We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Columbia College Parents - Stay Here” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Blake Chicago

Save Saved
You added Hotel Blake Chicago to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Blake Chicago
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   500 S Dearborn Street, Chicago, IL 60605 (Formerly Wyndham Blake Chicago) (The Loop)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #62 of 169 Hotels in Chicago
Saint Clair Shores, Michigan
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Columbia College Parents - Stay Here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2010

While our son was "shopping" colleges and subsequently chose Columbia College, we stayed at the Blake and other local hotels. The Blake is far superior (and closer) than the other hotels we stayed at in the neighborhood. When we moved him to Chicago to attend school we booked the hotel as well. It was a very emotional day and when we finally checked in about 6 pm we were told we were the "customer of the day" and had received a free upgrade and where handed two drink vouchers. We immediately went to the bar to redeem the drink vouchers. There we chatted with the nicest bartender (she is a senior at School of the Art Institute of Chicago) and she did everything to assure us that the location was safe, that our son would adjust quickly, that Chicago is an awesome place to live - she basically dispelled all our fears of leaving an 18 year old in Chicago as she was a transplant from Boston. Words we needed to hear. She also told us the hotel was dog friendly and we could bring our dog to visit our son next time. Then we went to the "upgraded" room and were "wowed and delighted" to find we were upgraded to a suite. If ever there was a day that we needed an uplifting experience it was the day we moved our only child 300 miles away to college in another state. The room was stunning. Upon check-out, we were told how to take advantage of exclusive offers/upgrades for future visits. We have four years of college to go and I see many stays at the Blake in our future - including the upcoming Parents Weekend.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllysonCataldo, hotel management at Hotel Blake Chicago, responded to this review, September 22, 2010
Thank you so much for your wonderful review! I'm thrilled to hear you had such a great experience with us. I know firsthand how stressful the college move-in process is for everyone involved, and I'm so happy to hear that we were able to make the experience a little easier for you. We look forward to seeing you again very soon -- let us know if you will be with us for Parents Weekend in October!

Regards,
Allyson Cataldo
Hotel management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    508
    464
    151
    62
    44
See reviews for
198
395
103
338
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2010

Friendly staff and convenient location make the Hotel Blake a great choice for my business travels to Chicago.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllysonCataldo, hotel management at Hotel Blake Chicago, responded to this review, September 22, 2010
Thanks so much for your review of the Hotel Blake! We're honored to have your four-star review and we look forward to seeing you again -- please let us know the next time you will be staying with us!

Regards,
Allyson Cataldo
Hotel management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2010

I'm a young professional woman who traveled to Chicago alone for the Taste of Chicago. I was so impressed with the hotel! I could walk to the park, stores, and shopping. The staff was polite and extremely accommodating. The room was nice. I was a little surprised that the tv's were not flat screens, but otherwise, the room was awesome. There were complimentary drink coupons and a free business center. I had a working deadline and was up all night (after partying) working on a project. The busines center was quiet, FREE, and I encountered no problems with the internet connection or other guests. Beyond that, I had a GREAT RATE!!! I would suggest traveling by train here; it's convenient. I flew into O'Hare (wrong move) so the cab took over an hour; whereas, a train would've been faster and cheaper.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllysonCataldo, hotel management at Hotel Blake Chicago, responded to this review, September 22, 2010
Thanks for your great review of the Hotel Blake! I'm so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your feedback of our business center -- I'm glad to hear that you were able to get all of your work done and still enjoy the city! It's a great recommendation for other guests who are traveling light to take the Blue line from O'Hare to LaSalle & Eisenhower/Congress -- we're only two blocks away. It's inexpensive and when the traffic is bad, much faster than a cab from the airport! We hope you'll stay with us again the next time you are in Chicago!

