We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay & staff very nice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Blake Chicago

Save Saved
You added Hotel Blake Chicago to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Blake Chicago
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   500 S Dearborn Street, Chicago, IL 60605 (Formerly Wyndham Blake Chicago) (The Loop)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #60 of 169 hotels in Chicago
Peoria, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great place to stay & staff very nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2010

This is our fourth stay here and have told all of our friends about it. 4 different families have stayed there and had the same result, GREAT! Mr. Bruno does an outstanding job with this hotel. It's close to just about everything. When staying in Chicago and you dont want to pay high $$$, Hotel Blake is the place. Kevin

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllysonCataldo, hotel management at Hotel Blake Chicago, responded to this review, October 13, 2010
Hi Kevin, thank you so much for your wonderful review! The highest compliment we can possibly receive is your recommendation to family and friends, so we appreciate that very much. I will be sure to pass on your compliments to our GM, Tom Bruno, and the rest of the staff. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you're in Chicago -- please let us know when you will be staying with us next!

Regards,
Allyson Cataldo
Hotel management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,205 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    497
    452
    151
    61
    44
See reviews for
191
386
101
336
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

hotel Blake was recomended by local buisness as a great "Boutique" hotel, We found the staff very helpfull & friendly, Great location in printers row, Just blocks from Millenioum Park , waterfront, & Magnificant Mile. We will be back !!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllysonCataldo, hotel management at Hotel Blake Chicago, responded to this review, September 22, 2010
Thank you so much for your 5-star review! I am so happy to hear that you had a great stay with us, and that our staff was able to make your experience a great one. We look forward to seeing you again -- please let us know when you will be staying with us next, as we love to get to know our returning guests!

Regards,
Allyson Cataldo
Hotel management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2010

We stayed at the Hotel for 2 nights. Our room was huge and lcoated at the corner which gave us an itneresting view if Chicago. We were really happy with the poriximity to bus & metro station and restaurants just around the corner. The staff was really friendly and gave us good directions to some attractions. Overall we enjoyed our stay in the hotel and Chicago a lot.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllysonCataldo, hotel management at Hotel Blake Chicago, responded to this review, September 22, 2010
I'm so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! It's great to know that our staff and our convenient location allowed you to have a wonderful trip to Chicago. Our corner rooms in particular have some great views! Thanks so much for your review, and we hope you will stay with us again the next time you are in Chicago.

Regards,
Allyson Cataldo
Hotel management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rushville, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2010

We were very comfortable at the Hotel Blake and we really had a chance to relx. Loved the view, the personell were very friendly and helpful.....we will be back soon!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllysonCataldo, hotel management at Hotel Blake Chicago, responded to this review, September 22, 2010
I'm so glad to hear that you found your stay with us to be enjoyable and relaxing. We love to get to know our returning guests, so please let us know when you will be staying with us next! We look forward to seeing you!

Regards,
Allyson Cataldo
Hotel management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2010

I arrived on a Thursday and stayed overnight at Hotel Blake. The bed was so comfortable I fell asleep at 3 p.m. and awoke from a peaceful, undistrubed sleep at 6 a.m.
The room was spaceous, the bathroom huge, and the shower had a rain shower head I just loved! It's in a great location - near the blue line to O'Hare and several blocks from Michigan Ave.
I was upgraded for free and given a discount because the orginal room's carpets were being steam cleaned.
The only down-side I think was that the room was very cool, but I'm a woman so I tend to like my rooms on the warmer side.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllysonCataldo, hotel management at Hotel Blake Chicago, responded to this review, September 22, 2010
Thank you so much for your great review of Hotel Blake -- that is the best sleep experience I have ever heard of! We're so glad we could provide you with a great sleep and a relaxing stay. We hope to see you again very soon, so please let us know the next time you will be in Chicago!

Regards,
Allyson Cataldo
Hotel management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Clair Shores, Michigan
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2010

While our son was "shopping" colleges and subsequently chose Columbia College, we stayed at the Blake and other local hotels. The Blake is far superior (and closer) than the other hotels we stayed at in the neighborhood. When we moved him to Chicago to attend school we booked the hotel as well. It was a very emotional day and when we finally checked in about 6 pm we were told we were the "customer of the day" and had received a free upgrade and where handed two drink vouchers. We immediately went to the bar to redeem the drink vouchers. There we chatted with the nicest bartender (she is a senior at School of the Art Institute of Chicago) and she did everything to assure us that the location was safe, that our son would adjust quickly, that Chicago is an awesome place to live - she basically dispelled all our fears of leaving an 18 year old in Chicago as she was a transplant from Boston. Words we needed to hear. She also told us the hotel was dog friendly and we could bring our dog to visit our son next time. Then we went to the "upgraded" room and were "wowed and delighted" to find we were upgraded to a suite. If ever there was a day that we needed an uplifting experience it was the day we moved our only child 300 miles away to college in another state. The room was stunning. Upon check-out, we were told how to take advantage of exclusive offers/upgrades for future visits. We have four years of college to go and I see many stays at the Blake in our future - including the upcoming Parents Weekend.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllysonCataldo, hotel management at Hotel Blake Chicago, responded to this review, September 22, 2010
Thank you so much for your wonderful review! I'm thrilled to hear you had such a great experience with us. I know firsthand how stressful the college move-in process is for everyone involved, and I'm so happy to hear that we were able to make the experience a little easier for you. We look forward to seeing you again very soon -- let us know if you will be with us for Parents Weekend in October!

Regards,
Allyson Cataldo
Hotel management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2010

Friendly staff and convenient location make the Hotel Blake a great choice for my business travels to Chicago.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllysonCataldo, hotel management at Hotel Blake Chicago, responded to this review, September 22, 2010
Thanks so much for your review of the Hotel Blake! We're honored to have your four-star review and we look forward to seeing you again -- please let us know the next time you will be staying with us!

Regards,
Allyson Cataldo
Hotel management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Blake Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Blake Chicago

Address: 500 S Dearborn Street, Chicago, IL 60605 (Formerly Wyndham Blake Chicago)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#45 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#50 Family Hotel in Chicago
#63 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Blake Chicago 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge in Hotel Blake, a landmark of luxury in one of downtown Chicago’s most vibrant neighborhoods, Printers Row. In walking distance to shopping, Millenium Park, Soldier Field, Willis Tower and many other cultural places, The Hotel Blake Chicago offers a robust taste of Chicago’s rich culture and diversity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Amex, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Blake Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Blake Chicago Hotel Chicago
Blake Hotel Chicago
Blake Motel Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Blake Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.