We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, great service and location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel

Save Saved
You added MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   166 East Superior Street, Chicago, IL 60611 (Formerly Affinia Chicago) (Near North Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed and Breakfast Package
Ranked #36 of 167 hotels in Chicago
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good value, great service and location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Desk staff were very welcoming. I only stayed one night and didn't need any special services, but sensed that the staff is very focused on service. The room was spacious and clean, the bed was really comfortable, and the decor is acceptable. I was on the 16th floor (I requested a higher floor based on comments here) and there was no noise problem at all. Overall, a very good value and a great location - especially for shopping. Yes there are a few scuff marks here and there, but nothing significant. This is a very nice, small hotel in a good location. I would definitely stay here again. The only reason I didn't give it five stars because I think that rating should be reserved for truly exceptional accomodations or services - and I wouldn't quite put this hotel in that category. But would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,606 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    867
    520
    137
    49
    33
See reviews for
260
569
113
236
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The hotel is in a great location. Just down the block from the Magnificent Mile and surrounded by great restaurants within walking distance. I had a suite with a beautiful view of the skyline. The rooms were beautifully decorated and the bed was very comfortable. My daughter slept on the pullout sofa which found to be acceptable eventhough it was a pullout. The views are accentuated by the ceiling to floor glass windows. The colors are tranquil. My only negative was that I found the staff from the bottom floor bar to be rather unfriendly. However, the hotel staff was very friendly. I would love to revisit but very expensive unless you find a deal.

Room Tip: Get a suite. They are roomy and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I typically stay in the same hotel in Chicago but ended up at Mile North this trip and was not disappointed. The rooms are clean, staff is friendly and I book it on the "Hotel Tonight" application and it's even lower than any web site deal... I'm talking LOW!

The staff is accommodating, the rooftop is beautiful and overall it was completely underpriced. I highly recommend this place - but don't drive, valet is $52/night.

***Chicago tip: some hotels valet hybrids for free, if you're renting it's worth the hybrid upgrade.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The hotel had a great location for the event the parade of lights even from the room I had. We were on the 17th floor. The room was comfortable and cozy. It did have some steps in it which separated the desk area from the sleeping area. They had HDTV which was nice when I had to stay in sick. I think the location is the primary draw of the hotel as it is only one block east of Michigan ave. right among the shops and restaurants.

Room Tip: Get a room that faces superior street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

A lovely small hotel with the a great location. We felt that we could leave the hustle and bustle of the city behind us as we entered the lobby. The staff was cordial and helpful, and actually engaged with us on a personal level as well as a professional one. There was a small problem with truck delivery noise, but that is being remedied with more and better soundproofing (according to the staff). The rooms were newly remodeled, and the bed and pillows were the best! Everything that Chicago has to offer is just a short walk, or train ride, away, and the staff was happy to point out the best of them to us. All in all a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: Book directly with the hotel, and ask or an upgrade to a Jr. suite. We did both, and the result was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st. louis
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Long weekend stay for sightseeing. Wonderful location, clean rooms. comfy surroundings. Helpful and competent desk staff. Noise from hospital next door to be expected. Walked or took mass transit most everywhere we went since we were just 3 blocks from the subway.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tres Cantos, Spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Reasonable price, excellent location, good service, quiet and comfortable. (I don't understands why I have to write more characters to have 200 to make a appropriate review of a hotel, and this is the reason I am writing in the brackets this sentence).

Room Tip: Rooms on the north can have a good view of the Hankock Tower. The higher, the better. Ambulances at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel

Also Known As:
Affinia Chicago Hotel Chicago
Affinia Chicago Hotel
Chicago Affinia Hotel
Affinia Hotel Chicago
Affinia Chicago
Address: 166 East Superior Street, Chicago, IL 60611 (Formerly Affinia Chicago)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#23 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#26 Family Hotel in Chicago
#33 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#54 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MileNorth combines the sophistication and style of an urban Chicago hotel with the comfort of a Midwestern retreat. MileNorth puts guests in the middle of the best that Chicago has to offer. Just steps away from the famous shopping of the Magnificent Mile. An easy walk takes you to the theatre district, the lake, Navy Pier, Wrigley Building or Tribune Tower. The 213 contemporary rooms and suites offer plenty of room to relax and kick back. Dine at our own Ferris & Jack restaurant with an exceptional contemporary menu or explore the many dining options right outside our door. Enjoy the incredible views of our indoor and outdoor Chicago rooftop bar and lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Expedia, Tablet Hotels, Venere, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Otel, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.