We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel

Save Saved
You added MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   166 East Superior Street, Chicago, IL 60611 (Formerly Affinia Chicago) (Near North Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 20% Off Your Stay!
Ranked #40 of 169 Hotels in Chicago
Coloma, Michigan
2 reviews
“Wonderful time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We had a great time at the MileNorth! My husband and stayed for my 30th Birthday weekend! The hotel overall was very comfortable and had a wonderful atmosphere! We stayed in the St Claire Suite. The room what very nice with a great view into the city and the room was very clean! If we travel to Chicago again we would try to stay again! Great location for shopping and right off Mag Mile!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea M, Manager at MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Hello rjscott2014,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of your recent stay at MileNorth Hotel. We are delighted to read your appraisal of your room and accommodations. We appreciate your kind comments and we look forward to welcoming your return in the near future.

Sincerely,

Andi Miller | Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,752 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    934
    569
    156
    57
    36
See reviews for
299
644
125
265
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, Ontario
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We just spent two nights at MileNorth, and when it comes to this hotel, you couldn't ask for a better location! This place is in the heart of it all, with most of the best attractions within walking distance. You couldn't ask for a safer area to be in- with the hospital right next door there is definitely a professional vibe as you walk through the neighbourhood. We brought along our 7-year old daughter who was very happy that American Girl was right around the corner, but there is also a number of parks, green space, and playgrounds within a few minutes walk (as well as the beach and Navy Pier close by) which is ideal for those with kids. The hotel itself was very clean and comfortable, with great value for money. The room was recently updated, and it looked fantastic! Parking is never cheap in the big city, but we were able to save 50% by using SpotHero.com to get a discount on the parking garage right across the street. Reception staff were always polite in the lobby, but over the phone they did not seem to go out of their way to help out. This was probably the only negative from our experience. Overall though, this will be our new go-to home away from home in Chicago. As an aside, our little one forgot her favourite stuffed bunny in the room- we are just waiting to see if they found it and can help send it home. Fingers crossed!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea M, Manager at MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Hello KristopherTremblay:

Thank you for sharing your favorite features and amenities of your recent stay at MileNorth Hotel on Trip Advisor. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your visit and our team's efforts to ensure you received an excellent experience. We look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in Chicago!

Sincerely,

Andi Miller | Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Mass
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Stayed here for a night in late June. We flew in from Boston and arrived early. Luckily, the hotel was able to furnish us with a room. We booked a City View King Loft Suite through Jetsetter. It was a great room with a comfortable bed. Room was very welcoming and a good size as the desk was on a separate level a couple steps up. We ate at Gino's East next door, walked the Magnificent Mile and down to Navy Pier as well. The cafe in the lobby served Starbucks and there was an onsite restaurant as well (we did not eat there though). Nice hotel with great rooms. Can't miss!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea M, Manager at MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Hello Al A,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of your recent stay at MileNorth Hotel. We are delighted to read your appraisal of your experience. We appreciate your kind comments and we certainly look forward to welcoming your return in the near future.

Sincerely,

Andi Miller | Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormond Beach, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

This hotel was everything we wanted and needed. The location is perfect walking distance to all of the shopping , dining and attractions . The rooftop bar is great as well ! The staff was very friendly as well ....Highly recommend milenorth !

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea M, Manager at MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Hello Marisa2031,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of your recent stay at MileNorth Hotel. We are delighted to read your appraisal of your experience. We appreciate your kind comments and we certainly look forward to welcoming your return in the near future.

Sincerely,

Andi Miller | Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Well located! Near to bars restaurants. The famous deep piza is just no the side. And you can go no a walk along michigan avenue.
Great room with a View. Bathroom could be bigger.
Staff is very profissional and helpfull when needed.
Sure i will return.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea M, Manager at MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Hello ruilimapinto,

Thank you for sharing your favorite features and amenities of your recent stay at MileNorth Hotel on Trip Advisor. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your visit and our team's efforts to ensure you received an excellent experience. We look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in Chicago!

Sincerely,

Andi Miller | Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Overall, I was a bit disappointed in this hotel. Based off of the other reviews and high rating, I expected a lot more. It seems like I may have been in one of the older rooms? Not sure? But looking at the other travelers photos, our room definitely did not match up to theirs. Overall, the room was a decent size. The bathroom was extremely tiny though, with not one shelf or any counter space whatsoever. We did not have the separate vanity area like some of the other travelers did. That would have been really nice. The carpet was pretty gross and I wouldn't dare walk on it barefoot. The beds though, were really comfortable.
The staff at the front desk weren't very inviting. They definitely didn't go out of their way to help us. They also charged a "service fee" of $4.95/day which we weren't told about until we checked out...not sure what that even covers? The only thing this hotel has going for it, is location. It's an average hotel with average amenities, I won't be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea M, Manager at MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Hello loribeth_97,

Thank you for your input on your recent experience with us. I sincerely apologize that your room and check out experience was less than stellar. Your feedback is very important to us and we are addressing your concerns. I welcome the opportunity to speak further about your stay. Please let me know if you would like to continue this conversation offline by contacting me directly at the below.

Thank you,
Amy R.
Director of Operations
312-787-6000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

When I travel, I like to stay at hotels with character. I loved MileNorth because it is full of Chicago charm! It is just off of Michigan Ave. Everything we wanted to do was within walking distance. The hotel staff was AMAZING! They were ALL so helpful. The rooms were very nice as well. We had a king suite. The bed was VERY comfortable. Our kids slept on the queen pull-out sofa. It was literally a VERY comfortable sleeper sofa. We had booked 2 queen beds, but our room wasn't ready when we arrived. So, the front desk offered to upgrade us to the suite (king and sleeper sofa). It was so nice and spacious. The rooms are modern and chic. We LOVED MileNorth, and if we ever go to Chicago again, we will definitely stay there.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea M, Manager at MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Hello Lela0226,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of your recent stay at MileNorth Hotel. We are delighted to read your appraisal of your room and accommodations. We appreciate your kind comments regarding the professionalism of our team. We certainly look forward to welcoming your return in the near future.

Sincerely,

Andi Miller | Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel

Address: 166 East Superior Street, Chicago, IL 60611 (Formerly Affinia Chicago)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#23 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#26 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#34 Family Hotel in Chicago
#51 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MileNorth combines the sophistication and style of an urban Chicago hotel with the comfort of a Midwestern retreat. MileNorth puts guests in the middle of the best that Chicago has to offer. Just steps away from the famous shopping of the Magnificent Mile. An easy walk takes you to the theatre district, the lake, Navy Pier, Wrigley Building or Tribune Tower. The 213 contemporary rooms and suites offer plenty of room to relax and kick back. Dine at our own Ferris & Jack restaurant with an exceptional contemporary menu or explore the many dining options right outside our door. Enjoy the incredible views of our indoor and outdoor Chicago rooftop bar and lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Travelocity, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Tingo, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Affinia Chicago Hotel Chicago
Chicago Affinia Hotel
Affinia Hotel Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.