We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the bed, hated the elevator!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Swissotel Chicago to your Saves list
Swissotel Chicago
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   323 East Upper Wacker Drive, Chicago, IL 60601 (Downtown / The Loop)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #70 of 177 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
West Hollywood, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Loved the bed, hated the elevator!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2008

This is a great hotel with some amazing views of the lake and the river. Of course, with the building boom in Chicago, you also get a view into several construction sites, quite fascinating. The room has all you would expect from a business hotel; and the bed is to die for!!! But I don't believe it's worth the regularly advertized price... so be sure to hold out for discount rates. While we were there the elevators kept malfunctioning, often leaving people stranded on their floor during the moring check-out rush. I was also disappointed that their shower product bottles were not recyclable, indicating a serious lack of basic corporate environmental responsibility.

  • Liked — The bed. I want one in my house!
  • Disliked — The elevators were terrible... maybe they were just on the fritz.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelChi, Director Marketing Programs and Public Relations at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this review, August 20, 2008
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at Swissotel Chicago. Your feedback is invaluable as it allows us to continuously improve.

I’m excited to inform you that as part of our Green Hotel program we donate all partially filled amenity bottles to a local company that distributes them to local charities and then recycles the plastic bottles. As of August 1, 2008, we have donated over 700 pounds of amenity products.


Kindly,
Swissotel Chicago Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,161
    841
    302
    141
    82
See reviews for
425
690
129
842
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (406)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2008

In the past three years I have spent 400 nights in hotels. This Hotel offered the most confortable sleeping environment I have ever experienced. Our room, 509, was very spacious with a River view. We had absolutely no noise issues as others have referenced. We enjoyed the centralized location and look forward to many happy returns.

Stayed June 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelChi, Director Marketing Programs and Public Relations at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this review, August 20, 2008
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at Swissotel Chicago.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kindly,
Swissotel Chicago Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2008

I stayed here for just one night. I was pleasantly surprised at the quality of the rooms. I expected a very institutional business hotel. The room was well equipped for business travelers. It was also very clean and well appointed. Furniture was sleek and high quality for a hotel. I ate at the Palm, which was excellent. The view from my room was perfect – Lake Michigan, the Chicago River and Navy Pier. At night, I could see all the lights from Navy Pier and the Ferris Wheel as well as the lights of the city and the boats. Because it is a little farther east of the Loop and Michigan Avenue (but closer to the lake), it was a little quieter and cheaper than other hotels that are located on or right off Michigan Avenue. I have also stayed at the Fairmont and the Sheraton nearby, and I think the Swiss is a better value.

  • Liked — views, rooms, business set up
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelChi, Director Marketing Programs and Public Relations at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this review, August 20, 2008
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at Swissotel Chicago.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kindly,
Swissotel Chicago Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2008

The hotel is conveniently located, though I stayed at the Sheraton across the street and that hotel is a little bit more convenient. It is difficult to get across the street because of the river. We had a great price (Travezoo) so it was good for that price. We had a standard room, non smoking though it felt like someone smoked in the room regardless.

The accomodations were good, a little bit still shabby considered it was recently remodeled.

The bar downstairs was a bit overpriced even for a hotel with not a lot of selection. Did not eat at the restaurant, with so many choices, why eat at the hotel.

The concierge was not that helpful. The one lady we spoke to seem bothered that we were asking a question.

  • Liked — The gym and the pool
  • Disliked — The rooms
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelChi, Director Marketing Programs and Public Relations at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this review, August 20, 2008
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at Swissotel Chicago. Your feedback is invaluable as it allows us to continuously improve.


Kindly,
Swissotel Chicago Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2008

I recently stayed at the Swissotel Chicago for business and had an overall enjoyable experience.

I stayed in an Executive room and really appreciated the large desk space and free internet. The room was two rooms from the elevators and I could still hear them but it wasn't too bad. If you are sensitive to noise make sure to ask for a room well away from the elevators. The lake views are incredible and the location is good.

If I were here for leisure I would probably choose a smaller, more intimate hotel but for business this was great.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelChi, Director Marketing Programs and Public Relations at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this review, August 20, 2008
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at Swissotel Chicago. Your feedback is invaluable as it allows us to continuously improve.


Kindly,
Swissotel Chicago Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2008

booked this hotel at $109 per night through Travelzoo. Was very happy with location. It is 5min from Downtown and 5 min from the Mile.

The hotel and rooms were very clean. The only prob was that the first room the internet was not working and it took them a few hours to finally decide it doesn't work and get us to change room. in the 2nd room the safe deposit does not woork.

Otherwise very happy with the hotel.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — had to change room
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelChi, Director Marketing Programs and Public Relations at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this review, August 20, 2008
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at Swissotel Chicago. Your feedback is invaluable as it allows us to continuously improve.



Kindly,
Swissotel Chicago Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2008

I just enjoyed a 3-day weekend at the Swissotel Chicago. A friend of mine booked it and got a GREAT rate. Cheaper than even a fleabag motel. So keep an eye out for specials. The view was great, the location was prime. The staff was helpful. The room was large (we had 2 double beds). I only have one complaint. Our room was next to some sort of storage or mechanical room where employees (I think) would sneak off to talk on the phone. The sound came right though the vent in our bathroom and we could hear them plain-as-day. Fortunately, the sound was only in the bathroom so it wasn't like it kept us up at night. It was just a little weird. Overall, a great stay and I will definitely stay there again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Noise
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelChi, Director Marketing Programs and Public Relations at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this review, August 20, 2008
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at Swissotel Chicago. Your feedback is invaluable as it allows us to continuously improve.


Kindly,
Swissotel Chicago Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Swissotel Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Chicago

Address: 323 East Upper Wacker Drive, Chicago, IL 60601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Chicago
#17 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#36 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#42 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#44 Business Hotel in Chicago
#56 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Swissotel Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 661
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort and productivity come together where the river meets the lake at Swissôtel Chicago. Swissôtel Chicago is graced with European style and contemporary Swiss elegance. The luxury experience includes award-winning hospitality, well-appointed accommodations and breathtaking views. Housed in a distinctive glass triangle structure, our hotel stands out for its international style, downtown sophistication and central location to signature sights. Find peace of mind and productivity in our recently upgraded 661 guest rooms or 40 luxury suites. Our business-friendly amenities make travel simple and seamless and our 65,000 sq ft of state-of-the-art meeting rooms, ballrooms and special venue space excel as an efficient place to meet, connect, celebrate and do business. We also have three on-site restaurants and hotel bar, a penthouse fitness center and 45-foot indoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Splendia, BookIt.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Swissotel Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Chicago Hotel Chicago
Swissotel Hotel Chicago
Chicago Swissotel Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swissotel Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.