We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service and Location...!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Swissotel Chicago to your Saves list
Swissotel Chicago
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   323 East Upper Wacker Drive, Chicago, IL 60601 (The Loop)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #64 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersGold level
Houston
1 review
“Excellent Service and Location...!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

I was totally impressed with everything at the hotel during my business visit. I am planning to go back with the family for vacation and stay at the Swissotel Chicago. Every city attraction, landmark is within walking distance.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alp A, Other at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you, Renzo! I look forward to welcoming you and your family back again soon.

Best wishes,
Marc Wawrin, Director of Operations, Swissôtel Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,068
    796
    283
    129
    72
See reviews for
388
635
122
779
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (378)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Simply amazing! The view was to die for and the staff was great! Clean rooms and bathroom. Overall a great experience. They gave us free drink cards to use at the Palm Restaurant as well as champagne and strawberries in our room. This hotel is great.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alp A, Other at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Happy Birthday! I'm happy to know you had a wonderful stay. It was our pleasure offering you complimentary drinks at the Palm for your birthday.

Looking forward to your next stay with us!

Best wishes,
Marc Wawrin, Director of Operations, Swissôtel Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

There were many problems staying here. While the room was lovely, we had quite a bit of trouble booking. Many people didn't know the procedures for booking with a credit card and paying with cash. We called 6 times because no one was sure of the procedures. Jackie, staff, was the only person who could provide us with correct information. She was nothing short of wonderful. Everyone else seemed like it was their first day working there. This was on Thursday 6/27 and at the end of the day, we went over all the details with Jackie with a fine-toothed comb...We would check in with hotel room price plus $100 in cash, nothing would be charged to my card, and at the end I would receive the $100 back in cash.
After the hotel stay, which was riddled with long elevator lines and packed elevators (and does the bathroom not have a vent?), I was charged the hotel incidentals fee on my booking credit card, even though I had paid cash for this $100 fee upon checking in and successfully received cash back upon check out. On Saturday 6/30, I spoke with at least 5 people on the phone because shifts kept changing. Some people said the resolution to the incorrectly charged fee was to call my bank and tell them to remove it. While I knew that was incorrect, I attempted anyway. The bank did in fact tell me that was the incorrect procedure and Swissotel had to call and cancel their hold. I was also told multiple times that it was "only a hold"....I don't care what it's called. If my money is not available, it's a problem. Especiallly when it was an unauthorized charge. Chase bank credited me $100 in lieu of Swissotel's mistake that would drop Monday 7/1. Some staff at Swissotel would tell me that the hold was already removed (it was not) and some said that it would be removed Monday. One person sent an email follow up to me clarifying that Chase put $100 in my account until the hold was removed, which was NOT what I told her, and I responded with the correct information that it would drop Monday. Finally on Monday,I spent an hour on the phone between the Swissotel accounting department and Chase bank in a 3 way call to correect this. The issue luckily was resolved by Tuesday morning, thankfullly as I would have incurred an overdraft fee if it was not resolved.
While Jackie was helpful and incredibly appalled at this happening, the other staff was absolutely clueless. How can someone in good conscience tell me that the hold was removed and "not to worry" if it was not removed? It's a good thing I didn't just take their word for it otherwise I would be looking at a negative account for something that was supposed to be taken care of to begin with and not charged to me.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alp A, Other at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Jill,

I'm truly sorry for all the confusion and miscommunication regarding your bill. I completely understand how frustrating it is to speak with that many people, only to receive conflicting information. I am appalled by what happened as well, and will speak with the staff directly about the matter to find out what went wrong. Hopefully, we will discover what went wrong and train our staff to be more clear and consistent going forward. I invite you to discuss your concerns directly with me. Call me at 312-268-8100. I'd like to make things right.

Best,
Marc Wawrin, Director of Operations, Swissôtel Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

I received decent pricing relative to the surrounding hotels of a similiar quality through priceline. That said, I was particularly surprised when we were upgraded upon arrival! The staff was very friendly and helpful. We were in Chicago for a quick weekend getaway so location was very important as we wanted a place that would allow us to find hassle free entertainment and the Swissotel's location definitely made that easy! We found that we were able to walk to just about everywhere we wanted to go (Navy pier, blues bars, rooftop bars, etc.)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alp A, Other at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for staying with us last week. I'll be sure to let the staff know you appreciated their friendly and helpful service. I hope you keep us in mind the next time you visit Chicago so we can make your next stay just as fantastic!

All the best,
Marc Wawrin, Director of Operations, Swissôtel Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

First, the hotel is located in right on the river and close to the lake...beautiful area. Rooms were very nice, I had a corner room with a great view of the city. Food was good, staff was very courteous and very attentive.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alp A, Other at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Julio,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed the location and the view— we think it's special, too. I look forward to passing your compliments along to the staff. Next time you're in Chicago, I hope to welcome you back!

Take care,
Marc Wawrin, Director of Operations, Swissôtel Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

I've stayed here several times over the years because I love the location. Every room has had at least a sliver of a view and usually more than that. I love that they have a coffee maker and empty fridge in the room. My only complaint is that because I had to leave in a major rush and forgot all of my electronics, I had to pay to use the internet ($7 for 15 minutes) to communicate with anyone. I am really thinking of dumping luxury hotels for cheaper ones because of this. I almost bought a phone just to check emails.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alp A, Other at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
I sincerely appreciate you choosing to stay with us whenever you visit Chicago. For the future, please know that we have a computer available in our business center in case you need to check emails or print something quickly. We also have complimentary Internet (no password required) in our lobby at all times. We understand how important being connected is to the modern traveler, and we try to accommodate our guests as best as possible.

Best,
Marc Wawrin, Director of Operations, Swissôtel Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

I was completely blown away by the high level of professionalism. Very friendly, knowledgeable, welcoming staff. Great conference facilities. Perfect location. Close to the river, the lake, the Navy pier, and the Mile.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alp A, Other at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you, Carlos! I'll be sure to pass along your kind message to our staff. We pride ourselves on our professionalism and our commitment to excellent customer service. I hope you keep us in mind the next time you visit Chicago, we would love to have you back!

All the best,
Marc Wawrin, Director of Operations, Swissôtel Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Swissotel Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Chicago

Address: 323 East Upper Wacker Drive, Chicago, IL 60601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Chicago
#15 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#16 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#33 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#38 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#43 Business Hotel in Chicago
#53 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Swissotel Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 661
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort and productivity come together where the river meets the lake at Swissôtel Chicago. Swissôtel Chicago is graced with European style and contemporary Swiss elegance. The luxury experience includes award-winning hospitality, well-appointed accommodations and breathtaking views. Housed in a distinctive glass triangle structure, our hotel stands out for its international style, downtown sophistication and central location to signature sights. Find peace of mind and productivity in our recently upgraded 661 guest rooms or 40 luxury suites. Our business-friendly amenities make travel simple and seamless and our 65,000 sq ft of state-of-the-art meeting rooms, ballrooms and special venue space excel as an efficient place to meet, connect, celebrate and do business. We also have three on-site restaurants and hotel bar, a penthouse fitness center and 45-foot indoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Otel, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Swissotel Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Chicago Hotel Chicago
Swissotel Hotel Chicago
Chicago Swissotel Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swissotel Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.