We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old, noisy and nasty hotel” 1 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Grant Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Grant Park Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Grant Park Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1100 South Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605 (Downtown / The Loop)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #120 of 177 Hotels in Chicago
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Old, noisy and nasty hotel”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights last week. The hotel is old. Lobby and the hallways are way outdated. Room looked slightly better than the lobby. First of all, neither of us hardly slept all night. Walls are like paper and you can hear the exact conversations on the street even though we were on the 4th floor. Air conditioning unit is the oldest I have ever seen. Every time it kicks in, it makes lots of noise. You could hear every door opened all the hallway all night long. On top of all this, we were charged for 2 nights parking when we only parked one night. They are refusing to reimburse us since they are saying when you check in they assume you will keep the car for 2 nights with valet unless you tell them otherwise. It is nonsense. They know when we took it out and we weren't told to notify them otherwise. First time we called they lied to me and said they did an inventory and know the car was there at 9 pm second night when we knew we took it out in the am. Second time I called and talked to the manager, he came up with a different story. I wouldn't suggest this hotel to anybody. Not only it is loud, old and dirty, their customer service is also not good.

Room Tip: Please don't go to this hotel. I have stayed at tons of hotels. This is the worst of all!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Grant Park Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear Guest,
We are sorry to hear your stay was unsatisfactory. We are continually making improvements all throughout the hotel inside and out. I would like follow up with you regarding your inquiry about parking. You can reach me at apudilo@bwgrantparkhotel.com. I would love the opportunity to look into this for you.

Thank you,
Alex Pudilo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    227
    216
    85
    66
See reviews for
168
159
58
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012 via mobile

We are travelling as part of a guided tour across America and this has to be the worst service we have had in any bar, the barman spent the majority of his time on the phone and then complained when we asked for a drink as the bar was closing at ten, this was before five to ten.wounldn't rush back for a drink. The rest was fine, batman not!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Grant Park Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
We appreciate your recent stay with us during your visit to Chicago. Hopefully you found your room, the hotel amenities and our location enjoyable. We apologize for any unsatisfactory service you experience at the bar. I can assure you we have addressed this in our staff meetings as customer service is our number one priority.

Thank you,
Alex Pudilo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We visited Chicago for the first time last weekend and, although reviews weren't brilliant, we had no complaints about this hotel. We arrived at 02.30 in the morning, owing to a delayed flight, and checked in without delay. The room was a good size and the bed very comfortable.
Free internet terminals and wifi are available.
The location is great for Grant Park, the waterfront and museums.
Also good for public transport - CTA subway and high level loop trains at Roosevelt, also buses and easy to get to both Airports.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Grant Park Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thanks for your great review! We’re glad to hear you had a pleasant and comfortable stay with us in Chicago. We appreciate you staying with us and telling us about your experience and we look forward to having you again soon!
Sincerely,
Alex Pudilo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

If you are buying the city pass this is a great place to stay.The walk from this hotel to the Shedd,Planitarium and field museum are a nice walk through a park(10 min).To the Art museum 10 min. up the road.To the museum of science and industry $20 cab ride.
The hotel rooms were clean.Yes its a bit of an older building but the price is great and its clean.The beds and pillows were extremely comfortable.I am usually the kind of person that has trouble sleeping in hotels but not here.We did take some advice from this web sight and asked for a room up high facing Michigan.What we got was a room on the 9th floor(the highest)facing on an angle michigan.It was fantastic we could see dowwntown and navy peir at night it was beautiful(room 904)
now alot of people complained about the attached restaurant.They had a new breakfast sandwich menu when we were there($4.50 a sandwich)I sent my husband down in the morning for sandwiches,madecoffee in the room and left for the day.
We also took the advice from here and hit the grocery store(just around the corner and up 1 block)Grabbed a styrafoam cooler and beer,so at the end of the day when we got back there was cold beer on ice.
I would definately stay here again.P.S staff was great

Room Tip: High up facing michigan
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Grant Park Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thanks for staying with us during your recent visit to Chicago and for the kind words you had about our staff and hotel. We are very glad to hear you had a great stay and enjoyed our location, rooms and level of service. We appreciate your recommendation and look forward to hosting you again on your next visit!
Sincerely,
Alex Pudilo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Great location. The staff was helpful and the room was very nice. Walking distance to Grant Park, the Adler Planetarium, the Field Museum and the Shedd Aquarium. Great diner around the corner (Eleven City).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worth Il
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

nice friendly early check in very super clean and quiet room , very nice place until the next day ....while i Tried To Check Out At 10:30 AM Busy Time to catch my metra train I Waited And Waited While The One Person Behind The Counter Kept Giving People Tourist Direction And They Kept Asking Question About Visting Chicago So I Finally Got Mad At The Check Out Service And Threw The Key At Her And Said Do Whatever....!!! Never Again !!! The Tourist Should Have Used The Computer !!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Grant Park Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Dear Guest,
We are glad to hear you enjoyed your room and your stay. Though, we are sorry we were busy during your check out time. We strive to give everyone the highest level of service and hope you felt taken care of during your stay.

Sincerely,
Alex Pudilo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

Very clean with friendly staff. No noise problems. TV was old, but I didn't go to Chicago with friends to watch TV.
Some minor problems - like hairdryer pulled out from wall, but no big deal. Good price for a nice clean hotel. Bed was VERY comfy. Would go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Alex P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Grant Park Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Dear Guest,
We are glad you had an enjoyable stay with us! Our staff is highly trained and ready to assist with any of your needs with your room. Thanks for your recommendation and we hope you will stay with us again soon!

Sincerely,
Alex Pudilo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Grant Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Grant Park Hotel

Address: 1100 South Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 177 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Grant Park Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 172
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your BEST WESTERN Grant Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Chicago
Chicago Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Grant Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.