We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, great service and location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel to your Saves list
MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   166 East Superior Street, Chicago, IL 60611 (Formerly Affinia Chicago) (Streeterville)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$25.00 Parking Package
Ranked #57 of 183 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good value, great service and location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Desk staff were very welcoming. I only stayed one night and didn't need any special services, but sensed that the staff is very focused on service. The room was spacious and clean, the bed was really comfortable, and the decor is acceptable. I was on the 16th floor (I requested a higher floor based on comments here) and there was no noise problem at all. Overall, a very good value and a great location - especially for shopping. Yes there are a few scuff marks here and there, but nothing significant. This is a very nice, small hotel in a good location. I would definitely stay here again. The only reason I didn't give it five stars because I think that rating should be reserved for truly exceptional accomodations or services - and I wouldn't quite put this hotel in that category. But would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bjgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Sacramento
Level Contributor
78 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The hotel is in a great location. Just down the block from the Magnificent Mile and surrounded by great restaurants within walking distance. I had a suite with a beautiful view of the skyline. The rooms were beautifully decorated and the bed was very comfortable. My daughter slept on the pullout sofa which found to be acceptable eventhough it was a pullout. The views are accentuated by the ceiling to floor glass windows. The colors are tranquil. My only negative was that I found the staff from the bottom floor bar to be rather unfriendly. However, the hotel staff was very friendly. I would love to revisit but very expensive unless you find a deal.

Room Tip: Get a suite. They are roomy and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank miatennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I typically stay in the same hotel in Chicago but ended up at Mile North this trip and was not disappointed. The rooms are clean, staff is friendly and I book it on the "Hotel Tonight" application and it's even lower than any web site deal... I'm talking LOW!

The staff is accommodating, the rooftop is beautiful and overall it was completely underpriced. I highly recommend this place - but don't drive, valet is $52/night.

***Chicago tip: some hotels valet hybrids for free, if you're renting it's worth the hybrid upgrade.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cassy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The hotel had a great location for the event the parade of lights even from the room I had. We were on the 17th floor. The room was comfortable and cozy. It did have some steps in it which separated the desk area from the sleeping area. They had HDTV which was nice when I had to stay in sick. I think the location is the primary draw of the hotel as it is only one block east of Michigan ave. right among the shops and restaurants.

Room Tip: Get a room that faces superior street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

A lovely small hotel with the a great location. We felt that we could leave the hustle and bustle of the city behind us as we entered the lobby. The staff was cordial and helpful, and actually engaged with us on a personal level as well as a professional one. There was a small problem with truck delivery noise, but that is being remedied with more and better soundproofing (according to the staff). The rooms were newly remodeled, and the bed and pillows were the best! Everything that Chicago has to offer is just a short walk, or train ride, away, and the staff was happy to point out the best of them to us. All in all a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: Book directly with the hotel, and ask or an upgrade to a Jr. suite. We did both, and the result was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st. louis
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Long weekend stay for sightseeing. Wonderful location, clean rooms. comfy surroundings. Helpful and competent desk staff. Noise from hospital next door to be expected. Walked or took mass transit most everywhere we went since we were just 3 blocks from the subway.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank trainwhistle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tres Cantos, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Reasonable price, excellent location, good service, quiet and comfortable. (I don't understands why I have to write more characters to have 200 to make a appropriate review of a hotel, and this is the reason I am writing in the brackets this sentence).

Room Tip: Rooms on the north can have a good view of the Hankock Tower. The higher, the better. Ambulances at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank An0therBusinessTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Warwick Allerton Hotel Chicago
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Water Tower
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#2 of 183 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 stars 2,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Omni Chicago Hotel
Omni Chicago Hotel
#33 of 183 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 2,548 reviews
The James Chicago
#32 of 183 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 2,555 reviews
Gold Coast
The Whitehall Hotel
The Whitehall Hotel
#80 of 183 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 stars 600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel

Address: 166 East Superior Street, Chicago, IL 60611 (Formerly Affinia Chicago)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#39 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#43 Family Hotel in Chicago
#53 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Urban contemporary hotel residing in Chicago's Streeterville neighborhood. Visit MileNorth and experience high standards of service in a setting that feeds off the local energetic vibe. Hip, comfortable and sophisticated, yet down to earth. The over-sized guest rooms and suites styled with a splash of Chicago flair, showcase dreamy views which will ignite a romance with this beloved city. Enjoy the 52EIGHTY Rooftop Lounge, for a glimpse of why Chicago is known for its architecture and stunning beauty. Surrounded by highly desirable shopping, dining and entertainment such as the Magnificent Mile, Navy Pier and Millennium Park; yet also walkable to major local businesses, this 4 Star Hotel in Chicago is appealing to those looking to be productive, to dazzle or just to play. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Affinia Chicago Hotel Chicago
Chicago Affinia Hotel
Affinia Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing