We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient Location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel

Save Saved
You added MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Travelocity
and 9 more sites!
MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   166 East Superior Street, Chicago, IL 60611 (Formerly Affinia Chicago) (Near North Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed and Breakfast Package
Ranked #36 of 167 hotels in Chicago
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Convenient Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is very convenient to Michigan Avenue and all restaurants and shopping. The room was very clean
and
contemporary. The Reception was quite slow on check in and the restaurant was slightly unusual for
breakfast but satisfactory. Probably a handy hotel for
business travel.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,615 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    871
    524
    138
    49
    33
See reviews for
262
572
113
236
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Great downtown location, affordable price with huge rooms, you can do cartwheels! Close to the parks, shopping, biking by the lake and transportation to the airport. There's also a nice rooftop bar with a cool view.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

What a fantastic hotel at an incredible value! One of the best locations imaginable with Michigan Avenue just steps away. The lobby is so cool--unique, warm, and comfortable with a great bar and Manny, the charming bartender. The staff was extremely welcoming and friendly--particularly Morgan who made our reservation, and Kamaria who greeted us, and then spent time "hanging out" and chatting with my kids later. So sweet in fact, that my ten-year-old said "Mom, you should tell her boss how nice she is!" The roof top bar is fantastic and the kids got a kick out of being able to go up there and see the view during dinner hours. I will definitely come back here. It's a perfect place for a girls' weekend and I'll be bringing the gals soon!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I wasn't expecting the hotel to be as nice and centrally located based on the rate I received. This is in walking distance to a lot, and the room was very roomy and updated. The rooftop bar was nice, but pricey...but it's Chicago. I would stay here again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

very positive experience. was upgraded on my one-night stay to suite and hotel certainly was all that was expected. location is very central, staff is very accommodating, and rooftop bar was a great place to meet up with friends and have a cocktail. Annie at the front desk was very helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

I stay in hotels all over the world more than 100 nights per year. Never, never have I had such a censorship experience: a hotel blocking internet sites in 2013? Whom are they trying to protect? And what kind of hotel tries to impose its own benighted view of the world on its guests? I am outraged as a matter of principle, and would never stay here again..

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

I was really excited to stay in the King Loft Suite for the weekend but was extremely disappointed in the MileNorth Hotel. The positive aspects include the location, the beautiful lobby, and the Starbucks coffee bar - while the negative list is much longer. Once in the suite I was completely let down by the so called "luxury" that had been described to me. The rooms are incredibly outdated and tacky, and seemed very dull. For the price I was paying I was expecting something much classier. If you're looking for an upscale, luxurious and accommodating hotel this is not it. I was hoping the staff and service would make up for the lack of quality but the rude front desk attendants just made my experience worse.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel

Also Known As:
Affinia Chicago Hotel Chicago
Affinia Chicago Hotel
Chicago Affinia Hotel
Affinia Hotel Chicago
Affinia Chicago
Address: 166 East Superior Street, Chicago, IL 60611 (Formerly Affinia Chicago)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#23 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#24 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#26 Family Hotel in Chicago
#36 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#55 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MileNorth combines the sophistication and style of an urban Chicago hotel with the comfort of a Midwestern retreat. MileNorth puts guests in the middle of the best that Chicago has to offer. Just steps away from the famous shopping of the Magnificent Mile. An easy walk takes you to the theatre district, the lake, Navy Pier, Wrigley Building or Tribune Tower. The 213 contemporary rooms and suites offer plenty of room to relax and kick back. Dine at our own Ferris & Jack restaurant with an exceptional contemporary menu or explore the many dining options right outside our door. Enjoy the incredible views of our indoor and outdoor Chicago rooftop bar and lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Jetsetter, Expedia, Tablet Hotels, Venere, getaroom.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Otel and Hotels.com so you can book your MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.