We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice room, nice property, great staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Save Saved
You added Swissotel Chicago to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Swissotel Chicago
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   323 East Wacker Drive, Chicago, IL 60601 (The Loop)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #58 of 169 hotels in Chicago
Dayton Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“nice room, nice property, great staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

The room was nicely furnished in a cool contemporary style. Bed was great - very comfortable. Bathroom was nicely appointed and sparkling clean. Room temperature was odd; it was too warm in the room from the time I checked in until when I left the next morning despite turning on the air conditioning full blast. I had room 1703 - 2 double beds with a nice view of the lake.

Lobby is open, spacious and welcoming. Fruit-infused water for the guests in the lobby is a nice touch. Charging for wireless internet is cheesy for a high-end hotel. Elevator system is interesting; you punch in your floor number on a keypad and the system designates one of the elevator cars for that floor and displays the floors that car is going to.

Front desk and other hotel staff were all friendly, helpful and polite. A great team of service professionals.

Room Tip: I had room 1703 - 2 double beds with a nice view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,083 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    951
    707
    254
    110
    61
See reviews for
331
562
107
701
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hoover, AL
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

I stayed here during a conference and found the front desk and staff to be friendly and very helpful. The best part is the location, it is within walking distance of so many 'must see and do' sights. Just a block away, the Architectural Foundation Boat Tours board. Several blocks away (3 or 4), is the Cultural Center of Chicago and Millennium Park, art museum and other sites. In the other direction, just a few blocks away is the Magnificent Mile and a little further (1/2 mile?), is the Navy Pier. Location is the best part.
The view from my room was pretty good (5 out of 7), but other rooms may be better. I had an obstructed view of the Lake and a scattering of interesting rooftop gardens. The room itself had plenty of space. It was clean but the hairdryer is mysteriously cheap (maybe I had a 'low-end' room as well). I did like the bath and shower being separate (though I don't know why it appealed to me).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

I wasn't sure what to expect but if you're looking for modern, clean rooms and a firm but fluffy bed, this is the place! I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here. I'm from NYC so I tend to get picky when it comes to the little things but that is what they excel at. The free fruit infused water in the lobby was also a nice touch. What you see on their website is what you get. Choose a higher floor if you can.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel on several occasions, but it had been a little over a year since our last stay. Previous stays were always wonderful.
This one was just average. The room 3816 was probably one of their low end rooms. The makeup mirror was missing from the bathroom and they no longer provide minibars in the room. The front desk said too many people complained about being charged for items they did not remove due to the electronic motion sensing minibars. Instead, we were expected to go to their 24/7 store. I think this cheapens the hotel. Why not just put in a different system? On the positive side, the bed was as comfortable as always.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alp A, Manager at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Valerie P,

Thank you very much for returning to Swissôtel Chicago and indeed our pleasure to know that you enjoyed the comfort of your bed. We do understand your concern regarding the new concept in our rooms and please trust that this is indeed aiming further convenience for our guests. Our observations showed that majority of our guests prefer to have a refrigerator in the room instead of a minibar. Therefore we introduced our 24/seven store to provide our guests with a much wider range of products to select from.

We are looking forward to welcome you again for a much memorable experience and please do not hesitate to contact us whenever we can further assist.

Kind Regards,

Swissôtel Chicago Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Overall experience for comfort was nice, but they charge for wireless. Many other nice hotels in Chicago that have free access for guests.
Pool and excercise equipment very good.
At various times throughout the evening the lobby bar area was overcrowded and loud.
Did like the elevator system.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alp A, Manager at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Kathleen Y,

Thank you very much for staying at Swissôtel Chicago and pleasure to learn that you have enjoyed our facilities and services.

I am happy to inform you that we indeed offer complimentary internet for our members. Swissôtel Circle is a free membership which offers not only complimentary internet but also many other benefits to our frequent guests. Please visit our web page for further details and signing up and kindly contact us if you have any questions or concerns.

Looking forward to welcome you again.

Kind Regards,

Swissôtel Chicago Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azusa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

This hotel was very "modern" but also very comfortable. The staff was professional and helpful. It was a pleasant place to stay--and very close to Michigan Avenue, Navy Pier, and other sightseeing hot spots.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centennial
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We very much enjoyed staying at the Swissotel Chicago. The location is great, and the view can't be beat. We had a lake view room that offered a breathtaking sunrise, and a beautiful night view. The staff was overall good, with the exception of one individual, and every business always has one of those, right?

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Swissotel Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Chicago

Address: 323 East Wacker Drive, Chicago, IL 60601
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#29 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#31 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#40 Business Hotel in Chicago
#47 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Swissotel Chicago 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort and productivity come together where the river meets the lake at Swissôtel Chicago. Swissôtel Chicago is graced with European style and contemporary Swiss elegance. The luxury experience includes award-winning hospitality, well-appointed accommodations and breathtaking views. Housed in a distinctive glass triangle structure, our hotel stands out for its international style, downtown sophistication and central location to signature sights. Find peace of mind and productivity in our recently upgraded 661 guest rooms or 40 luxury suites. Our business-friendly amenities make travel simple and seamless and our 65,000 sq ft of state-of-the-art meeting rooms, ballrooms and special venue space excel as an efficient place to meet, connect, celebrate and do business. We also have three on-site restaurants and hotel bar, a penthouse fitness center and 45-foot indoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Jetsetter, Splendia, Amex, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Swissotel Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Chicago Hotel Chicago
Swissotel Hotel Chicago
Chicago Swissotel Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swissotel Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.