We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location-to Prentice Hospital and to shopping-very nice contemporary room but noisy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel to your Saves list
MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   166 East Superior Street, Chicago, IL 60611 (Formerly Affinia Chicago) (Near North Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Best Rates Room Upgrade
Ranked #45 of 176 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Columbus, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great location-to Prentice Hospital and to shopping-very nice contemporary room but noisy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Very nice room-received upgrade @ check-in-was great until the middle of the night-very noisy-mentioned this @ check-out and staff stated that this was going to be addressed with new upgrades with new ownership. Great location-to Northwestern Memorial Hospital and Children's, as well as Michigan ave. shopping. Right next to Gino's East. Park in hospital garage if you are visiting someone @ hospital-parking is only $24 per night vs. $52 for valet @ hotel. Rooftop bar would be awesome in summer-great view of city. Overall pleased with stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi E, Director of Sales at MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Good morning, Valerie R.

Thank you for taking time to post your review of MileNorth. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us here in Chicago. You are correct, this neighborhood can be quite noisy with the traffic from the hospital campus. The hotel is currently in process of adding an additional pane of glass to all of the window in the hotel in order to significantly reduce the noise from street level. The project will be completed in a few months and should make a big difference. We hope you will return to stay with us again in the near future to experience the changes.

Kind regards,
Heidi Edinger, CMP, CASE
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,918 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,025
    618
    167
    64
    44
See reviews for
335
701
139
295
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Brunswick, New Jersey
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I decided to book a last minute trip to Chicago for Thanksgiving weekend and stayed at the hotel for 3 nights. I had a very very very spacious room that was very clean, well equiped and very comfortable. I really appreciated the free wifi available throughout the hotel. The staff was friendly and helpful.

The hotel also has a fitness center and some restaurants. It is conveniently close to Michigan avenue, great shopping on the magnificent mile and good restaurants. The red line also stops close by on Chicago avenue.

Definitely worth a stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

I had a great experience while staying at the MileNorth in Chicago. I arrived past midnight and the reception desk was helpful in quickly checking me in and pointing me in the direction of where to get food.
The room was spacious, modern and well cleaned. It was large (i was in a 2 double bed room), good TV, great toiletries (sulphate free shampoo!) Only fault, the noise from the trucks out the back. Once asleep it was fine, but I was up high so it wasnt too disruptive.
Staff were friendly & welcoming. They printed out maps and directions when i planned a day trip out of the down-town area. Also let me check out late and minded my luggage till I was due to leave in the evening.
I cant stress how good the location is, right off the Magnificent Mile, steps away from shops and bus stop & famous attractions such as John Hancock and the river.

Room Tip: Stay on street side or up on a high level to avoid truck noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Desk staff were very welcoming. I only stayed one night and didn't need any special services, but sensed that the staff is very focused on service. The room was spacious and clean, the bed was really comfortable, and the decor is acceptable. I was on the 16th floor (I requested a higher floor based on comments here) and there was no noise problem at all. Overall, a very good value and a great location - especially for shopping. Yes there are a few scuff marks here and there, but nothing significant. This is a very nice, small hotel in a good location. I would definitely stay here again. The only reason I didn't give it five stars because I think that rating should be reserved for truly exceptional accomodations or services - and I wouldn't quite put this hotel in that category. But would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The hotel is in a great location. Just down the block from the Magnificent Mile and surrounded by great restaurants within walking distance. I had a suite with a beautiful view of the skyline. The rooms were beautifully decorated and the bed was very comfortable. My daughter slept on the pullout sofa which found to be acceptable eventhough it was a pullout. The views are accentuated by the ceiling to floor glass windows. The colors are tranquil. My only negative was that I found the staff from the bottom floor bar to be rather unfriendly. However, the hotel staff was very friendly. I would love to revisit but very expensive unless you find a deal.

Room Tip: Get a suite. They are roomy and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I typically stay in the same hotel in Chicago but ended up at Mile North this trip and was not disappointed. The rooms are clean, staff is friendly and I book it on the "Hotel Tonight" application and it's even lower than any web site deal... I'm talking LOW!

The staff is accommodating, the rooftop is beautiful and overall it was completely underpriced. I highly recommend this place - but don't drive, valet is $52/night.

***Chicago tip: some hotels valet hybrids for free, if you're renting it's worth the hybrid upgrade.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The hotel had a great location for the event the parade of lights even from the room I had. We were on the 17th floor. The room was comfortable and cozy. It did have some steps in it which separated the desk area from the sleeping area. They had HDTV which was nice when I had to stay in sick. I think the location is the primary draw of the hotel as it is only one block east of Michigan ave. right among the shops and restaurants.

Room Tip: Get a room that faces superior street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel

Address: 166 East Superior Street, Chicago, IL 60611 (Formerly Affinia Chicago)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#29 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#41 Family Hotel in Chicago
#52 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MileNorth combines the sophistication and style of an urban Chicago hotel with the comfort of a Midwestern retreat. MileNorth puts guests in the middle of the best that Chicago has to offer. Just steps away from the famous shopping of the Magnificent Mile. An easy walk takes you to the theatre district, the lake, Navy Pier, Wrigley Building or Tribune Tower. The 213 contemporary rooms and suites offer plenty of room to relax and kick back. Dine at our own Ferris & Jack restaurant with an exceptional contemporary menu or explore the many dining options right outside our door. Enjoy the incredible views of our indoor and outdoor Chicago rooftop bar and lounge, 52EIGHTY. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Affinia Chicago Hotel Chicago
Chicago Affinia Hotel
Affinia Hotel Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.