We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel to your Saves list
MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   166 East Superior Street, Chicago, IL 60611 (Formerly Affinia Chicago) (Near North Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Up to 40% Off Your Stay!
Ranked #45 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Perth, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

On check-in, we were greeted by very friendly doorman and front desk staff, and our room was upgraded as were on our honeymoon - really a perfect start! The room itself was spacious, with a separate desk area on entry and large sitting room attached to the bedroom. Bathroom was clean and modern, with a separate dresser/makeup table which is great when other half is using the bathroom. Location was also great, short walk to the magnificent mile shopping street with plenty of restaurants (try Gino's next door - Chicago style pizza worth the wait in the queue). Within walking distance of the Loop, as well as subway station if you didn't want to walk home. Room service breakfast was great - delivered promptly and food was still hot. Street noise was the tiny negative but staying right in the city - really shouldn't complain.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InteractiveMarketing, General Manager at MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2012
Dear TKT11, First and foremost, congrats on your marriage! So happy to hear you had such a great stay at Affinia Chicago, thanks for the compliments on our oversized guestrooms & location. I agree Gino's East is a must for Chicago style pizza! If you didnt this time, next time you'll have to let our front desk know you're heading there - they have passes that you can cut the line in 1/2. Congrats again on your recent wedding & we hope to share with you anniversary #1 next year, Klaus Peters
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,841 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    980
    596
    164
    60
    41
See reviews for
315
670
134
283
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

The hotel itself is in a prime location downtown, on the doorstep of the shopping district - tick
The staff are knowledgable, friendly, can-do and pro-active - tick
The bar on the roof (29th floor) does a mean martini and the views are fantastic - tick

The rooms are clean, spacious and if you're lucky enough to get a view that's a big bonus BUT what was a let down was the lack of free internet. As we were working we were forced to pay a pricey $10 a day for the privilege or go to a cafe 2 blocks down to log on. I can't help but feel that if a cafe can provide free internet when you pay $2.40 for a tea, surely a $200 a night room should do the same? There wasn't even somewhere communal in the hotel (the bar?) to log on.

The online concierge that lets you order your pillows and hairdryer attachments of choice ahead of your stay (among other chargeable services) is a nice touch. Pity non of the things we requested (and which were confirmed via email) were actually provided.

And last, and perhaps the least, there was no cable TV - & although one doesn't go on holiday to watch TV, sometimes a bit of HBO helps the jet lag. It's not necessary, but would be a nice touch for the weary traveller, and add a little luxury to the whole experience.

All in all - a nice hotel and worth the try. Just don't expect any added value.

Room Tip: Anything North facing will give you a view right on to the Sears Tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InteractiveMarketing, General Manager at MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2012
Dear Bug B, I appreciate the time you took to post about your experience. I have shared your comments regarding the internet fee with my team and while comparable to our comp set, we're always reviewing procedures. I'm sorry you didnt receive the items in your MyAffinia profile, I can't explain what happened but know that's not the norm and again I apologize. Thanks for the compliments on our cleanliness, location and generous room size; I hope to welcome you back soon, Klaus Peters, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hortonville, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Affinia. Perfect location and the staff was so helpful. We were disappointed to find that the rooftop area is not open on Monday and Tuesday. Also, the "copper" wal.ls in the bathroom make applying make-up interesting. Overall it was a good experience

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoVa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

WARNING: My experience is something that I'm SURE is not the norm for this hotel... but, it happened--and I am sharing what went wrong--and how the hotel staff tried to make it right.

SUMMARY: My partner & I visited Chicago for St. Patrick's & some touristy action. This hotel is located in a nice section of the city (near the Magnificent Mile & a nice walk to the Navy Pier). I loved it simply b/c it's close enough to everything--yet far enough away. My rating should technically be a 3.5... but, that's not possible on TripAdvisor... so, it ends up being a 3.

