parking space because we only had one room (some details that are omitted from the website that led us to the hotel). We were only informed of this after we had checked in, moved into the room and then informed of these protocols by the new parking attendant on shift. The first truly helpful parking attend that actually helped us to unhitch and park the trailer and did not mention at any stage that it would be a problem. We were merely told to confirm our room number for the parking. The front desk reluctantly accommodated our parking predicament after a lengthy time behind-closed doors discussion with their manager. We had already been checked in so there was little other choice and we happily paid the $20 extra.

However, our experience of feeling like a nuisance was clearly not a shared one. Our first day’s front desk gentleman who could, for some unknown reason, not check us in and had to call a manager to check us in, was seen the next day offering smiles, tourist advice and bellboy services to two new ladies checking in. In contrast we were not even offered a cart for our luggage the day before.

We were disappointed in that we did not get the warm treatment that one would expect from a Best Western, especially one with a plus rating. That said, we have to commend the helpfulness and friendliness of the support staff in housekeeping, our first parking attendant and Wallace. Not a terrible hotel, but obviously a game of Russian Roulette regarding the quality of your experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverNorthHotel, Manager at BEST WESTERN River North Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you for submitting a review on TripAdvisor. We really appreciate your time doing this and you're willing to share your particular experience with the travel community. We're sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations, specifically in the area of customer service. While there are different procedures in place for guests walking into the hotel without a reservation (such as mandatory approval and check in by the manager in all cases) we certainly never want guests to feel that they're unwelcome in any way. We sincerely apologize for giving you that impression.
We do have a policy for the free parking which is that we guarantee free parking but only one spot for each room. If every guest brought multiple vehicles, we simply wouldn't have the space and couldn't guarantee it. We will be reviewing our website in light of your comments to see if we can make this clearer.

If you'd like to discuss your experience further, we'd love to have that opportunity. Please feel free to call the hotel during regular business hours - 312.467.0800.

Sam
Assoc. Marketing Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnold, Missouri
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We chose this hotel for the location, price, parking included, and because it had an indoor pool. We were not disappointed. The location was close to most things we came to see, and public transportation was close. There was a variety of restaurants in walking distance. We felt safe coming and going in the evening and early morning even with a child. We could hear normal traffic noise in our room at night, but not at a level to bother me, and I am a person who likes quiet! The room was not large, but was comfortable and clean. The staff was great. They were knowledgeable and patiently answered all of my questions, including those about tourist sites and city transportation. When I come back to Chicago, I will stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigian
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

I stayed for one night in Chicago during a busy weekend Oct. 27 (meaning, hotel prices were worse than usual)--this hotel must've had a cancellation because I got in within a week's notice for $209 plus tax. Getting there was easy. The location was good--I was there to see a play and I could walk to the theater (Goodman on Dearborn) as well as to Navy Pier and Michigan Avenue, which I liked--I hate cabs! I felt safe walking around (single woman). The room was okay--seemed clean--I liked the vanity area and the TV. Water pressure of shower was pretty weak. Gross view of a building but that's not a big deal. My room was within arms reach of the ice machine/vending machines--but I had brought ear plugs. Normally I would've asked for a room change, but I knew they were booked and I knew I could deal with it. . Staff was nice--gave me good directions. The cleaning staff was very nice (tip them, people). The pool was too cold for me to use. This is a no nonsense place that can tout a good location and free parking, which was cool (but I think next time I will just take the train because I really used a lot of gas from Michigan). I liked the coffee maker--no free breakfast, which I'm kind of used to from hotels like this. If you can get it for under $200, it's fine--no frills. But don't pay more than that.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Not really worthy of the Plus designation. Small, dated room made to look smaller by too much furniture, Very small bathroom. But bed comfortable, and a great location for downtown Chicago. "Free" parking - the fee built into the price of the room. Easy to find from the main freeways. Many restaurants in the area. Can walk to many of the downtown attractions - Navy Pier, Art Institute of Chicago, etc.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverNorthHotel, Manager at BEST WESTERN River North Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for submitting a review of our hotel on TripAdvisor. We really appreciate the feedback. We're sorry to hear that the accommodations weren't to your liking. We did do renovations in 2011 in all our guest rooms but we apologize that this did not meet your expectations. The parking is always Free here (1 vehicle per room) and we take a lot of pride in assuring that Free actually means Free. Our regular room rates are just for the rooms and, we believe, are comparable to any other similar hotel in downtown. We do appreciate your compliments on the location and accessibility, and we hope your comments will guide other travelers as they consider staying with us. Thanks again.

Sam
Assoc. Marketing Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

In town for Nebraska game and hotel located just a few blocks from red line subway transportation and close to tons of restaurants and bars. Free parking, courteous staff. Parked car and never used it rest of weekend. Walked and used red line for everything.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Glendale, AZ
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Most hotel rooms are very expensive in downtown Chicago. This one was $150.00 a night with free parking which is unheard of in downtown Chicago. The room was dated but clean and adequate. The elevators are another story. They are very slow. The #2 could take you 10 minutes to go 4-5 floors. You are right in the restaurant district and walking distance to Michigan Ave.

Room Tip: We had 528 the first time and 428 the second. You can hear road noise but it wasn't bad enough...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN River North Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN River North Hotel

Address: 125 West Ohio Street, Chicago, IL 60654
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Family Hotel in Chicago
#63 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#84 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN River North Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Windy City from the only downtown Chicago hotel that offers free parking and convenient location just minutes from Michigan Avenue and Navy Pier!The award-winning BEST WESTERN River North Hotel is an affordable and convenient choice for business and leisure travelers alike. Offering great rates, this downtown Chicago hotel makes it easy to explore the city's most famous attractions, from Navy Pier to Sears Tower. World-class shopping along Michigan Avenue's Magnificent Mile is just six blocks away. Some of Chicago's most famous museums are less than two miles away, and visitors of all ages delight in exploring Shedd Aquarium, the Adler Planetarium and the Field Museum of Natural History. And what visit to Chicago is complete without a ball game? Whether its baseball, basketball or football, this Chicago BEST WESTERN is within five miles of Wrigley Field, Soldier Field, The United Center and US Cellular Field. In addition to free parking in downtown Chicago, business travelers appreciate that this Chicago hotel is conveniently located near educational, medial and machinery businesses, the Chicago Financial District, and the Chicago Loop Business District. Chicago O'Hare International Airport is just 12 miles away from this Chicago hotel.The BEST WESTERN River North Hotel is known for its great service, friendly staff, cleanliness and amenities that make guests feel at home. Our newly renovated, contemporary rooms and suites offer cable TV with HBO®, high-speed Wi-Fi, room service, a coffee maker and much more. After a busy day in the bustling city, guests at this Chicago hotel can enjoy a deep-dish pizza at our onsite restaurant, take a dip in our indoor pool, or relax on the sun deck and take in the marvelous city views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN River North Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Chicago
Chicago Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN River North Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.