We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel to your Saves list
MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   166 East Superior Street, Chicago, IL 60611 (Formerly Affinia Chicago) (Near North Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Up to 40% Off Your Stay!
Ranked #45 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Lansing, Michigan
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2007

A colleague and I stayed at the Affinia Chicago on business just because of the reduced price during their remodel. The rooms look great, the price was the best I've seen in Chicago in ages, and the staff was very friendly. The man at the door even remembered my name on our second day. There was some construction noise in the morning, but nothing too early or too major. Very comfortable beds and Aveda bath products, which I love. Great deal for such a great location on the Magnificent Mile. We'll be back.

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — Internet was $9.95
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,841 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    980
    596
    164
    60
    41
See reviews for
315
670
134
283
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cork
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2007

Just back from a few day in Chicago and stayed at the Affinnia. what can I say. Hotel is in a perfrect location, 200m off the mag mile and close to everything.

Hotel is under renovation at the moment but dont let this put you off as it does not enterfier with your stay at all.

Room was on the 21st floor, large room with 2 of the most comfortable beds you could ever have, Rooms have just been done up. Bathroom very large for an american hotel, with fresh towel every day, and loads of them at that. Aveda products in the bathroom, you would only every see this in a 5 star hotel.

Would recommend this hotel to anyone and if your are going to New York, stay in their sister hotel the affinnia Manhattan, great location again and the service is as good as Chicago.

PS, need to get something to eat, go to the Ginos next door for good pizza and for other recommodations ask Daniel, he is excellent at his job.

  • Liked — Friendly Staff
  • Disliked — It's Great location
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indiana
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2007

My daughter and 2 girls from work and myself just returned from a weekend shopping trip to Chicago. We stayed at the Affinia and we absolutely loved it!!! The room was massive with a huge bathroom with huge shower and beautiful modern fixtures!! The carpet was new and all of the bedding was new and very comfortable. The staff was fantastic!! They went above and beyond in every way!! Our rooms were ready when our bus arrived at 10:30 am Sat. It was so nice to take our bags to our room get refreshed a bit from the bus ride and then take off to the Miracle Mile just a block away!! We could shop and then bring our bags back to the room and shop some more. It is a very convenient location. I think the room renovation are done but they are still working on the front of the building so there is some congestion in the lobby at times but not a problem. We never had to wait on an elevator. They let our travel agent stay in her room until we left Sun. night at 5pm so we all were able to hang out in there for an hour before our bus arrived to take us home. We just couldn't have asked for better service and thanks to all at the Affinia for making it a great weekend getaway for us!!

  • Liked — The staff and modern furnishings
  • Disliked — nohting
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2007

Just back from 3 nights at AFFINIA CHICAGO. 15th nov - 18th nov 07.

What a GREAT Hotel, didnt think our room would be anything like we got - I actually thought we were upgraded but i was told that was just a standard room - We had a Bedroom & a Sitting room which were both very spacious had a sofa bed also - a lovely bathroom of a nice size i really cant complain about anythin in the room.

I read before i travelled that the hotel was under construction but it never bothered me one bit - i dont even think i seen a construction worker on my stay.

They dont have a bar or restaurant at the hotel at the moment, but they offer complimentry water and snacks at reception, and theres also menus in the hotel rooms from alot of restaurants in the area that deliver food direct to ur door so that came in handy for us!!

The location of the hotel is great too, a couple of steps to all the shops.

The staff at the hotel cant do enough for u either there so helpful - the bell hops are so friendly!

Overall i had a fab stay at AFFINIA and would definetly recommend it to anyone.

Chicago is great.

Louanne -ireland

  • Liked — Hotel Room/Staff/Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2007

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. Staff were exceptionally friendly & helpful. Especially Daniel. He always remembered our names, which is a nice touch. We knew before we went that the construction work is still ongoing, but that didnt put us off, & it shouldn't put anyone off. There are plenty of excellent restraunts & breakfast places in close proximity, Rooms are extremely spacious & clean. Its a very reasonably priced hotel, which has a fantastic location. We had 1 bad experience with plumbing in the middle of the night, but we were compensated accordingly when paying the bill. Overall, despite the disruption on one of the nights, i cant fault this place

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2007

We were a little weary of the hotel because of the renovation but the location and price we couldnt resist. We stayed at the W - lakeshore last time and I'll take the Affinia over the W anyday. Excellent customer service, beautiful rooms (& toddler friendly), perfect location (20 steps from Michigan Ave), and to top it off, it's next door to Gino's East. Best pizza in town

  • Liked — LOCATION
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, OK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2007

We were encouraged to stay at the Affinia as part of a group in town for a Chicago wedding. We booked our rooms 6 months in advance, with the promise of a brand-new, full service hotel in a great locaiton in Chicago.
The lobby was non-existant (under construction).
The front desk staff was incredibly rude and unhelpful.
The hallways and elevators are small, cramped and uncomfortable.
The rooms are great - great beds, great television set.
NO ROOM SERVICE - the kitchen is under construction.

The bottom line is that during our stay, this was NOT a full-service hotel and should not have charged what they did. We were totally disappointed, hope it will improve, but vow to never stay there and will recommend to anyone to check out one of Chicago's truly amazing hotels. It is not worth the risk with this unproven dress rehearsal.

  • Liked — The room, the bed
  • Disliked — everything else
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
urbanclub1, General Manager at MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2007
Dear OK Hawk,

I am writing to thank you for taking the time to share your past visit at the Affinia Chicago Hotel on tripadvisor.com. My name is Tom Brady, and I am the General Manager of the Affinia Chicago. I would like to apologize for the experience you encountered while staying in our Hotel.

I have reviewed with my staff the importance of providing exceptional guest service. The unprofessional demeanor you encountered with my staff is not indicative of the high level of service or culture of Affinia hotels that our guest experience. Customer service is of great importance to us at The Affinia Chicago and I thank you for bringing these issues to my attention.

As you experienced, we are still undergoing a multi-million dollar renovation resulting in a complete transformation of the Hotel into one of Chicago’s premier full service hotels. The renovation process includes all new guestrooms with 42 inch flat panel TV screens and the Affinia bed, state of the art fitness center, new food and beverage outlets and function space. We anticipate the entire project to be completed in early 2008.

Please contact me directly at 312.787.6000 ext 3600 to discuss your experiences further. We at The Affinia Chicago look forward to the opportunity to prove to you when your travels bring you back to Chicago that we truly value each and every guest experience.

Warmest Regards,

Tom Brady
General Manager
Affinia Chicago Hotel
tbrady@affinia.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel

Address: 166 East Superior Street, Chicago, IL 60611 (Formerly Affinia Chicago)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#26 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#28 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#40 Family Hotel in Chicago
#51 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MileNorth combines the sophistication and style of an urban Chicago hotel with the comfort of a Midwestern retreat. MileNorth puts guests in the middle of the best that Chicago has to offer. Just steps away from the famous shopping of the Magnificent Mile. An easy walk takes you to the theatre district, the lake, Navy Pier, Wrigley Building or Tribune Tower. The 213 contemporary rooms and suites offer plenty of room to relax and kick back. Dine at our own Ferris & Jack restaurant with an exceptional contemporary menu or explore the many dining options right outside our door. Enjoy the incredible views of our indoor and outdoor Chicago rooftop bar and lounge, 52EIGHTY. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Affinia Chicago Hotel Chicago
Chicago Affinia Hotel
Affinia Hotel Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.