We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location but.....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Swissotel Chicago to your Saves list
Swissotel Chicago
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   323 East Upper Wacker Drive, Chicago, IL 60601 (The Loop)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #62 of 169 Hotels in Chicago
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect location but.....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Just returned from this beautiful hotel within walking distance from most everything. Very nice staff, very clean, very nice but...... If you need room service for anything they will forget about you. We called several times for different things, After one hour we had to call again. This happened every time we called. Then when they did come this one time they had the wrong room. They were delivering towels to us that we did not request. This was very frustrating. We did complain at check out time. They were very apologetic and offered us free breakfast but we had to get to the airport. I think we will try another hotel next time we visit Chicago.

Room Tip: Ask for a river or lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas B, Other at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
While I'm glad you found our hotel beautiful and thought our staff was very friendly, I'm alarmed to hear that you thought our room service was inattentive. The last thing I want is for our guests to feel forgotten. Do you mind calling me to let me know the room you stayed in? I want to make sure our room service is more timely going forward.

Thank you,
Andreas Brandl, Director of Front Office
Swissôtel Chicago
(312) 268-8255
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,010
    749
    275
    121
    66
See reviews for
372
607
113
724
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (346)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
United States
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

I stayed here for my birthday. I booked through Hotwire so I wasn't sure where I was staying until after it was booked. I was pleased when I found out where is was. It is in an excellent location. It was within walking distances of most attractions, if not it was just a short can ride away. I have stayed in the city several times and this is my favorite place to date. I will return on my next adventure to the city.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas B, Other at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Happy Birthday! Thanks so much for celebrating the occasion with us. I'm honored to know we're your favorite hotel in Chicago. Hope you get a chance to stay with us again soon!

All the best,
Andreas Brandl, Director of Front Office
Swissôtel Chicago
(312) 268-8255
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

They raised the cost for one of their standard rooms twice in the same conversation. Yes, they quoted me a price; I said yes; they then would not honor that price. This happened twice! Not an honest way to do business.

Room Tip: Look elsewhere
See more room tips
Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas B, Other at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
I'm sincerely sorry for the confusion regarding our room rates. It was absolutely not our intention to raise our prices unfairly. Do you mind letting me know what happened in more detail? I want to discuss your experience with the staff and make things right with you. Please call me whenever you get a chance.

Best,
Andreas Brandl, Director of Front Office
Swissôtel Chicago
(312) 268-8255
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We would definitely stay again if/when we return to Chicago.
We stayed at this particular hotel due to a deal we got through Porter airlines, and were very pleasantly surprised by the quality of the hotel. When we checked in, we were upgraded to a lake-view room, from which we could see the river and the Navy Pier, too. The room was lovely, with a very good quality bed and mattress. Because what is the #1 reason we stay at a hotel? - to sleep!
And the location was perfect, just a block or 2 up from Michigan Avenue, on the south side of the river. It's close to restaurants, shopping, and tourist sights.
The only (slight) negative was that the free wifi was only in the lobby, and very slow.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas B, Other at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you Carol! We want all our guests to be pleasantly surprised by our exceptional service and quality rooms. As you mentioned, it's so important for our guests to enjoy a restful night's sleep in our rooms.

Hope to see you back again soon!

Take care,
Andreas Brandl, Director of Front Office
Swissôtel Chicago
(312) 268-8255
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, MI
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I was very impressed with the rooms and how quiet they were. Plus the views with wall to wall, floor to ceiling windows on multiple sides of the room! Bathroom was spacious and robe was comfy. Wish I could have stayed longer! Only complaint was they had non-dairy creamer in the room.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas B, Other at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you! I'm thrilled to hear you were so impressed. Knowing that you wished you could've stayed longer is the best compliment. I hope you get a chance to visit Chicago again soon!

Take care,
Andreas Brandl, Director of Front Office
Swissôtel Chicago
(312) 268-8255
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Stayed here for business, and would definitely return. The hotel is located on the Chicago River, so make sure to bring a jacket, because it gets windy! It's an easy walk to Michigan Avenue, or any of the downtown/loop restaurants/shops, but a cheap cab ride may be preferable in light of the wind/cold.

The hotel itself is very nice and luxurious. The lobby is spacious, and it's got a great lobby bar where people easily assemble at high tables or comfy oversized chairs.

My room was very spacious, modern, and clean, with big windows overlooking the river and Lake Michigan. The front desk staff were very nice and accommodating.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas B, Other at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thanks for recommending us! I'm delighted to hear you thought our hotel was spacious, modern and luxurious. That's exactly the experience we want to offer to all our guests. I hope you keep us in mind the next time you visit Chicago!

All the best,
Andreas Brandl, Director of Front Office
Swissôtel Chicago
(312) 268-8255
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paoli, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

I would not hesitate to stay there again if business takes me to Chicago. The hotel is in a great downtown location right next to the river. My room was large, quiet, clean and cool (which was my choice). The bed was great and I had a nice workspace with fast in room WIFI. It also had an in room safe and a complementary umbrella which was nice since it rained really heavy on one of the days I was there for a conference.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Swissotel Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Chicago

Address: 323 East Upper Wacker Drive, Chicago, IL 60601
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#31 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#40 Business Hotel in Chicago
#41 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#55 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Swissotel Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 661
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort and productivity come together where the river meets the lake at Swissôtel Chicago. Swissôtel Chicago is graced with European style and contemporary Swiss elegance. The luxury experience includes award-winning hospitality, well-appointed accommodations and breathtaking views. Housed in a distinctive glass triangle structure, our hotel stands out for its international style, downtown sophistication and central location to signature sights. Find peace of mind and productivity in our recently upgraded 661 guest rooms or 40 luxury suites. Our business-friendly amenities make travel simple and seamless and our 65,000 sq ft of state-of-the-art meeting rooms, ballrooms and special venue space excel as an efficient place to meet, connect, celebrate and do business. We also have three on-site restaurants and hotel bar, a penthouse fitness center and 45-foot indoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Splendia, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Swissotel Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Chicago Hotel Chicago
Swissotel Hotel Chicago
Chicago Swissotel Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swissotel Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;