We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Deal in Chicago Hotels!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN River North Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN River North Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN River North Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   125 West Ohio Street, Chicago, IL 60654 (Near North Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #84 of 177 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Monroe, Connecticut
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
666 helpful votes 666 helpful votes
“Best Deal in Chicago Hotels!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

While attending our son's graduation from DePaul University in Chicago with family and friends, we returned to the Best Western Plus River North Hotel. After a few stays at this hotel for visits to our son at school we decided this was our best option. The rooms seem to be all renovated and they look Great. New carpet, furniture and bedding. Even carpet in the stairwells.I think it is the Only hotel in town with FREE parking, which saves you about $25 a day A large indoor pool on the top floor with an outside sundeck. Staff were all great, front desk, parking attendents and service rep. Wallace Pope for his help and suggestions. The area is close to all attractions and many restaurants Weber Grill, Texas De Brazil, P F Changs, Pizza Uno, Portellos, Rain Forest Cafe and many bars and night spots. The red line is only a couple blocks away.Tour buses can be found across the street next to McDonalds. Chicago is a Great city and the Best Western River North is a great deal. For your best bang for the buck in Chicago, This is The Place.
Jerry in Ct.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverNorthHotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN River North Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2011
Thank for your positive comments! two of our hotels greatest assets are our value and Wallace! Thanks for mentioning both. Our hotel did just complete a renovation and we are glad you enjoyed the new accomodations. Again, thanks for your continued patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,581 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    619
    621
    215
    77
    49
See reviews for
622
405
57
196
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights with my husband and our young kids while on a trip to Chi town. I chose the hotel cuz I read favorable reviews from Frommers, plus since we had our car with us the free parking was a deal clincher. The hotel is located in the River North district and is steps away from everything. The location couldn't be better! The rock 'n roll McDonalds is across the street, and several of Chicago`s top dining spots are a short walk away (Gino`s East, Pizzeria Uno, Due, Xoco, Frontera, Portillo`s...you name it)!

The lobby is clean and nicely decorated. They also had complimentary coffee and tea. The room was clean and very spacious and appeared to have been recently refurbished. The decor was nice, and I liked the fact that there was a sink in the bathroom as well as one in the vanity area, so two people could get ready at the same time! Rooms are not as nice as say the Westin or Marriott, but for the price paid it was everything I expected and then some.

The free parking was such a bonus! We could leave our car at the hotel and walk to all of Chicago`s major attractions (we walked to the John Hancock, mag mile, Navy Pier, Millenium park and the Loop area--with kids)!

The rooftop patio is very nice and you can get some nice pictures from up there. The kids really enjoyed the pool and my hubby also used the workout room.

Overall, would definitely recommend staying here and wouldn`t hesitate to return on a future trip!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Mountains
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

We (4 people) stayed here for 2 nights. Room was nice and big (although not all of the rooms were as big as ours, we did just get lucky to have an over-sized room). Everything was clean, beds were very comfortable. We checked around the mattresses for bedbugs (I always do this no matter where I stay) and the mattresses looked brand new. Beds were doubles, not queens, which was fine for us, but might not be for everyone.

The building itself is a little rundown, but clean, and our room was perfectly fine. AC worked great, we had two sinks which was helpful with 4 women, and the shower was great.

Pool area was rather dismal-looking. I can't really put my finger on it, just wasn't anywhere I wanted to hang out. I worked out both mornings in the workout room. They have an elliptical, treadmill, recumbant bike, and a resistance machine. Equipment was nice and new, but the room was SMALL and got extremely hot and stuffy. Cannot even imagine how it would be with 2 or 3 people working out at the same time. There's a water cooler in there though, with nice fresh cold water, which was appreciated!

We will definitely return, as the location and price cannot be beat. We walked everywhere, to the beach, to Michigan Ave, to restaurants, and it was very convenient to my favorite restaurants, Topolobampo and Frontera Grill on Clark St.

Disappointments were: no breakfast, and no hot tub in the pool area.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

Room was spacious and clean, so close to everything, would stay again.
Staff and especially baggage man was super nice and friendly.

