We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The location is great, but...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Swissotel Chicago to your Saves list
Swissotel Chicago
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   323 East Upper Wacker Drive, Chicago, IL 60601 (The Loop)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #66 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersGold level
St Paul, MN
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
261 helpful votes 261 helpful votes
“The location is great, but...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2010

Having stayed at many hotels in Chicago, especially on N Michigan Ave, I was not sure what to expect at the Swissotel. Well, the property could not be better located - right over the Chicago River, views of Navy Pier, and blessed quiet on the higher floors (we were on the 37th). The really high end properties on N Michigan are lovely, but noise is a huge factor as are the crowds. So big thumbs up for the location.

Otherwise... nothing very special. The hotel appears to be a great value online with very attractive room rates. We paid ~$200 with breakfast, but literally everything else is a charge. Pool? Check. Parking? $52 worth of check. Morning coffee? $4 or close to it at the bar. The breakfast buffet cost us about $6 each, which was fair, but it would be a total ripoff for the $26 normally charged. In room internet charge? Check.

The rooms are perfectly acceptable and they were clean. The a/c worked great, maybe too great as there was no way I could see to turn off the fan. The bathroom space is tight but the shower is big and the tub was a welcome addition.

I probably would not stay here again because I love the super-luxe Chicago properties too much, but I would recommend it if you can manage to keep all the extra charges to a minimum.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelChicago10, Director of Marketing Programs and Public Relations at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this review, October 13, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at Swissotel Chicago.

You will be happy to know that, as a result of guest feedback like yours, we have are reviewing our current charge for the fitness center and pool.

We value your feedback as it allows us to continuously improve.


Kindly,
Swissotel Chicago Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,059
    791
    283
    128
    72
See reviews for
385
629
121
777
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (376)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2010

What on earth is going on with this hotel? I have stayed in many Swissotels and have never been disappointed.

This place is really tired. My room didn't smell great (perhaps a smoker previously?) and struck me as more 3 star quality. Three main issues:

1) The curtains don't close as they are designed as window dressings and not actual curtains. This would be OK but the hotel is surrounded by skyscrapers therefore, when the light is on, the offices and apartments opposite are probably able to see everything that's going on, even behind the thin net curtains. This is just weird. Anyone with a sense of personal modesty may want to stay somewhere else.

2) The room had a toilet that constantly filled up during the night on a loud drip by drip basis thus providing pretty effective water torture for a traveller with jet lag.

3) The lifts/elevators are malfunctioning. They are the new type where you type in your floor and it tells you which lift to get into. Unfortunately they are mis-programmed. I selected floor 6 and was deposited at floor 37 with another lady trying to get to 4th Floor. We eventually got into another lift which deposited us at floor 21 and we then waited 10 minutes for another lift that took us to the correct floor.

These issues are pretty fundamental and demonstrate a loss of client understanding on the part of the general management.

Avoid.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelChicago10, Director of Marketing Programs and Public Relations at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this review, October 13, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at Swissotel Chicago.

Clearly we were not performing to our usual standards during your stay and for that I sincerely apologize. I have reviewed your feedback in detail with our management team.

We value your feedback as it allows us to continuously improve.


Kindly,
Swissotel Chicago Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2010

I stayed at Swissotel Chicago from Sept 17th through Sept 19th with my husband and my baby. We chose this hotel because of its view on Navy Pier and of course its competitive rate comprate to other 5 star hotels in the same area. Our room was charming and spacious, view on Lake Michigan was great. The staff was friendly and helpful since we had a 10-month old baby. They provided a crib as planned. We were not pleased to pay extra USD 10.- for the wireless connection. My husband and I had our own laptops and each IP needed to pay this 10.- which we found really not cool. The connection on top of this was not fast. As for the parking, I think they have the most expensive rate in town. 52 dollars per day was outrageous. As for the food, try to find something else outside. The pizza and the burger were average.

Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelChicago10, Director Marketing Programs and Public Relations at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this review, October 13, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at Swissotel Chicago.


Clearly we were not performing to our usual standards during your stay and for that I sincerely apologize. I have reviewed your feedback in detail with our management team.

We value your feedback as it allows us to continuously improve.


Kindly,
Swissotel Chicago Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2010

Spent three nights and paid way too much for what I got. The air-conditioning in the room was inadequate, there was a constant low hum in the background in the room, probably from water pipes, the curtains didn't close (by design) so if you're sensitive to light plan on rising with the sun, and what is going on with the elevators? Good Lord!

The usual complete rip-off on amenities. You need a second mortgage to buy a drink at the bar in the lobby or order room service (20% service charge plus $3 delivery charge and the guy still stands there expecting a tip - gimmie a break).

