We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice room, friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel to your Saves list
MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   166 East Superior Street, Chicago, IL 60611 (Formerly Affinia Chicago) (Near North Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 40% Off Your Stay!
Ranked #44 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Grand Rapids
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Very nice room, friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Not sure how our suite compared to a standard room from the description in the brochure but it was nicely appointed and spacious. Eleveator service was fast (not always the case in many boutique hotels.
Front desk, Housekeeping staff and concerierge were very friendly and helpful.

I'm not sure if the side of the hotel your room is on makes a difference but the hotel's location next to the Children's Hospital ensured a significant amount of noise from sirens and middle of the night truck deliveries. Staying in downtown Chicago sirens are basically an expectation!

Next visit to downtown Chicago this hotel will be strongly considered.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,849 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    986
    598
    164
    60
    41
See reviews for
318
674
134
283
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

The overall location of this hotel is great but the noise level from my 3rd floor room kept me awake all night. The room overlooked an alley where trucks were loading and unloading metal dumpsters throughout the entire night into early morning. I appreciate that the hotel will be renovating and upgrading the single pane windows in 2013, but until then, the lower level rooms overlooking that loading area should be avoided.

I wanted to share my feedback about the room, so went to check out in person at the front desk. I was disappointed that we were never asked, what should be standard at every checkout, "how was your stay?"

I have stayed at numerous other hotels in Chicago (including the Hyatt, which is a couple blocks over, also next to the hospital), and this is the first time the noise of the city has ever prevented me from sleeping. With all that the city has to offer, I do not find the various amenities of a hotel very important. For the money spent though, the least I was expecting was a good night sleep.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeidiEdinger, Director of Sales at MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Good morning, Kellbar

Thank you for taking time to post your review. I'm sorry to hear that you did not have a good night sleep with us. We are working hard to get our window project completed so that we will cut down on the noise factor significantly. You are correct, the front desk agent you spoke to absolutely should have asked how your stay was. If you have a name of the desk clerk you were dealing with, please do let me know so that we can make sure our guests are being taken care of properly at check-in, during their stay and at check-out. I hope you will give us another change to make your experience at MileNorth a great one. I'm happy to discuss your comments further if you like. In the meantime, Happy New Year!!

Kind regards,
Heidi Edinger, CMP, CASE
Dir. of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howell, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Great experience - nice rooms, very spacious and great view. We stayed two nights. I would return to this hotel again without hesitation. Location was perfect for shopping and eating - rooms and lobby very clean

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for one night during our trip to the city. We got a great deal on Priceline and took Metra down (valet parking is very expensive). The location is excellent and the room was very nice as well. It was very clean and somewhat modern. We did not eat at the hotel. Gino's East is right next door and it is highly recommended. We did check out the C-View Lounge and that is ridiculously overpriced. We basically walked in, looked at a menu, and walked right on out. There is a great pub called Castle and Elephant Pub right across the street. We were able to walk to Navy Pier as well. It is about a 15-20 minute walk. We would stay at the hotel again for sure!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buffalo grove
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

stayed there two nights.(room 15xx) great price on LivingSocial. beautiful hotel, furnishings, fixtures etc. very comfy room with all the amenities I needed. wife wasn't entirely thrilled (no vanity mirror, hairdryer) but I had everything I needed. My legs are not in great shape so I wasn't thrilled that there were two steps down inside after you walked in so had to be really careful. also the double bolt lock that locks from the inside didn't work and I told 3 different front desk employees about this and each one said they would have the engineer fix it. they DID NOT fix it and I felt very unsafe when we were in the room and couldn't dead bolt the door (especially sleeping). had a little issue with the elevators not working properly. at breakfast in the adorable restaurant attached. wonderful food and service. all in all though a good experience at a fair price. great location. we would probably stay there again

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

I purchased this room via Priceline at a great rate. My wife, daughter and I arrived to the hotel arrived around 11:00 am and we were promptly greeted by the bellman and front desk staff. We were able to check in and obtain a room right away.

This was our second stay at the property although the first time it was under previous ownership. The lobby was decorated nicely for the holidays. Our room was large and comfortable enough for the three if us. We had an "alley view" room and the building next to us limited the amount of daylight into the room. There were many lamps but we still found it a little to dark. The windows seemed to be drafty on the cold Chicago weekend.

The bathroom was large and modern. We did think the shower was a little short on the Hot water. It wasn't cold but it wasn't hot either.

Having spent many nights in the area, I'm aware of the sounds in the city and area with hospital close by. I understand the property is going through an upgrade and will be blocking more of the noise. We didn't experience any noise issues from the ambulances passing by.

I would recommend this hotel based on price and location. It is within easy walking distance from anywhere on Michigan Ave and the Loop area.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi E, Director of Sales at MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear DerekHoffer,

Thank you for taking time to post your review of MileNorth. I'm glad you and your family enjoyed your return visit with us. We are well into our window project and are adding a second pane of glass to help with both noise and drafts in our guestrooms. The difference in our guest experience once the entire project is completed should be significant. I hope you will come back to see us again soon and have a very Happy New Year!

Kind regards,
Heidi Edinger, CMP, CASE
Dir. of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Great location, steps off Michigan Ave. Gino's pizza next door. Hotel staff was over and beyond expections. The room was incredible, the shower was the best part. The view was the C-View was beautiful, the city sparkled with the christmas lights. Will definately go back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel

Address: 166 East Superior Street, Chicago, IL 60611 (Formerly Affinia Chicago)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#25 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#28 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#41 Family Hotel in Chicago
#53 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MileNorth combines the sophistication and style of an urban Chicago hotel with the comfort of a Midwestern retreat. MileNorth puts guests in the middle of the best that Chicago has to offer. Just steps away from the famous shopping of the Magnificent Mile. An easy walk takes you to the theatre district, the lake, Navy Pier, Wrigley Building or Tribune Tower. The 213 contemporary rooms and suites offer plenty of room to relax and kick back. Dine at our own Ferris & Jack restaurant with an exceptional contemporary menu or explore the many dining options right outside our door. Enjoy the incredible views of our indoor and outdoor Chicago rooftop bar and lounge, 52EIGHTY. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Affinia Chicago Hotel Chicago
Chicago Affinia Hotel
Affinia Hotel Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.