We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Downtown Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel

Save Saved
You added MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   166 East Superior Street, Chicago, IL 60611 (Formerly Affinia Chicago) (Near North Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed and Breakfast Package
Ranked #36 of 167 hotels in Chicago
Mexico City, Mexico
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Downtown Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

The most beautiful hotel I've ever been to. Decor and cleanliness is impeccable. A very special place, with special staff attention to boot. I would definitely recommend a stay here if you're ever in Chicago, although you may find yourself not wanting to leave the hotel!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,606 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    867
    520
    137
    49
    33
See reviews for
260
569
113
236
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed here our first night in Chicago because our road trip brought us in earlier than expected. Found a fantastic deal last minute. Thought the room was nice but customer service was very poor. Staff was unable to provide recommendations for places to eat & failed to deliver extra items we needed (towels, ice, etc). Would rate 3/5 overall because we loved everything else about it.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg S, Director of Marketing at MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Traveling Couple 149,
Thank you so much for the candid and constructive feedback you provided after your stay at MileNorth. Having recently re-launched from a significant renovation and repositioning, our newly-formed management team is focused on excellence in all areas. The basis of this is our service culture. We know this must be our foundation. Please accept my sincere apology for the experience you received, which is quite opposite of the standard we have put into place.

I would value and appreciate the opportunity to correspond further, in hopes of creating for you a very positive and memorable future experience. Would you consider e-mailing me at gstaley@destinationhotels.com ? I look forward to hearing from you. Thank you again for taking the time to share your concerns.

Sincerely,
Greg Staley
Director of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Lovely little gem of a hotel in a great location 1/2 block from the shops on Michigan Avenue and an easy walk to many attractions. The room was inviting and comfortable with some thoughtful touches. I especially appreciated having a vanity table, complete with lighted make-up mirror. Helpful, friendly staff made for a very pleasant stay.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed at the MileNorth (June 16-18) and had an amazing experience! We were attending an event on Navy Pier and we were able to walk to Navy Pier everyday. The hotel is right off of Michigan Ave, so everything that we wanted to do was within walking distance. The hotel room was spacious, clean, and the beds comfortable. The bathroom was big, allowing enough space for us to get ready in the mornings. The fitness center had a variety of cardio machines, as well as free weights. Was able to use the fitness facility daily and was the only one in there in the mornings. There is not a pool at this hotel. There is a restaurant and a Starbucks located right in the lobby, which was convenient for our morning walks to Navy Pier. I would highly recommend this hotel if you are looking for convenience in walking to Navy Pier and Michigan Ave.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carterville, Illinois
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Stayed two nights for the Stanley Cup celebration. Go Hawks! Attractive hotel on a mostly quiet, clean, tree lined street in a central location a block off Michigan Ave. within walking distance or short cab ride of everything, the mag mile, rush street, navy pier, the river, millenium and grant parks, art institute etc. Lots of good nearby restaurants to choose from. The hotel has a nice sidewalk seating area, comfortable lobby with a Starbucks, and clean, nicely furnished, modern rooms. Free wifi. The staff were friendly and helpful. Very welcoming. The only downside is the parking situation, common to the whole area, $50/day. But the valets are super friendly and quick with your car.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg S, Director of Marketing at MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Bill T,
Thank you for sharing your MileNorth experience, and yes.... Go Hawks! The next time you stay in the city, we hope you will be our guest again. The Magnificent Mile experts on our team will be sure to introduce you to some of the awesome places in our neighborhood you have not discoverd yet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We traveled from PA to visit with our daughter in Grayslake Il and decided to spend a night in downtown Chicago. I found MileNorth Hotel on Trip Advisor and noticed the positive ratings and rather good price ($150 for the night). We were delighted by the room. It was more like a small suite. Clean, bright and very comfortable. We stayed in room 1608. People were friendly and it was within walking distance to Navy Pier and other interesting places.

Room Tip: Smile and Request if an upgrade is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg S, Director of Marketing at MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
I'm so glad you found us and enjoyed our spacious guestroom. We are very proud of our authentic hospitality and hope you and your wife will spend your next Chicago date night at MileNorth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

My partner and I were visiting my brother who lives in Chicago. We picked this location after reviewing feedback on TripAdvisor and pictures of rooms from the hotel website. We were certainly happy overall with our decision. The location is great for shopping, restaurants and sight-seeing activities. You can walk to Navy Pier and all of the shopping/eating of the Magnificent Mile, Loop and Gold Coast that your heart desires.
The front desk staff is excellent for recommending restaurants (close to a few breakfast options - try Sunnyside Up just down the street on Superior Street or try West Egg down St. Clair and left on Ontario to Fairbanks; both are so close and easy to get to)
We had a King-sized, city view room. No complaints with respect to room or location of hotel. Room was nice. Cleaning staff did a great job. Concierge/front desk were genuinely helpful.
The only drawback is the $52 a night for valet parking (which seems to be the norm for downtown Chicago hotels). We never used our car once during our stay (who wants to try to find parking in downtown Chicago after all???) - and we could walk to everything we needed to see. We did take our car to the Field Museum but that was on our drive into the city before we checked into the hotel. But seriously, $52 a night for parking is excessive even if that is what all hotels are charging. The room is already over $200 a night, no need to gouge on parking guys - especially when people are staying 3-4 nights! Even with the overpriced parking, we would still choose this hotel again on a trip back to Chicago. No question.

Room Tip: We had a King-sized, City View room on the 26th floor. It had two levels (sunken bedroom essentially...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg S, Director of Marketing at MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear Michael J,
We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed MileNorth, our excellent staff and the authentic hospitality you received! We are even more pleased to hear you would choose us for a future visit. Regarding the valet parking price, we completely understand how you feel. This simply comes down to economics and the cost of parking in the City for us as well as our fellow hotel properties. We do hope this does not deter you from visiting Chicago and MileNorth in the future. Please know your comments are very much appreciated!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel

Also Known As:
Affinia Chicago Hotel Chicago
Affinia Chicago Hotel
Chicago Affinia Hotel
Affinia Hotel Chicago
Affinia Chicago
Address: 166 East Superior Street, Chicago, IL 60611 (Formerly Affinia Chicago)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#23 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#26 Family Hotel in Chicago
#33 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#36 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#54 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MileNorth combines the sophistication and style of an urban Chicago hotel with the comfort of a Midwestern retreat. MileNorth puts guests in the middle of the best that Chicago has to offer. Just steps away from the famous shopping of the Magnificent Mile. An easy walk takes you to the theatre district, the lake, Navy Pier, Wrigley Building or Tribune Tower. The 213 contemporary rooms and suites offer plenty of room to relax and kick back. Dine at our own Ferris & Jack restaurant with an exceptional contemporary menu or explore the many dining options right outside our door. Enjoy the incredible views of our indoor and outdoor Chicago rooftop bar and lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tablet Hotels, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Venere, Asiatravel.com Holdings, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Otel, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.