Most of the staff were friendly enough, a few not so much. The location is good, two blocks from Michigan Ave and the Magnificent Mile. But considering the cost, I'll not be back. Last time I was in the Talbott, next time I'll go back there.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelChicago10, Director Marketing Programs and Public Relations at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this review, October 13, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at Swissotel Chicago.


Clearly we were not performing to our usual standards during your stay and for that I sincerely apologize. I have reviewed your feedback in detail with our management team.

We value your feedback as it allows us to continuously improve.


Kindly,
Swissotel Chicago Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2010

From the time we arrived to the time we checked out the service was exceptional - front desk, doormen, concierge, chambermaids, porters all terrific, first class and always smiling. The fruited ice water in the lobby always refreshing.

The room spacious and perfectly clean and luxurious - the views of the lake, Navy Pier and the river were spectacular. The location was an additional bonus - close to the Navy Pier, magnificent Mile, Hancock Building and hundreds of restaurants. Museums easy to get to by bus or taxi.

The Swisshotel made our anniversary one we will never forget!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelChicago10, Director Marketing Programs and Public Relations at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this review, October 13, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at Swissotel Chicago.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon. We have passed your compliment on to the team.


Kindly,
Swissotel Chicago Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2010

Ugh. The hotel is in serious need of updating, it's celebrating 30 years and cracks are showing all over the place from the dated lobby and elevators to old carpets, furniture, bathrooms. Expected a modern hotel, this definately was not it - although it came with a hefty rate.

Probably most dissappointing was the level of customer service. We had requested high floor room prior to check in, requested this again at check in and very nicely explained we were on a special weekend celebrating anniversary. The guy at front desk must have had a bad week because we got a room next to the elevators and across from the service room on a lower floor. Thanks for your help buddy. We could have complained but chose not to -we didn't spend a lot of time in the room.

The concierges need to attend mood modification classes they were all grumpy and seemed annoyed to be answering any questions, why is this not apparent to management? Spend 5 minutes observing their interaction with guests and you know you have problems.

Not impressed, no way coming back here, would look for W, Hard Rock or Monacco at this price range and for a more modern vibe.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelChicago10, Director Marketing Programs and Public Relations at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this review, October 13, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at Swissotel Chicago.


Clearly we were not performing to our usual standards during your stay and for that I sincerely apologize. I have reviewed your feedback in detail with our management team.

We value your feedback as it allows us to continuously improve.


Kindly,
Swissotel Chicago Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2010

The Swissotel was an excellent base for our 3 day stay in Chicago, good facilities, helpful and friendly staff and convenient for exploring downtown.
We were able to check in 3 hours early and our large, comfortable room was on the 16th floor with a lovely view over Navy Pier and the lake. It was quiet with a huge very comforable bed, plenty of storage space and a large bathroom with lots of vanity unit space, bath and separate shower. The mini bar seemed expensive so we did not use it.
The hotel restaurants did seem a bit expensive for our budget but this did not matter at all. The concierge directed us to a grocery store near the hotel which sold everything we needed for our self catering breakfast and a good Italian restaurant a few minutes walk away for an evening meal. The room had a coffee machine - but it took us an electricians visit to found out how to work it - just turn on the main switch that operates the room lamps! There is a charge for internet access but we were given this free to check in on line and print boarding passes. My only criticism is the high charge per day ( I can't remember whether it was $15 or $25) for the use of the swimming pool - which is why we did not use it. Also $9 for a small bottle of water in our room seemed excessive.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelChicago10, Director of Marketing Programs and Public Relations at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this review, October 13, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at Swissotel Chicago.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon. We have passed your compliment on to the team.


Kindly,
Swissotel Chicago Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Swissotel Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Chicago

Address: 323 East Upper Wacker Drive, Chicago, IL 60601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Chicago
#16 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#33 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#38 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#44 Business Hotel in Chicago
#53 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Swissotel Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 661
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort and productivity come together where the river meets the lake at Swissôtel Chicago. Swissôtel Chicago is graced with European style and contemporary Swiss elegance. The luxury experience includes award-winning hospitality, well-appointed accommodations and breathtaking views. Housed in a distinctive glass triangle structure, our hotel stands out for its international style, downtown sophistication and central location to signature sights. Find peace of mind and productivity in our recently upgraded 661 guest rooms or 40 luxury suites. Our business-friendly amenities make travel simple and seamless and our 65,000 sq ft of state-of-the-art meeting rooms, ballrooms and special venue space excel as an efficient place to meet, connect, celebrate and do business. We also have three on-site restaurants and hotel bar, a penthouse fitness center and 45-foot indoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Splendia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Otel, Agoda, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Swissotel Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Chicago Hotel Chicago
Swissotel Hotel Chicago
Chicago Swissotel Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swissotel Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.