We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Boutique Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Whitehall Hotel to your Saves list
The Whitehall Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   105 East Delaware Place, Chicago, IL 60611 (Near North Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Chicago Winter Warm Up!
Ranked #88 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Bushkill, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful Boutique Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

Beautiful boutique hotel in the heart of the city. The room was well appointed and quiet. Bed was very comfy. nice view of the street below. Felt pampered. Very pretty. (2012 stay- better late than never! )

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    91
    40
    17
    10
See reviews for
35
94
24
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

If your looking to do some shopping along the Mag Mile, you have found the perfect location to stay. This hotel is located just across the street from the 900 North Shops and right between Oak Street and Michigan Ave.

I had a very cozy room up on the 6th floor with a view of only the ally. Room was a good size and the bed was very comfy. The hotel was a little noisy with the room next door and I could hear trucks and deliveries in the morning. But nothing out of the ordinary.

For the location and service, you can't beat the price!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean C, General Manager at The Whitehall Hotel, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Lord Essington,

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy holiday schedule to share your experience with us. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the coziness of the room and the location of our hotel. I do apologize about the room facing the alley in such a beautiful city like Chicago!! Please let us know if there is anything we can do for you in the future. Hope to see you soon and Happy Holidays!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The hotel is actually located a block away from the John Hancock building. The location was great. Everything was basically in walking distance.

The service in the hotel was good. Didn't need very much, but staff always asked if I needed anything. The room was actually a decen size. Had a desk, sofa, King size bed and a closet. The bed was actually amazing. Probably the most comfortable bed I've ever slept on. Bathroom was clean and good size. A/c working great in my room.

Overall a pretty good hotel. Nothing to complain about at all. Yes it's a little bit on the older side, but I thought it was just perfect.

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This is a great location for walking to any activities downtown. Rooms are comfortable. Beds are heavenly. I was surprised there was no coffee maker in the room, but great coffee is available in the lounge. Very helpful staff.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Don't believe the description on hotel web page about boutique hotel for celebrities - what a laugh!
The rest is mediocre. Room decoration brown and ugly. AC didn't work, hot water was luke warm at best and I had a horrifying ride with a not working elevator. For all of this what did I get? Nothing!
One good thing: excellent location. But there are many hotels in the neighborhood.

Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean C, General Manager at The Whitehall Hotel, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Torun R

I am very sorry to hear that you had a bad experience at our hotel. I can assure you that guest satisfaction is our top priority and I sincerely apologize that you were not 100% satisfied. The hotel appreciates your feedback as it allows us to address important issues that concern our guests. During the winter months we are unable to run air conditioning in the rooms, so unfortunately we didn’t have that capability during your stay. Thank you for your review and if you do decide to come back to the Whitehall, please contact me directly so that I may ensure your stay goes flawlessly. Happy Holidays!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
94 hotel reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I stayed here for a week from Thanksgiving day to attend a convention. The hotel was just steps away from Michigan Avenue (Magnificent Mile) where many shops were located. I was able to quickly return to the hotel several times to get some rest during the hectic Thanksgiving and Black Friday shopping days.

The room was spacious and clean. Complimentary wifi was provided and was fairly fast. There was a safe, flat screen TV, and alarm clock in the room. As mentioned in a previous review, the controls to operate the TV was a pain. The bed and pillows were very comfortable, the shower had good water pressure and plenty of hot water. However, there was a knocking sound that seemed to come from the plumbing which could be annoying for some people. Yes, the room looked a little dated, but it was not a deal-breaker for me.

I had no problem with the service provided by the hotel staff. Check in and check out procedures were a breeze. When I had a problem printing my boarding pass at the business center, they immediately sent an engineer to fix the issue.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is located in the heart of the Gold Coast, 2 minutes walking to Michigan Avenue, the main shopping area.
The lake shore and the Millennium Park are not far, if you don't like walking you can either take the train or the bus to get to both places.
The hotel is AWESOME!It reminds me of the old Chicago but everything is NEW and CLEAN.
Big room with a king size comfortable bed and a well equipped bathroom. Cable tv, movies, minibar and daily newspaper available.
The hotel has an Italian and an Asian restaurant, a gym and a business center where you can also print your boarding pass if needed.
The staff is friendly, caring and always willing to help. I had a good time at the Whitehall Hotel and I will recommend it to any of my friends.

If you are coming into Chicago from the O'Hare Airport, follow the signs to "public transports" and take the blu line train. Get off at "Jackson" and take the red line train to Chicago&State. The Whitehall Hotel is only 5 minutes walk.

Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Whitehall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Whitehall Hotel

Address: 105 East Delaware Place, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#45 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#72 Business Hotel in Chicago
#75 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Whitehall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Amex, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Whitehall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitehall Hotel Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Whitehall Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.