TRANSPORTATION: It's a short walk to a Red line--so, not too shabby. I am happy that we decided to cab it from the airport, rather than book a rental & park it or taking the train. Besides, since the parking fees are someone beyond ridiculous in CHI for any hotel property, it was nice to walk around & not be stuck on the road.

CHECK-IN: We arrived early (way before check-in), so they held our bags in a locked room behind the Front Desk. That was nice!! However, after our morning out... when it was past the actual time to check-in--our room was STILL not ready. However, we're laid back & went to grab a drink at the bar. Which leads me to my next point.

DA BAR:The bartender made my partner a crazy mixed drink that nothing short o' awful tasting. The first sign o' trouble was when he sniffed the bottles to "sense" what he wanted to mix in. Needless to say--that drink was not finished.

On a good note, though... The bartender did recommend me a good local beer (Metropolitan's Krankshaft Kölsch). He couldn't mess up uncapping my beer... so, that was a plus :).

SIDE NOTE: When our room was finally ready--the front desk was kind enough to provide a "Cocktail on Us" coupon in exchange for the unfinished glass--as they had asked us about the drink & we let them know that it was less than desirable. Ironically, the C-View Lounge (which is the hotel's bar on the 29th floor) was closed when we had the chance to use it, which meant--we had to go back to the same bartender. Needless to say, it was a nice gesture, but we have saved them for a future time (due to not wanting to risk another poorly mixed drink).

DA ROOM: When we checked in--the room was AWESOME! Great view & plenty o' room. Even though we were next to the elevator... you couldn't hear it (thank goodness!).

BUT, Maintenance was apparently not done yet.

Jeff (who is a very nice Maintenance man), opened our door. I almost put on my best Ninja--until I saw that he was with the hotel. But still. Apparently, the Housekeeping Staff mis-communicated to the Front Desk that our room was finally ready--when in actuality, it wasn't. Jeff did fix the slow drain (o' which, we now were aware o'). He left asap.

NOISE LEVEL: You could hear all of the noise from within the room--but, it was St. Patrick's Day & we were facing the street/city view. But, for the remainder o' our stay (which was 3 days after)--it was quiet & peaceful. So, no big deal.

MY AFFINIA: It's a good concept... but, some o' the items I chose never appeared until I asked for them. For example, the Walking Tour Kit wasn't in stock. However, we received a partial Walking Tour the next day (i.e. Missing some items & the iPod wasn't fully charged, but the Pedometer & maps were just what we needed to have some extra guidance for our Touristy days there).

EXCEPTIONAL STAFF: Despite everything that "didn't go right"... Kara @ the Front Desk is a gem & went above & beyond to "make things better". I must commend her for that (which, I did fill out a hotel survey to do just that). If you're lucky enough to get her @ Check-In--you will find that she is very pleasant & can help you look past the mishaps that can happen during a hotel stay.

RETURN RATIO: It's possible--solely based upon the location & what it's close to. Also, if the hotel can stick to the My Affinia program & have more staff like Kara around... then, it's tolerable :).

