We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware - not 4 STAR” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Swissotel Chicago to your Saves list
Swissotel Chicago
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   323 East Upper Wacker Drive, Chicago, IL 60601 (The Loop)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #64 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersGold level
Kansas City
1 review
“Beware - not 4 STAR”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2007

Here are the only reasons you should stay at Swissotel in Chicago, if you like:
1 - Hard Beds
2 - Small rooms
3 - Bugs and hairs (not yours) on your bed
4 - Someone else's mascara stain on your blanket
5 - $6.00 bottled water
7 - Construction sights next to your hotel
8 - Going to another floor for ice
9 - Mold/limescale pn the shower (? not sure what it was - I didn't bring my chemistry set).

Absolutely disappointed in this place. I over paid and was overly displeased!!

On the good side - the bellmen were nice and there is a good view from the pool/fitness center area. But we won't stay there for that.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — The beds
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,067
    795
    283
    128
    72
See reviews for
388
634
122
779
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (377)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cary, North Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2007

I stayed at the Swissotel for a business trip the first week of Aug 2007. I arrived late the first night and got shoved into a hospitality room the first night. However, this was more than made up when after a strong talk they assigned me a corner room on the 28th floor. EXCELLENT view of the city, river and Lake Michigan. In fact, I would say the corner room of the Swissotel has a better view than any other hotel in the vicinity. The room was huge, and everything was clean and the bathroom was nice.

The hotel is very convieniently located to the Magnificient Mile and Millenium Park. Would very much recommend this hotel, and would suggest trying every method possible to get a corner room in a higher floor.

  • Liked — View, Room Size
  • Disliked — The corner room is spectacular, but I almost didnt get that..
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CanyonTX
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2007

This was our first visit to Chicago and we booked the hotel through Travelzoo. We did get a good price but would have been very disappointed if we would have paid regular price. The mattresses were HORRIBLE. After walking Chicago, the bed was of no comfort. No vending machines of any kind if you wanted a soda--only minibar in room--$6.00 for water.

At checkin, the staff never made eye contact and only went through the motions.

Would not stay there again!!!

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Beds
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2007

I got a great rate through Hotwire.com and was thrilled when I found out this was the hotel I picked. The hotel was very convenient to where I needed to go, and despite the weather (yes, it is windy there!) we still had a great time.

I found the restaurant (The Palms) to be over rated, which was my only negative experience. It was not formal, but had formal prices, and didn't have mashed potatoes, which for me is a requirement of any great steakhouse! That's just a personal preference, but one that mattered to me!

The rooms were sleek and cool - great views. Front desk was efficient and nice. Bell staff was attentive and available.

Valet parking was a plus.

Ordered breakfast through room service, which was great and on-time.

Would definitely recommend this hotel and will hopefully stay there again.

  • Liked — ease of check-in
  • Disliked — The Palms
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2007

We stayed five nights at Swissotel Chicago and loved every minute of it! It has gorgeous views of the river and lake and is close to pretty much anything. We were able to walk everywhere we wanted to go - Navy Pier, Sears Tower, Grant Park, Museum Campus, Hancock Center, Michigan Avenue - you name it. The service was awesome. From the moment we checked in, the staff was courteous and meet every need, including arranging for a crib for our daughter and making sure it was safely set up before leaving our room. The pool was also really nice and, since it's at the top of the hotel, offered even more gorgeous views of the city and lake. We got a great deal ($109 a night), which we booked as a special through travelzoo. The room service was a little expensive but very good. The concierge was wonderful with giving us accurate directions to attractions as well as recommendations for restaurants. I hope we can stay at the Swissotel every time we visit Chicago!

  • Liked — Location and service
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2007

I requested a room with a nice view when I checked in and was told that our room overlooked Grant park. Our room did overlook the park for a small area in between two buildings. 90% of our view was construction of a new building. I would not have had a problem with this except the clerk misled me into thinking our view was as good as the other side of the building. The clerk also failed to give us a free breakfast voucher ($50.00 value) for the next morning which was part of the package purchased by my company. We were with a large group and they told us about the great breakfast later the next day. I asked another clerk for a breakfast voucher for our second morning and she gave me one with no offer of compensation for the one not given to us.

The internet did not work in our room and I called the front desk who transfered my call through an 800 number. The frist call was unanswered and I called again in about 15 minutes. We worked though the issues and got the internet going. I found that I was charged for these two calls on my bill and had to have the clerk remove the charges. The hotel charges for internet service.

The bar is the most expensive I have seen in a hotel. My wife drank one bottle of water ( small about 16oz.) and we were charged $6.00.

I send an email about the voucher to Swissotel customer service when I returned home and did not receive a response.

The room was average and was clean the first day. We discovered that our room was not cleaned the second day of our stay but it was 11PM when we returned from our day out and did not complain.

The best part of our stay was the fitness center. They have a great pool plus several machines. The view from the fitness center was fantastic.

Overall, I would not recommend this hotel and will not stay there again.

  • Liked — fitness center
  • Disliked — customer service
  • Stayed July 2007
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun City, Arizona
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2007

My 3 nieces and I stayed here for a long weekend, we had a wonderful time. We arrived early around 8:30am and they let us into our room. This was very nice otherwise we would have had to store our luggage and register later

Room was very clean as was the bathroom. With 4 women we needed extra towels, they brought them up right away and then we got a call to make sure they were delivered. Room was also quiet, construction going on behind us and we never heard anything.

Beds comfy and so were the quilts...

Good location for Michigan Ave. All in all a wonderful stay. Would return.

  • Liked — Safe
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Swissotel Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Chicago

Address: 323 East Upper Wacker Drive, Chicago, IL 60601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Chicago
#16 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#33 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#36 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#43 Business Hotel in Chicago
#53 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Swissotel Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 661
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort and productivity come together where the river meets the lake at Swissôtel Chicago. Swissôtel Chicago is graced with European style and contemporary Swiss elegance. The luxury experience includes award-winning hospitality, well-appointed accommodations and breathtaking views. Housed in a distinctive glass triangle structure, our hotel stands out for its international style, downtown sophistication and central location to signature sights. Find peace of mind and productivity in our recently upgraded 661 guest rooms or 40 luxury suites. Our business-friendly amenities make travel simple and seamless and our 65,000 sq ft of state-of-the-art meeting rooms, ballrooms and special venue space excel as an efficient place to meet, connect, celebrate and do business. We also have three on-site restaurants and hotel bar, a penthouse fitness center and 45-foot indoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Otel, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Swissotel Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Chicago Hotel Chicago
Swissotel Hotel Chicago
Chicago Swissotel Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swissotel Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.