We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good hotel that could be a great hotel in the future.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel

Save Saved
You added MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   166 East Superior Street, Chicago, IL 60611 (Formerly Affinia Chicago) (Near North Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 20% Off Your Stay!
Ranked #39 of 169 hotels in Chicago
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A very good hotel that could be a great hotel in the future.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Overall, I really enjoyed my stay at MileNorth. (We stayed two nights over Valentine's Day.)

Excellent:
1) Service: the staff at this hotel could NOT be nicer. They were quite possibly the friendliest, most helpful hotel staff I've ever met.
2) Location: could not be better. Right off Michigan Ave by Water Tower Place. (The old Affinia Hotel.)
3) Room: The room was HUGE, and the spa shower was wonderful.
4) The special rate we got, especially staying on Valentine's night, was excellent.

Less than perfect:
1) The hotel is under renovation, something I didn't know when I booked. (They were painting the main hallway when we got there.) The restaurant isn't open yet, except for breakfast. Not a dealbreaker, but unexpected.
2) The decor is a bit bland and dated for a fairly new boutique hotel. The simplicity is good, but better lamps and a few pops of color and texture would help.
3) The overnight parking rate ($52) is atrocious. (We parked a few blocks away on Rush street for $32 for 24-hour valet service.)

Room Tip: We were in 307 which was on an alley and a little loud in the morning. Luckily I have a white noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,725 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    921
    561
    153
    55
    35
See reviews for
296
630
123
263
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

My husband and I stayed here overnight Valentines day. The are under construction a little bit but our room already had sound proof windows. We literally could not hear anything from outside. We had a city view king suite that we got upgraded to when we arrived due to our reserved room not being clean yet. Very friendly staff! Clean and very good food for room service breakfast. Their is a Geno's East literally right next door. Girodano's is a couple blocks down as is Water Tower place mall and Ghirardelli's Ice Cream Shop. We had a great time! Thanks for a wonderful Valentines stay MileNorth! Would come back again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schaumburg, Illinois, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Booked this room on a whim cause I needed a hotel fast for my husband's 30th birthday surprise... boy am I glad I found this place!

Not only is it a fantastic location (close to many bars, restaurants, shopping, etc), booking during the Christmas season was very easy. We did park at a different location cause I had read that valet overnight was really expensive. Once we got to the location we were greeted with open arms and one of the most friendly staff I have ever encountered. When we briefly mentioned that it was my husband's birthday they upgraded us to a suite! Whenever we were walking around somebody was always asking if we needed anything (cab, help with luggage, directions, etc).

In my opinion, all hotels in Chicago should strive to have the class of MileNorth, I can't wait to stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morris, Illinois, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Our recent stay at MileNorth was awesome! Our room was super clean and our view of downtown Chicago at night was breathtaking! Everyone from the valet service to front desk were so friendly and attentive! This will be our hotel of choice for all our trips to Chicago. MileNorth is right in the heart of The Mag Mile. It was an awesome and memerable stay for me & my daughter's 21st Birthday!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, CANADA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

This was our first time to Chicago and I did my research as to where to stay well in advance. The magnificent mile is the perfect location! This hotel is modern and clean and is literally steps off the mag mile. There's tonnes of plus' like having the Cheesecake Factory, Giordanos and a Walgreens all within walking distance. Chicago is a pretty small city it seems cause we were able to walk just about everywhere, including the Navy Pier and Millenium park. I would definitely recommend staying here and look forward to going back again very soon.

The only negative was the hospital being nearby....you hear abulances all the time, but you get used to it after a day and we were never in our room anyways.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi E, Director of Sales at MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear Travel_Chica079,

Thank you for posting your recent review on TripAdvisor. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us. The noise from the hospital can be a bit loud and we are in the midst of adding a second pane of glass to all the windows in the hotel to cut down on the street/hospital noise. We hope you will stay with us again the next time you are in Chicago.

Kind regards,
Heidi Edinger, CMP, CASE
Dir. of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Knox, KY
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Conveniently located next to Neiman Marcus in the bustling area known as the Magnificent Mile, it felt like a secret oasis. We could escape the hustle and bustle but with a few steps rejoin the action. Sophisticated decor in a truly "snazzy" room... interior designer went wild and it was a delight to experience. Fantastic view of the Hancock Building and all for less than expected or as compared to other hotels located nearby. Parking garage just across the street, use that instead of valet and save major bucks. Breakfast can be purchased in the lobby restaurant and all items were delicious. NOTE: very, very slow elevators so be ready to wait to ride up or down.

Favorite find, the gummy bears are worth the $5-6 mini bar price because they come in a glass gummy bear shaped jar! Sweet!

Great find, will stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a view, even partial, of the Hancock Building. It is beautiful at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi E, Director of Sales at MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Thank you for taking time to post your review of MileNorth, we appreciate your feedback and hope you will consider staying with us again next time you are in Chicago. Our lobby and restaurant renovation will be completed at the end of April 2013 and you will love the new decor! Come back and see us...

Kind regards,
Heidi Edinger, CMP, CASE
Dir. of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NILES
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Just stayed at the Milenorth, even though they are under construction, the stay was great. Noise was not an issue during the night time and we were out and about when some heaving drilling was being done. The room was very comfortable with a sitting room/desk area and sleeping area. Love the mirror in the bathroom. 1/2 block from Michigan Ave and shopping. Restaurants are in abundance as is entertainment. You will like it!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel

Address: 166 East Superior Street, Chicago, IL 60611 (Formerly Affinia Chicago)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#26 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#35 Family Hotel in Chicago
#51 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MileNorth combines the sophistication and style of an urban Chicago hotel with the comfort of a Midwestern retreat. MileNorth puts guests in the middle of the best that Chicago has to offer. Just steps away from the famous shopping of the Magnificent Mile. An easy walk takes you to the theatre district, the lake, Navy Pier, Wrigley Building or Tribune Tower. The 213 contemporary rooms and suites offer plenty of room to relax and kick back. Dine at our own Ferris & Jack restaurant with an exceptional contemporary menu or explore the many dining options right outside our door. Enjoy the incredible views of our indoor and outdoor Chicago rooftop bar and lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Affinia Chicago Hotel Chicago
Chicago Affinia Hotel
Affinia Hotel Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.