We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel great Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Swissotel Chicago to your Saves list
Swissotel Chicago
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   323 East Upper Wacker Drive, Chicago, IL 60601 (The Loop)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #64 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersGold level
Colonia,NJ
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The Swissotel in Chicago was a nice find. Plenty of good reviews on TA. Spent a 4 day weekend with my wife while visiting our son this past summer. The hotel has an excellent location and for a slight upgrade you can get a great room with a view of the river, the lake and the Navy Pier. The folks at the front desk were very nice and helpful with suggestions for any questions you may have. The hotel is very clean throughout and the rooms are comfortable ad well kept. Highly recommend this hotel and look forward to our next stay at the Swissotel in Chicago.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,031
    765
    278
    125
    68
See reviews for
379
619
116
746
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (356)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shaker Heights, Ohio
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Was in Chicago for 2 days for a convention. Got a nice rate and the hotel was on the convention bus route.
Modern hotel that has everything going for it except for the little surcharges, like $10 for internet and $10 for the fitness center.
I would give 5 stars if these were complimentary, as they should be.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

Last time I stayed at the Swissotel in Chicago, the ambiance was European -- big fluffy quilts, bar scene, warm and woody, slightly formal, but very efficient and service oriented. Since then, the hotel has been revamped in a more modern vibe, with new furniture, younger staff (still very nice and helpful), an updated gym and pool and very fast new elevators. For my quick two night business trip it was fine. But since they were upgrading, I wish they had built coffee bar in the lobby and that the gym had some mats and free weights. And, while my bedding was fine, the mattress needs an upgrade. The bathroom is still huge and nicely laid out and my room was cleaned on time. The breakfast buffet is fast and the food is well prepared. (For a pricier meal, but terrific steak, go to The Palm, off the lobby) The concourse level meets up with the underground pedway, which allows you to walk indoors and avoid the Chicago cold and wind. So, all in all, a good place to stay in a convenient location, but without that special something that used to make this place a draw for me. In the future, I'll continue to book it, but if I can't get it, I'll move on without being disappointed.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Stayed at the Swiss for business and extended the trip to Chicago for the weekend with the wife.The carage and valley service worked well and access by car was simple and easy.The hotel has a good location and great views. The staff was very helpfull, especcially when we lost our keycard.

Robert

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Illinois
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Four years ago we spent the night on New Years Eve. We had front row seats to the most spectacular fireworks directly outside our window, at the stroke of midnight. We came back this year to celebrate News Years Eve again. We booked with their reservation agent. We booked for a "fireworks view" room. We paid more for that room. A new apartment building had gone up, and at midnight, no fireworks! Needless to say, no refund either.

Room Tip: Don't ask for a room with a specific view, you will not get it, but you will pay for it
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alp A, Front Office Manager at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Ree12_12,

Thank you very much for kindly sharing your experience and I surely understand your concern regarding the view. We have a triangular building allowing upgraded corner rooms to see panoramic views as well as additional space.

However as a standard practice we are unable to confirm firework views from our rooms due to the nature of the activity. Fireworks may be moved to different locations and similarly this year due to security measures it was moved further south avoiding visibility from your room. I do hope for yor understanding due this matter not being under our control.

Kind Regards,

Alp Akyuz
Front Office Manager
alp.akyuz@swissotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

My wife had to be there on business so we all went with her, we got an upgrade to a suite which was very nice. The location is good, close to most interesting spots in Chicago. We even walked to the Field Museum, although a bit long it was through a park right on the lakefront which was nice. Garage is very European, spaces are not as wide as most North American garages, watch it if you're parking a large SUV. Front desk/pod staff was very friendly and gave good suggestions as to neighborhood restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alp A, Front Office Manager at Swissotel Chicago, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear JoeCool18,

Thank you very much for your nice compliments and such a pleasure for us to learn you have enjoyed our fine services. Looking forward to welcome you again...

Alp Akyuz
Front Office Manager
alp.akyuz@swissotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Everything in the pictures is true! Beautifull hotel! Near michigan av. Great attention of the personel! No free wifi acces pool sauna bussiness center, expensive parking, bathtube big rooms . I definetly recomend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Swissotel Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Chicago

Address: 323 East Upper Wacker Drive, Chicago, IL 60601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Chicago
#16 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#32 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#37 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#42 Business Hotel in Chicago
#56 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Swissotel Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 661
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort and productivity come together where the river meets the lake at Swissôtel Chicago. Swissôtel Chicago is graced with European style and contemporary Swiss elegance. The luxury experience includes award-winning hospitality, well-appointed accommodations and breathtaking views. Housed in a distinctive glass triangle structure, our hotel stands out for its international style, downtown sophistication and central location to signature sights. Find peace of mind and productivity in our recently upgraded 661 guest rooms or 40 luxury suites. Our business-friendly amenities make travel simple and seamless and our 65,000 sq ft of state-of-the-art meeting rooms, ballrooms and special venue space excel as an efficient place to meet, connect, celebrate and do business. We also have three on-site restaurants and hotel bar, a penthouse fitness center and 45-foot indoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Splendia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Swissotel Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Chicago Hotel Chicago
Swissotel Hotel Chicago
Chicago Swissotel Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swissotel Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.