We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big hostel in a big city.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hostelling International Chicago

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hostelling International Chicago to your Saves list
Hostelling International Chicago
1.5 of 5 Hostel   |   24 E. Congress Pkwy., South Loop, Chicago, IL 60605 (The Loop)   |  
Hotel amenities
Honolulu, Hawaii
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Big hostel in a big city.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

Unfortunately was only in town for one night but I would definitely stay again. The service at the front desk and the cafe was great. The 12 bed dorm room is huge. There's a req room with information, vending machines, computers, pool table, etc. Good location. The only minus, I drove to the city and parking is more than the room per night.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    158
    25
    6
    1
See reviews for
22
35
179
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dartford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I stayed here alone for 1 night before I flew out of chicago. I was a little anxious about staying alone as I had been traveling with friends who flew home out of Huston a day before me. However I arrived late at night and was presently surprised by the warm reception. I stayed in a all female dorm and found a few people with their head down when I got to my room. Other guests were quite and courteous and I had a good nights sleep. I check out the next morning and stored my bags at the hotel and took some time to explore a few near by sights. The location of the hostel was great for exploring central chicago. The breakfast was also good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
259 reviews 259 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

A cheap & convenient place to stay in a central location close to metro stations, a direct 45 minute train ride from the airport & within easy walking distance to Millenium Park, the Magnificent Mile & the Willis Tower.

A bit old fashioned in terms of the decor in the social areas & the rooms. Also not enough plug sockets in the dorm rooms, but this probably can't be easily rectified in an old, established building. The shared bathrooms were generally clean, although paper towels were sometimes left to build up in the bins & overflow onto the floor.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Had a great time at this hostel. Stayed for 3 nights in an 8-women room, with an in-room bathroom on the 3rd floor. Additional bathrooms down the hall were very well kept. The room was at max 6 women on any given night. Street noise wasn't much of an issue. Bunk beds were surprisingly comfortable. Bring earplugs if you are sensitive to snorers and street noise. Complimentary towels were fluffy and very white. :-) Bring a lock for the locker.
What's awesome is this hostel offered a complimentary walking tour on Wednesdays of downtown Chicago buildings. The woman was very knowledgeable and gave all kinds of fascinating historical tidbits. Loved the tour.
Complimentary breakfast (OJ, cereal, toast, pseudo-croissants, cheese, apples etc.) available everyday. Kitchen is open all the time.
You definitely want to stay d/t b/c it's close to most of the attractions. You can even go for a morning run in Millennium Park .
Beware of the additional $3.00/day room charge if you do not hold a Hosteling International annual membership.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

This is the best hostel i've stayed in by far in all North America. Rooms are very clean, bathrooms are spotless and the location is amazing. We stayed in a private room which was very spacious, included a desk and a chair and had the bathroom outside the room shared with other 3 private rooms. The security in the building is very good and the front desk people are very helpful. The only thing that disappointed us was the breakfast - all they had was waffles, bagels, muffins and croissants, which is not a problem but they were not fresh - it looked like they were 2-3 days old and we couldn't eat them. (we stayed there for 3 nights and every day was the same breakfast). Aside from that they had 3 types of cereals and milk which we ate every day. In the game room they had a pool table and a ping pong table that were in good shape.
At each floor they had maps and information about the city, places to see and what to do and where to go which i found very helpful...

Room Tip: Higher rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Great reception staff, friendly environment and good facilities. Stayed in an 8 bed dorm which was comfy and adequate for my 1 night stay. Brilliant location in the heart of downtown Chicago. Well done hosteling international!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

For a hostel, this hostel is very good.

The reasons I haven't given it an excellent and what was bad about the hotel are:

The bathrooms were cleaned around mid day, so in the mornings they were quite dirty

It's very near to a CTA line with trains running between 5am and 11pm (however if your staying in a dorm, you expect it to be noisy and its hard to find a building downtown thats not near a CTA line), so that can be quite noisy

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostelling International Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostelling International Chicago

Address: 24 E. Congress Pkwy., South Loop, Chicago, IL 60605
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > The Loop
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 51 Specialty Lodging in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Hostelling International Chicago 1.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hostelling International Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostelling International Chicago Summer Hotel Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostelling International Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.