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

Stayed here while visiting for grad school and this place was nice. We drove a few hours to get to Chicago and this hotel was easy to find. They have free covered parking!!! That's amazing in itself for Chicago and a hotel! The staff was quiet, room was incredibly clean and the price was right for the time of year. The location was great for what we needed to do.

The view was nothing to write home about....our room faced the street with a gas station, Mickey D's and Rainforest Cafe. There were plenty of things to do in the area based on personal research. If we had the time, we would've been entertained and occupied. There was a restaurant connected to the hotel which was perfect to sit down and get some deep dish pizza.

I'd stay here again for business.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverNorthHotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN River North Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2011
Thank you very much for your comments! As you mentioned, our free parking is an amazing find in Chicago! We appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san antonio
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

Great stay located near alot of things and near a hop on and off double decker. Ginos east and pizzaria uno super close. Free parking as well. Walking distance to many places. Must see the blue man group and skydeck ledge.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2011

Thanks to Tripadvisor users, I found this hotel when looking for a hotel in downtown Chicago.

Three strong points of this hotel: complimentary parking, good location and clean room.

- Complimentary parking: other more expensive hotels in downtown Chicago still require a paying parking, so I think this hotel is a rare gem in downtown Chicago. I read some other comments stating that it took literally hours to get a car from the parking garage. We did not have this problem (--probably because we did not travel in the summer?).

- Good location: Art Institute of Chicago, Navy Pier and Goal Coast are just within walking distance from the hotel. You can find good restaurants nearby (such as Rainforest & Maggiano's Little Italy). The most important thing is that Mag mile is just few blocks away! We left our rental car at the hotel and visited Chicago mostly by foot. Only when we wanted to visit a farther neighborhood, we got the car with no charge. A supermarket is also closeby and it is practical for us who travelled with a baby.

- Clean room: yes, the room is clean & comfortable. The bathroom is clean although I am not big fan of that black painted floor. The fridge is a bit tired. No microwave (not practical for moms who need to heat up baby bottle).

The employees are friendly and helpful.

As I expected, we could hear the noise from the street, especially when big motorcycles passed by. However, we were too tired from the walk during the day so it is not a big deal.

The thing that bothered me most is the smell of the hotel. The hallway smelled like a very strong perfume, very close to insecticide, when we arrived. The following day, the smell was not that strong anymore.

The hallway is a bit tired too but it is acceptable.

There is a pool but we did not have time to use it.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN River North Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN River North Hotel

Address: 125 West Ohio Street, Chicago, IL 60654
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 Family Hotel in Chicago
#70 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#89 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN River North Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Windy City from the only downtown Chicago hotel that offers deeply discounted parking and convenient location just minutes from Michigan Avenue and Navy Pier! The award-winning BEST WESTERN River North Hotel is an affordable and convenient choice for business and leisure travelers alike. Offering great rates, this downtown Chicago hotel makes it easy to explore the city's most famous attractions, from Navy Pier to Sears Tower. World-class shopping along Michigan Avenue's Magnificent Mile is just six blocks away. Some of Chicago's most famous museums are less than two miles away, and visitors of all ages delight in exploring Shedd Aquarium, the Adler Planetarium and the Field Museum of Natural History. And what visit to Chicago is complete without a ball game? Whether its baseball, basketball or football, this Chicago BEST WESTERN is within five miles of Wrigley Field, Soldier Field, The United Center and US Cellular Field. In addition to deeply discounted parking in downtown Chicago, business travelers appreciate that this Chicago hotel is conveniently located near educational, medial and machinery businesses, the Chicago Financial District, and the Chicago Loop Business District. Chicago O'Hare International Airport is just 12 miles away from this Chicago hotel.The BEST WESTERN River North Hotel is known for its great service, friendly staff, cleanliness and amenities that make guests feel at home. Our nicely appointed rooms and suites offer cable TV with HBO(R), free high-speed Wi-Fi, room service, a coffee maker and much more. After a busy day in the bustling city, guests at this Chicago hotel can enjoy a deep-dish pizza at our onsite restaurant, take a dip in our indoor pool, or relax on the sun deck and take in the marvelous city views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN River North Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Chicago
Chicago Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN River North Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.