Regards,
Allyson Cataldo
Hotel management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2010

My stay at this hotel was wonderful. The rooms were very elegant and serene. The hotel staff was very helpful and knowledgeable. I will be staying here again when I return to Chicago. The only gripe I had was with the valet parking service. BEWARE: The hotel is not affiliated with the valet company; they're a separate entity. There was a scratch on our rental car that they made. When I approached the hotel staff about it they graciously referred me to the owner of the garage who denied that his people had put the scratch there. If you have to use the valet, make sure that you walk around your car every time it comes and goes from/into valet. I spoke with the hotel director about this situation and I think he will be implementing some system to keep this from recurring in the future. Overall the hotel itself was flawless.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllysonCataldo, hotel management at Hotel Blake Chicago, responded to this review, September 22, 2010
I'm so happy to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at the Hotel Blake! I will pass your compliments on to our staff -- we are very proud of them and feel that they are the Hotel Blake's best asset. I am sorry to hear that you had a bad experience with the valet company, however. As you mentioned, we are not affiliated with the valet service, but I will follow up with our general manager to see what we can do to prevent this from happening again.

We definitely look forward to seeing you again, so please let us know the next time you will be in Chicago!

Regards,
Allyson Cataldo
Hotel management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2010

My wife and I stayed here while getting our daughter settled for college. Our experience was wonderful. We prefer a quieter, off the busy streets type of hotel, without sacrificing room quality or amenities. Hotel Blake was perfect for us. The room was big, the bed very comfortable, the shower was tremendous, the people were very friendly. This is the hotel we will stay at each time we visit our daughter over the next four years.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllysonCataldo, hotel management at Hotel Blake Chicago, responded to this review, September 22, 2010
I'm so glad you had a wonderful experience at the Hotel Blake, and excited to hear that you plan on staying with us again! We love to get to know our returning guests so please let us know when you are back to visit your daughter. We look forward to seeing you again!

Regards,
Allyson Cataldo
Hotel management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2010

I just moved my daughter into college and first stayed in a different hotel. I was not happy so I searched for a downtown hotel close to Columbia College.The rate was great, the staff is the nicest I've come across. I got a great room on the 1oth floor. Big windows and a comfy bed, big marble bathroom. Good amenities, coffee maker in the room, good blow dryer not that cheap imitation stuff you usually find, complimentary continental breakfast and free internet. Newly remodeled, very tasteful and just all round a big hit. I will only go there when I come and it's only two blocks from Columbia, Moore, Roosevelt.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllysonCataldo, hotel management at Hotel Blake Chicago, responded to this review, September 22, 2010
Thank you so much for your kind review! We're honored to be your number one choice in Chicago. I am especially happy to hear that you loved our staff -- they work very hard to make sure all of our guests enjoy them, so I will definitely pass along your compliments. We look forward to seeing you again, and good luck to your daughter at Columbia from the Hotel Blake!

Regards,
Allyson Cataldo
Hotel management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

This is great little hotel in a great location. Easy access via the Blue Line from Ohare, and easy access to other major CTA lines. Walking distance to major attractions and South Loop restaurants. The Blake is perfect for business travelers with business in the loop. I will definitely be staying at the Blake again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllysonCataldo, hotel management at Hotel Blake Chicago, responded to this review, September 22, 2010
Thank you so much for your review of the Hotel Blake! I'm so happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay here and that you enjoyed our convenient location. We look forward to seeing you again! Please let us know the next time you will be with us -- we love getting to know our returning guests!

Regards,
Allyson Cataldo
Hotel management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Blake Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Blake Chicago

Address: 500 S Dearborn Street, Chicago, IL 60605 (Formerly Wyndham Blake Chicago)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#46 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#47 Family Hotel in Chicago
#65 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Blake Chicago 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge in Hotel Blake, a landmark of luxury in one of downtown Chicago’s most vibrant neighborhoods, Printers Row. In walking distance to shopping, Millenium Park, Soldier Field, Willis Tower and many other cultural places, The Hotel Blake Chicago offers a robust taste of Chicago’s rich culture and diversity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Blake Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Blake Chicago Hotel Chicago
Blake Hotel Chicago
Blake Motel Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Blake Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.