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

Moved to the Affinia on Saturday night after staying Friday at the Intercontinental on Michigan Ave. Probably would have been better going the other way. Valet parking is $52 but it is offsight at the Affinity. Very little space to loan and unload. Retrieving your car takes longer. The lobby is not up to standard and is cold with limited seating. We had multiple rooms reserved and ended up in different towers that required travel to the lobby and moving to a different elevator to go to someone elses room. First our room, which the front desk said was completely renovated. It was larger than the room at the IC but was much cheaper in amenites. The dresser looked very cheap and more traditional in style. The tables were modern. Nothing seems to match and it looked like they shopped at Target. The bathroom was much larger than at the IC but the counter was at a level that was for a very short person. The shower was fine and would accomadate a 7 foot person. The painted walls in the bathroom looked like a 60 year old rental home in a marginal neighborhood (very low quality). Our room had 3 steps down from the entry/bath area to the actual bed.The steps were not standard code and in the night I kept smashing my big toe on the second step. The only chair in the room was a desk chair. There were no ice machines on any of the floors. You had to call room service for delivery. The room had a fridge that was cool not cold and had many items for purchase in it. Water was $6.50. They tout numerous types of pillows but you had to call housekeeping to have one delivered. The regular pillows were not comfortable. The bed was much harder than at the IC hotel. Check in and check out was not difficult. Room on the 15th floor had a view of an office building. Location did not seem as convenient as the IC hotel. Our son's room was smaller with a street view. It had a reclining chair in the room and a walk-in shower. He said the room was ok but did not like the bed as it sloped to the middial and wasn't comfortable. We has stayed at the Holiday Inn Mechandise Mart, the Hyatt, and the IC Hotel. The Affinity would be our last choice for comfort and location. The noise outside the window was quite loud. The noise in the hallway was also very loud. Not sure if the walls had insulation.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InteractiveMarketing, General Manager at MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2012
Dear bigCS, I'm so sorry to hear your stay was not up to your standards. We pride ourselves on comfort & convenience and it doesn't sound like you experienced that. Since we take all customer feedback so seriously to constantly improve among the marketplace, I apologize and would like to discuss more specifics offline. If you can please reach out to me at the hotel at your conveneince that'd be great, Klaus Peters, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota City, Minnesota
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

Stayed here for two nights in March (24, 25). Had a room on the 17th floor. Really enjoyed my stay at this smaller, boutique type establishment. The hotel staff were very accomodating and things ran smoothly from check in to check out. The location cannot be beat if you are interested in shopping or seeing some of the sights on Michigan Avenue. It is around the corner from all the most exclusive shops and right next to a popular pizza parlour called Ginos (didn't eat there but there were some long lines waiting to get in). The hotel is clean and up to date. I had breakfast in the restaurant attached and wouldn't recommend. Service was slow and the food was not a good value. There is a delightful rooftop bar but beware, it was closed the majority of the time I was at the hotel and seems to only be open Thur-Sunday. There is a great open roof top area but it's only accessible when the bar is open. I was disappointed that guests could not take advantage of this great area to chill out and relax. The only other common area is the small lobby so having this space would have been a plus (especially in light of the beautiful weather Chicago was having). If not for this, the hotel would have rated excellent in my opinion.

Room Tip: Would suggest higher floor. There is obviously traffic noise as it's in a city but also more fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InteractiveMarketing, General Manager at MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2012
Dear joxxxxxjoxxxx, Thanks for taking the time to share about your experience. I'm glad to hear you had a great stay. Thanks for the compliments on our location and helpful associates. I agree that C-View is a great area to relax, the views are quite unique! You're right that during the winter/spring months we are open Wednesday-Saturday evenings, but with the warmer weather that changes! Great images you took of your room, Klaus Peters, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Our room was plenty big for 3 ladies, 6 suitcases and lots of shopping! The rooftop bar was a great way to end a day of shopping and get ready for a night of fun! I cannot fault this hotel - it was always clean, modern, staff was extremely friendly and helpful, we will be back!

Room Tip: busy but fun hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel

Address: 166 East Superior Street, Chicago, IL 60611 (Formerly Affinia Chicago)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#26 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#28 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#40 Family Hotel in Chicago
#51 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MileNorth combines the sophistication and style of an urban Chicago hotel with the comfort of a Midwestern retreat. MileNorth puts guests in the middle of the best that Chicago has to offer. Just steps away from the famous shopping of the Magnificent Mile. An easy walk takes you to the theatre district, the lake, Navy Pier, Wrigley Building or Tribune Tower. The 213 contemporary rooms and suites offer plenty of room to relax and kick back. Dine at our own Ferris & Jack restaurant with an exceptional contemporary menu or explore the many dining options right outside our door. Enjoy the incredible views of our indoor and outdoor Chicago rooftop bar and lounge, 52EIGHTY. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Affinia Chicago Hotel Chicago
Chicago Affinia Hotel
Affinia Hotel Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.