We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice...But a Few Issues” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Hotel Chicago

Save Saved
You added Four Seasons Hotel Chicago to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   120 E. Delaware Pl., Chicago, IL 60611 (Gold Coast)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed and Breakfast!
Ranked #3 of 169 hotels in Chicago
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Nice...But a Few Issues”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Stayed one night on a quick shopping trip to Chicago. The location is perfect for dining, shopping and getting out and about the city. We arrived on the Saturday after Thanksgiving after 4:00 pm and our room was not ready. They offered us a smoking room, which we went to see; the smell was overpowering so we opted not to take the room. By the time we got back to the desk and waited for an available agent, a non-smoking room was ready.

Spacious and elegantly decorated, our lake view room did indeed have a killer view. The room felt freshly updated and had everything one would expect; and the king bed was very comfortable. The bathroom had been re-done in marble and glass with plenty of vanity space, lots of bars and hooks for towels, robes and wet bathing suits and two full-length mirrors. Unfortunately, the shower/tub drain was clogged and the shower door, while pretty, did not close properly so water went everywhere.

After a long day of shopping, we enjoyed the indoor pool and whirlpool; the steam room in the ladies’ locker room was great. However, while we were at the pool, someone from housekeeping entered the room even though the “do not disturb” sign was on our door.

While nothing was disturbed and they did leave extra toiletries, we found it disconcerting and reported it to the desk manager when we checked out. The matter was addressed by the manager in an email but there was no follow-up to our reply. We will probably give the Four Seasons Chicago another chance, but expect more from their room upkeep and service.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele G, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Chicago, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your positive review. We were thrilled to read how much you enjoyed your shopping and the relaxation provided by our Spa. Please accept our sincere apologies for the Housekeeping inconveniences you experienced and for our failure to follow-up with you. Please contact me directly at 312.649.2303, and I will personally oversee any future reservations to ensure you have a flawless experience.

Sincerely,

Michele Grosso
General Manager
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,243 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,044
    131
    40
    16
    12
See reviews for
336
346
53
303
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (378)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

This hotel remains to be the flagship of luxury in Chicago. A gorgeous lobby greets you, amazingly helpful staff at every corner, delish treats from the culinary team and a must stay if you are heading to Chicago for shopping or window shopping over the holidays!

Room Tip: Try to get a Lake view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Hotel looks beautiful all decorated for the holidays. The concierge was very friendly as were the valet and baggage attendants. We really liked the lounge and bar atmosphere. Cozy and comfortable to sit before dinner, or in the afternoon for a rest and gathering place.

Room Tip: The views from the Lake side are beautiful. Try to request this. Its worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Just returned from a night's stay at the Four Seasons in downtown Chicago. Paid for by company since our meeting was there otherwise I probably wouldn't have found somewhere so extravagent. Rooms and service were A+ as you would expect. My only downgrade is the hotel is pretty confusing. The first 6 floors of the building is basically a shopping mall so you have to go to the 7th floor for check in. The meeting room we were in was on the 8th floor which connected to 7 by a spiral staircase or an elevator which was always busy since that's the only way to get back to street level. You then need another set of elevators to get to the floors with guest rooms. If it were a relaxing vacation these would not have mattered, but needing to get back and forth to the meeting room was somewhat a hassle. I'm sure the everyday price would keep me from staying here on my own dime, but for one "free" night it was very nice.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We just had spent four great nights at The Four Seasons Chicago and to our great surprise, we rediscovered both the great Windy city and well run, cosy 4S Chicago. 4S offers both the privacy and clean, spacious rooms with attractive view (stayed on the 37th fl). Hotel offers proximity and great access for shopping on the Magnificient mile, museums and the University campus. And above all, the unforgattable Chicagoen hot dog served at their restaurant is unmatched. thanks to the entire team (bar, restaurant, CONCIERGE and entire room service) for great stay. A forever fan of the Four Seasons brand, Milan P.

Room Tip: View of Michigan Ave
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitefish, Montana, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

The Four Seasons Hotel in Chicago gives you a beautiful view over the city and the lake. The service is, as always at Four Seasons, top quality. The building is in a great area and has a great shopping center.

We ate in the restaurant which again had a great staff and good food. The concierge was always very helpful and pointed us in the direction of some very good restaurants.

The only thing lacking was their in-room television system. It was slow to navigate the menu's and the remote was non-responsive. The channels changed very slowly and the power button on the remote did random things as apposed to powering on or off the tv. Sometimes it would change channels or change the volume instead of power off.
I spoke with staff and they are in the process of getting their television system upgraded.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, New Hampshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

The willingness of the staff to provide service was top notch. Whether coffee, luggage or valet, no staff member hesitated to offer assistance to make my stay more enjoyable. Rooms and food are the best and I would not hesitate to stay again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Seasons Hotel Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel Chicago

Address: 120 E. Delaware Pl., Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Chicago
#2 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#2 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#3 Business Hotel in Chicago
#3 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel Chicago 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago, always a landmark of refined comfort, with unrivaled Lake Michigan and city views, steps from chic North Michigan Avenue shops and minutes from Chicago's business and financial centres. The Hotel offers a fresh, contemporary ambience that remains as inviting as ever. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Amex, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Seasons Chicago
4 Seasons Hotel Chicago
Chicago Four Seasons

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Hotel Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.